We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Plettenberg Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Plettenberg Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Plettenberg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 472: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

This is the sister hotel of The Marine at Hermanus. My wife and I enjoyed a lovely stay here. Staff are very attentive and the manager is always to be found talking to the guests which is always a good sign. It's an amazing location - go for a sea view room you won't be disappointed. We had a deluxe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank britabroad9
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear britabroad9, Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us! You are correct we are blessed with an amazing location. Thank you for mentioning that you thought the food was excellent. I must say that the smoked salmon with scrambled egg is real favorite amongst our guests. We hope to welcome you back some day. Kind Regards,...

London
Reviewed 18 January 2016

This is a one of a kind location, truly stunning. We were guaranteed, in writing, by our travel agent via Relais & Chateaux that the room would be "superior, corner, ocean front" as "these were the only guaranteed ocean front rooms". When we arrived, we were not given a corner room which was both disappointing and unsettling having been guaranteed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark N, I would like to apologize again that we did not allocate the correct room as per your request when reserving the room. This was a complete over site on our part and understand that this was unacceptable and should not have taken place. Measures have been put in-place to try and avoid this in the future. I...

Reviewed 14 January 2016

What a lovely hotel! After a terrible start to our 6-day break over new years, this was a great way to end it off! We spent 3 nights here and although we had to room hop it was actually great to see what the Premiere Suite was like to the normal Suite - both equally lovely but obviously the Premiere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichHeat
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MichHeat, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review. I must admit our views are breathtaking, so glad you could experience this and the weather really could not have been better during your stay. I have wonderful staff at the Plettenberg so thank you for pointing that out and glad to hear that you...

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night only, but wished we had a week there! The Plettenberg Hotel has such a lovely feel and touch about everything: the staff, service, interior, restaurant and of course the surrounding scenery! We definitely will come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mykola_Kyiv
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mykola_Kyiv, So wonderful to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back so day for a longer stay. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2016

So we came on a 3-night stay at the Plettenberg and we must say that it was amazing. The staff greeted you with smiles and it gave you a fun and happy feel. The rooms where spacious and perfect for a 4-people family. Our dinners where great with yummy high-quality food and the breakfasts where amazing too. The service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1TeenTravelers1
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1TeenTravelers1, Thank you for this lovely review. Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2015

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and used it as a base for exploring Storms River, Robberg and Knysna. The hotel is at the end of a cul de sac, perched on a promontory. The accommodation is in two buildings facing each other across the road. We were in the "annex" building across from the main hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huntsy
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Huntsy, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am sorry to hear that you thought that the Bar & lounge area lacked atmosphere but I must stay it is tough to compete against the terrace with it's beautiful views. Great to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us at the Plettenberg and we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

Boring and in dire need of updating. No soul, and you never see a patron smiling. Cheer up and give this place some character and life!! This is Africa, not Milton Keynes!! The location is obviously fantastic but that can't be the only reason to stay here

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fun_traveller_2000
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fun_traveller_2000, I was very disappointed to hear that you found the Plettenberg boring and in need of updating. I can assure you that we are constantly working on improving the guest experience and your product that we offer. So hopefully we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back some day so that we might change your perception....

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2015

This place is one of the local iconic hotels. The hotel is situated in a prime position on the seafront with views out to sea and down the bay and only a 10 minute walk to the town center. The communal facilities are relatively compact but when we were there we were always able to get service quickly in most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QualitySeekers_13
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear QualitySeeker_13, Thank you for your constructive feedback highlighting the positive & negatives of your stay with us. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to return should you be in the area again. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We arrived to the warmest welcome at this breathtaking hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Each staff member greeted us by name throughout our stay. The accommodation was exquisite and the food sublime and there can be no better location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mart1224
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mart1224, We appreciate that you took the time to give us feedback and so wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us. We hope to welcome you back some day. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker

Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

We arrived after a fraught journey to a great welcome and air of calm and friendliness. The room we were allocated had been recently refurbished and the views over the bay as well as the room were fabulous. The breakfasts were delicious as were the meals in the restaurant in the evening. The service was faultless and management were visible...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davina t
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this lovely review. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all aspect of your stay with us, and even better to hear that you hope to return next year. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker

249 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
9.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
515 reviews
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
676 reviews
6.3 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
0.8 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
809 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $236 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plettenberg Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Wyoming

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Plettenberg Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We preferred the main building rather than the annexe.”
HuwJones2013, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Every room is the best in this hotel”
oferta10, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view room, corner rooms have great space”
SRFlyer, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view!”
Catmoo, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the ground the ground floor open are at the side of the pool”
722elainem, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5