We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Robberg Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Robberg Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 482: English reviews
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is spectacular with stunning views, beautiful grounds, friendly service, and a fantastic beach! Can't recommend it enough. They were randomly closed for dinner one night without notice, but the local "Off the Hook" restaurant is close by and has amazing fish and chips and steak!

Helpful?
Thank jgair
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Robberg Beach Lodge is a very friendly, very beautiful boutique hotel with amazing views of the bay and the Robberg Peninsula. Breakfasts are of the highest quality and you can order hot items personalized to your own taste. We LOVED our stay here and will recommend it 100% if you're considering a trip to Plett.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ChrisZat
Plettenberg Bay
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We chose this property because of the location and it did not disappoint! We enjoyed the long walks along the beach. It is a little too far to walk to the town restaurants but taxis can be arranged easily. We had an initial confusion over the type of room booked when we arrived but this was quickly sorted out and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janegE5835SL
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived and checked in and our room was ready, we were given directions to the car park and a fob to open the gate which didn't work, not a great start. We were located in two rooms in the 'Cottage Pie' part of the hotel as the two rooms had been booked together we thought we would be located... More 

Helpful?
Thank BeverlyC60
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately this hotel did not live up to expectations. The location is lovely but although we had booked a view room our view was very limited! It was in the basement of the Beach house and the sea was only just visible, not helped by the very dirty windows that hadnt been cleaned for months. We did ask that the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pets10
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge, and for your vital feedback on where we need to improve. We are sad to hear that you have not had the five-star experience we pride ourselves on, however, we would like to assure you that the feedback on the lack of service you received... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this trip almost 12 months in advance after reading all the lovely reviews on tripadvisor. We are a couple we stayed in C1, which is a garden room in an annex. It was terrible and we would not return. We stayed for 2 nights on our Garden Route road trip. Overall we felt like the poor relations in... More 

Helpful?
Thank TDownes
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge. The lodge has recently been renovated to alleviate the issues you have detailed on your review, however, we do realise that these very issues have tainted your experience. We strive to create a stay above and beyond expectations, and we apologize that this was not... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is not explained on Booking.com that the Robberg lodge is a collection of different buildings on different levels linked by wooden steps to the reception and dining area. This could be a problem for guests with mobility issues. Our suite on the ground floor of Cottage Pie was very damp and had no ventilation in the bathrooms. With bars... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank penelopew74
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you fr taking the time to reviww your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We are saddened to hear taht you have not the 5-star experience that we pride ourselves on providing, however we appreciate that you have brought your concerns to our attention. We hope that you have traveled home safely. Best wishes, The Bailey Family & The... More 

Somerset UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink before being shown to our accommodation, which for us was in Cottage Pie with its own small pool and relaxing area. The room and bathroom were perfect and breakfast the next morning was lovely. After breakfast we were able to leave our car for a couple of hours while we walked... More 

Helpful?
Thank fiona2295
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in such a wonderful review. Nothing makes us happier than knowing that there are only positive memories and experiences to recall as you look back on your stay. Our Cottage Pie Suites are always a popular choice with our guests, and we are pleased that you... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on honeymoon for 4 nights in Robberg Beach Lodge, it is a stones throw from the Robberg beach which is beautiful. There was roadworks happening outside at the time which made getting in and out difficult, but nothing that would put you off. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The wifi is a bit patchy this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eoin O
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge for such a special occasion! We are so happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service and your accommodation during your stay, as we work hard to ensure that our guests are well looked after and are abe to relax while we take care of... More 

Rivoli
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

I travelled for 20 days in Suoth Africa, in August, and at the end of the journey I met this nice place in wich I found kind & friendly people in an unique landscape. I had a lovely stay in Robberg Beache Lodge. Thanks for all, folks Stefania

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefj P
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we are pleased to hear that there are only positive memories to recall as you look back on your experience with us. We are grateful to hear that we were part of such a special trip as you explored our beautiful country, and... More 

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.6 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
463 reviews
5.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
469 reviews
9.1 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
114 reviews
1.9 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
705 reviews
2.7 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $138 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Spokane, Washington
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid Room B1”
 of 5 bubbles Pets10, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have to stay do not stay in block C”
 of 5 bubbles TDownes, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are going to stay here. Book room B4. Stunning”
 of 5 bubbles wayne415, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 is shady”
 of 5 bubbles Bruern, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Main house with a room at the front provides the best views of the beach”
 of 5 bubbles andyp25, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay