We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thatchwood

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thatchwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of Thatchwood
 Click to rate
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The room was pretty big (the bathroom was very big) but, as another reviewer mentioned, the safe was not working.....this is symptomatic of a establishment that could do with a bit of "TLC" / make over and if this was undertaken then it would really be a very nice place to stay at. The owner and staff were all very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woodieslocksheath
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this review

Good morning I do apologies for the broken safe, this has been replaced. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. we really do our best to make sure everyone have a great time. After a long and busy season our place still looks good, but next month when we get a bit time we will do some maintenance to...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

St Francis is a lovely town. Room was ok - bathroom really big. Safe didn't work and we were not massively enthralled by the place. Only stayed there for one night - happy to leave when we did. Good fo a short one night stop over but not much else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbug256
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this review

Good morning Very sorry to hear that you feel like that. Sorry for the broken safe, has been replaced already. Would love to hear more from you what we could improve . Kind regards HARRIE

Bray
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely comfortable warm place, nice to sleep under the thatched roof, lots of character, huge beautiful bathroom. Very quiet. Warm welcome. Had everything you need. Excellent breakfast with choice of various warm dishes, but also the usual fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and granola.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Braylo
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful guesthouse. Clean and neat. Friendly host who gave u a warm welcome. Room sizy and well. Modern bathroom. Furnished with heart. We were very happy staying there. All pints of interest easily to be reached by car.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank albertundsusanne2017
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you so much for your review of Thatchwood. It was a pleasure hosting you, we do hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards HARRIE

Lokeren, Belgium
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Our host Harrie was friendly and helpful as we experienced 2 years ago. The house on the contrary is not well maintained and is dirty on several places. We found used towels in the bathroom, the tabels were sticky and the swimmingpool dirt. Regrettable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank huma2
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this review

Good morning I am sorry that you feel like that. Unfortunately things do happen, specially in a busy period. There is no excuse for it and I do apologies for that. Tables should be clean and I will make sure my staff will special pay attention to that. Used towels. As the note in the room says, that we are...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at Thatchwood. Harrie was very friendly and offered good advice regarding places to eat and other things to do in the area. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was of good quality. The room was very nice and spacious. An honisty bar with a choice of soft drinks and South African...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Onno S
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this review

gOOD MORNING We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us . We look forward to welcome you again Kind regards harrie

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I have actually never written a bad review for a place, but this certainly isn't 4 stars. The room and common areas smell of damp, our clothes were wet for days after we left. The room has all sorts of insects, including in the bed. Then to cap it off, we found a small frog in our room! We told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gary558
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this review

Dear guest We are very sorry to hear about your complaints. You stayed 4 days with us and you seemed happy with no complaints. On the night before you decided to left, you complain about all you wrote in your review. I was not surprised about the little frog because we live on the golfcourse, close to a dam and...

Hannover
Reviewed 13 November 2016

When we arrived the friendly owner of the Thatchwood Lodge served coffee and tea with milk tarte on the house and sat down with us to answer our questions. We discussed restaurant options and he then booked a table for us for dinner. He provided us with a map of the area which we used to have a walk around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CowgirlAtHeart
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for writing a review on your stay. I am glad that you did enjoy your one night stay, next time if you decide to stay longet book one of our luxury rooms , there are far more spacious, have a nice spacious bathroom and you have a private garden to relax. The pool is the biggest...

UK
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Owner and staff very helpful. Location is great with many lovely bays and towns within easy reach. Many local walks to be had. Location is adjacent to a golf course and there are many other courses within in easy reach

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J1636TEjohnt
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

This is indeed a very cozy place, laid-back, old house, relaxed atmosphere, very friendly chief and staff, we did enjoy this place as we enjoyed the overall attitude and landscape of Cape Saint Francis.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hartwig E
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you so much, it was a plesure having you in our guesthouse

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
4.4 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
526 reviews
16.2 km away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
118 reviews
1.3 km away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#5 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
275 reviews
2.5 km away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
144 reviews
17.0 km away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Thatchwood

Address: 63 Lyme North Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $108 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchwood 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Thatchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchwood Saint Francis Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thatchwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room faced out to a little terrace and the golfcourse. didn't look at the other rooms. but there were no real views anyway I think”
 of 5 bubbles Braylo, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't go in the winter months”
 of 5 bubbles trfc82, 19 Jul 2015 | Read review
“All of the rooms are great, and there are 2 budget rooms for travellers watching their pennies.”
 of 5 bubbles T9436MQchristineh, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Book the luxury room!”
 of 5 bubbles 1PeterC1, 15 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Inside patio rooms very luxurious with secluded garden patios. Outside rooms very private and charming under traditional thatch roofing.”
 of 5 bubbles PieterC_13, 11 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5