We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Robberg Beach Lodge

2.8 km from Plettenberg Bay centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Robberg Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 526: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Smart hotel with friendly, helpful & attentive staff. Spread over 2-3 buildings the rooms and bathrooms are clean & modem (our room in Robberg 2 building had a huge comfy bed). There's secure parking, great breakfasts, two pools each with a bar nearby. And get this - one of the things they offer is an 'honesty bar' where you help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in such a lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that our wonderful staff and service have been a highlight for you as you look back on your stay, thank you for making special mention of this in your review. Apologies for any inconveniences caused by...

Alnmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well an ideal location, five minutes from the centre of town and the hotel organise taxis for you. The first opportunity on our trip for some downtown, a day on the beach but beware you cannot swim , the sea is colder than the North Sea. Some rip tides as well. Also handy to travel to Storms river and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TrevitTreels
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge, and for including us in your trip. We are thrilled to hear that you were satisfied with your accommodation, and that you have enjoyed the dining experience we offer at the lodge too. Our Cottage Pie rooms are being refurbished and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Robberg as part of our honeymoon. Good location, with nice views of the bay. We had a slight issue during our stay but this was quickly rectified by management ( Jonathon) which we were very impressed with.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in such a lovely review. It warms our hearts to hear when our management and service has left such a wonderful impression with our guests. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon, and we hope that you have traveled home...

St Andrews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This lodge is in a good location if you want the beach and Indian Ocean on your doorstep. Breakfast is good and the staff are excellent. I would not rate this as a five star establishment, far from it. The suite we had was not clean, and the furniture and fittings were poor quality. We shortened our stay from 7...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandraSStAndrews
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We appreciate your approach towards the situation and cancelling the rest of your stay, please accept our apologies once again for the inconveniences caused. Thank you again for your feedback, and we wish you only the best for the year ahead. Best wishes, The Bailey...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good guest house - larger than expected -several guest houses all together - but comfortable rooms with excellent shower! Great welcome and helpful staff. Location was excellent - across the road the beach!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank naomivm
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us, we are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed every second of the experience. It warms our hearts to hear that our incredible staff have been a highlight for you as you look back on your stay too. We hope that you will be back to...

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Beautiful located beach house! We enjoyed 5 days in the Robberg beach house in Plettenberg. We had a room with a magnificent view over the ocean! The staff is super friendly! The location is fantastic, accros the street is the beach!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank josephiner384
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It warms our hearts to hear that there are only positive memories and experiences to recall as you look back on your stay with us, and that our amazing staff have been a highlight for you too. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon! Best wishes,...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We stayed here for 5 nights in January and were expecting 5 star luxury and service. There seems to be quite a discrepancy between the standard of rooms, the rooms shown on the website were far superior than our room which was, unbeknownst to us, in a portion of the development, quite separate to the lodge itself, called Cottage Pie....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cl0Dub
Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Our first time to Robberg Beach Lodge. The Lodge has a stunning location as Robberg Beach is by far the best beach. Long walks and even some surfing for the kids. We are a family of 4 and stayed in Cottage Pie, the self catering unit. The accommodation was well equipped and suited us perfectly. Unfortunately no balcony or sea...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 183ursulad
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in such a lovely review, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed every moment of your stay! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed the lodge's close proximity to the beautiful Robberg 5 beach too. We look forward to seeing you and...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Only gets 2 stars because of our room. No.4 Cottage Pie !!! Everything else would get 4 or 5 star. The cottage Pie part of the complex is terrible, it would struggle to call itself a 3star. All the other rooms in main house etc. are modern and 4star plus. Our room smelled of damp, had no natural light, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BerEng82
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Nice location and friendly staff, the room was very spacious and also enjoyed the breakfasts. Ideally located for Robberg 5 beach. Though I thought the price was a little on the high side, I guess it's the season

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlespY1309QK
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It warms our hearts to hear that our staff are a highlight for you as you look back on your stay. We hope that we will have the pleasure of...

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.6 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
496 reviews
5.7 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
494 reviews
9.1 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
759 reviews
2.0 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
123 reviews
7.4 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $68 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Paisley, United Kingdom
Spokane, Washington
5 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lifts, some rooms have sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles vap88, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front room with veranda with outstanding sea and beach view”
 of 5 bubbles mclaren095, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request that you be put in main Lodge and avoid Cottage Pie (which they don't tell you about at booking stage)”
 of 5 bubbles Cl0Dub, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for front or pool facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles travelerinbklyn, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room B3 has spectacular sea views”
 of 5 bubbles JMcC83F, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5