We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 328: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

A very strange experience at first. The room was very spacious but genuinely old (two centuries?) Got used to it and enjoyed it. Service and staff were excellent and food was very good. Restaurant overlooking beach and lagoon was fantastic. Very centrally positioned so good access to shops and restaurants. Overall a very enjoyable stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O7111RBjosephg
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Joseph, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Grand Africa Café & Rooms. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and embraced our Grand style. Kindest regards

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

My partner and I have stayed in some amazing places over the years, but on walking into the our room, both of us looked at each other and said wow! Room 6 was a HUGE room , actually classed as a suite, with a large bedroom, opening to a large sitting room, both having tall windows affording glorious ocean and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank grant42741
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Grant, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our little Grand Dame in Plett so much and we hope to have you back again very soon. Thank you for raising your conern about the internet, we are busy...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2016

We stayed at the Grand Cafe for two nights on our tour of the Garden Route, we wanted quirky and sure got it, this place is a one off and all the better for it. We wher made welcome on check in and told the car can be parked on the street outside for free using their voucher. The bed...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian M
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Brian, thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our Grand beds too ;) We hope to have you back again very soon. Kindest regards

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We eat there on 21 February. I ordered the Kingklip only to discover a cockroach about 1.5 inches long in the soy sauce. The staff did not seem at all bothered. They did not charge for this meal, but charged friends who were completely disgusted by the cockroach and could not finish their meals. No explanation was offered. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynnoconnor33
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Lynn, we are very sorry about the disappointing incident you had at our restaurant. We have not had such an incident before and would like to believe that it is very unlikely that a bug in the food went unnoticed by our Chef, food pass and waiting staff. We thereby do believe that the bug must have flown into...

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

The whole experience was fantastic from being greeted at the door on arrival and checking out 5 days later. The room, restaurant, and breakfast area were excellent offering something totally new regarding ambiance atmosphere etc, and the views from the balcony and room quite stunning. If this wasn't enough the service from all staff was again excellent. The location at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Martin, it is fabulous to hear your positive feedback, thank you very much. We are happy that you enjoyed our service as much as the ambience and views and hope to have you back in South Africa again soon. Kindest regards

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2016

On first appearance as you approach the hotel it looks frankly unassuming. Don't let this initial look deceive you. Once inside the real appeal of the hotel becomes apparent. We were led to the Bathhouse room. Two large baths in the middle of an outer room complete with a candlelabra led to a large bedroom with a tall double bed...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JezzaR55
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Jezza, thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It is fabulous to hear that you have had such a grand time with us and enjoyed the quirky look and feel of our Grand Dame. We hope your further travels went well and hope to have you back again some time. Kindest regards

Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewed 2 March 2016

The Grand Cafe was the best place we stayed in in our trip. It is a unique ,tasteful and fun place to stay. Each set of rooms are beautifully laid out and elegant and fun at the same time. The restuarant had a great selection and the service was perfect. the view is the best you will ever see. This...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Z7700UUchristopherh
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Christopher, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and we hope to have you back again soon. Kindest regards

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We stayed at the Grand Cafe for 2 nights as part of a touring holiday. The greeting we received on arrival was warm and friendly and the service received during our stay was great. Our room was really individual and had stunning views. The food in the restaurant was good and breakfast was excellent. We would definitely return to the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Simon, thank you very much for your positive feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meals, our friendly service and the stunning view from your room. We hope to have you back again soon. Kindest regards

Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

We always prefer a bit of character to contemporary modern accommodation. This was very quirky! The room was always cleaned when you were out of it. Incredible service there. The location was perfect, could just wander outside to any restaurant for lunch/dinner. The food is amazing in the hotel but service poor. The one time we had lunch a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Truffleme13203
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Truffleme, thank you very much for taking the time to share this review with us. It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed our roomservice and the quirky design of our "Old Lady". Thank you very much for your stay and we hope to have you back again soon. Kindest regards

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

We had the chicken burgers here. Really nice dressing and the portion is really good. The only thing what was a bit annoying: it took a while before we got anything. Drinks were coming so late that we ordered immediately another drink. Views are perfect. Would recommend the restaurant anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marcandjay
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Marcandjay, thank you very much for taking the time to share this review with us. We are sorry to hear that you had to wait for your orders a little longer than you would have liked to but are delighted to hear that you did enjoy the meals and had a great view with that. Hopefully we will have...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
518 reviews
2.7 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
659 reviews
6.5 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
130 reviews
8.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
231 reviews
4.8 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Café & Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Café & Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, Leopard Lounge and Café to experience GRAND café-style dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $128 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 was magnificent”
 of 5 bubbles Aimeelloyd9, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room lead out to the courtyard with the pool and a comfy settee, we thought it was the best position.”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethsM7307OG, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to ask for room at top with sea view. ie Rooms 5 or 6.”
 of 5 bubbles Annie44795, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Farm room has a room above without carpet hence noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 262jeanetteh, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get The Farm (Shed)”
  • Room / Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles garvangallagher, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5