We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beacon Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Beacon Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

706 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 694: English reviews
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Bring earplugs along to remain sane. The endless and loud music is maddening - from 8 in the morning till 10 at night. After 20 years of regular holidays here. we decided to go elsewhere for a relaxing holiday. What a pity.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank pieternelc2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went for our annual family holiday to the Beacon Island resort. The upgrades to the resort (kiddies pool, heated outside pool, lawn upgrade) are excellent, and adding tremendously to our vacation. Great food, friendly staff, fabulous rooms. By far the best resort holiday in South Africa. See you next year.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank DerikCoetzer
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have been visiting this resort as timeshare owners since 1985 and love the atmosphere, the beautiful setting, the friendly and helpful staff, the great entertainment and the most amazing views from our rooms. We have 3 weeks so we visit in March, June and November and have only ever skipped a week in June which is when we used... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Noel Le R
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Always look forward to our stay at The Beacon Island Resort, relaxing , fun exquisite veiws, walks etc. Etc. We ,meaning my husband myself and two other couples holiday together every year at this resort. Very special.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank jeffreyea
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed another wonderful holiday this year at the Beacon Isle in Plettenberg Bay. The resort is extremely well run by management who ensure that all the facilities and amenities are in the best condition possible. Both my wife and I are big fans, coming back year after year to what is definitely one of the best run hotels/resorts in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Selwyn H
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Selwyn H Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the best hotels for relaxation, in a setting which is beyond compare. This hotel is constantly updated, it's staff are friendly and if one is a regular guest they will remember you by name. The restaurants serve great food and the management of Jorge, David and Michelle are very accommodating.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank stanleyw324
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear stanleyw324 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further... More 

Capetown
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I hadn't been to the Beacon Island Hotel and Resort for years (like 20 years) and decided to go on a timeshare holiday closer to home for a change. Wow it was great. The hotel location can't be beaten - on a rocky outcrop in the ocean. We saw dolphins almost every day and even a whale (out of season).... More 

Helpful?
Thank diveforever
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear diveforever Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further... More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had several times dinner in the Indigo Bay restaurant at the Beacon Island resort. Every time the food was very good and the menu choices were very large. And every dish was a pleasant surprise for us and very affordable. The service was outstanding good, better as as most restaurants the in the Plettenberg Bay area.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Wim K
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wim K Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Our restaurants are operated independently. I shall share your wonderful feedback with them. Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our first visit to the Beacon Island Holiday Resort and we were not disappointed. Well received on arrival, check in handled quickly and smoothly and we were in our room in no time. Beautiful view from our top floor bedroom (6th) floor. Enjoyed the views from the Sea Lounge and the Indigo Bay restaurant. Amazing to watch the sea break... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aubrey C
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Aubrey C Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any... More 

Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After arriving and checking in, we were shown to our room where I was rather taken aback by the size. Considering we had paid a premium for the room (no breakfast included), I think it was very overpriced. However, the location is outstanding and admittedly the food and drink prices were reasonable. We did have a small medical emergency and... More 

Helpful?
Thank lorrinj2016
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear lorrinj2016 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Beacon Island is classified as a Timeshare Resort, due to the fact that all the units are owned by a owner no breakfast is included in... More 

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (221)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
463 reviews
1.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
590 reviews
6.9 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
114 reviews
1.1 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
5.6 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $124 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All room views are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles diveforever, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Call first to see what room types are available do not rely on what you see and read on the website”
 of 5 bubbles Johninjohannesburg, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“upper floors are quieter and have better views as one would expect. corner rooms have double views and are bigger”
 of 5 bubbles jjwebley, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms located on the upper floors are quieter than those closer to the lobby. Try and reserve rooms facing the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles eX-Base-Photography, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher up , overlooking the swimming pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Flamingolake, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay