We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
East End, St. Thomas
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Amakaya Backpackers was a nice place to stay. It has a good location to walk to the city center and drive down to the beach. The room we had was equipped with a TV set and the kitchen and bathroom facilities were very close by.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bjoern S
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at Amakaya really make the place. Olivia, Stephanie and Donae, were really great. The manager is also really welcoming. They are friendly and eager to help you. They helped me many times, where it went above the call of duty. Plett is such a wonderful town itself, and the backpackers is a 5 minute walk from the main... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina S
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for very very basic this will be fine for you. Overnight stay only. Only positive is that it's very close to town and if you need to be close to the taxi rank it's over the road from it.

Helpful?
Thank 752lynetteg
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice stop for backpackers. There's a bar on the first floor which is a nice place to havce a drink and meet people and a lounge at the entrance. The staff was veryiuseful and accomodating to make reservations for activities and served the breakfast earlier for us as we were leaving too early.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Léa G
Level Contributor
179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called this place spontaneously at around 8 pm and they thankfully had a room for us. A twin room for 420 rand. The building seems very safe, you can park your car inside the gates, there a metal bars everywhere and key codes to get in. Inside are also a lot of cameras what felt a bit weird. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nora W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay.we travel a lot and we never stayed in a place were it was that setup cause we very private people.and I was very impressed with the clean toilet cause that is a very big thing for me.we will be definitely back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chocofran
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Such a chilled, relaxed and friendly environment. The rooms are clean and the staff go the extra mile to look after the guests. The shared entertainment area and kitchen are well equipped and are great for meeting other guests or just chilling on your own. Will definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 486rosea
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Hi, The set-up and location of your place is right. We stayed in the Tradoux place. When we got there, the first thing I saw was a cockroach on the wall, not nice at all. The bedding was dirty(dirt marks on the pillows and sheets), the cupboards especially where the bin was in....filthy to say the least, the utensils and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brandelinew
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review

Hello Brandeline All I can say is that I am shocked! I certainly hope that you pointed it out to the staff that were on duty. I wish that you had called me at the time - my number is displayed in a sign asking guests to call me with any issues. This room should not be in that state... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Of all the places we stayed this was the quietest by far. This could have just been because those two mid-week days or because of its slightly outdated nature. However rooms are big, warm and clean. Staff are friendly and the beach / Main Street 5-15 min walk so location is good. A fire is lit in the afternoon /... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben S
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review

Hello Ben Thanks for your comments. Please clarify for me what you mean by 'dated' and what you would like to see that is different. The reason for this question is that during the course of last year we made a number of changes to the rooms and 2 months ago painted the main house so would like an indication... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Lovely friendly staff. Very helpful. Great apartment. Great discounts on activities. Our weekend away was very relaxing and calm just what we needed. Amakaya backpackers was definitely a great stay. Would definitely recommend it to everyone. Great price as well. Thumbs up guys

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alyssas458
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review

Hello Alyssa Good to hear that the break with us was relaxing as you expected. Look forward to hosting you again. PS - next time try our wine tour accommodation packages on our specials page of the website. Regards Dave Swart More 

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
4:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
463 reviews
2.3 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
590 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#8 of 65 in Plettenberg Bay
208 reviews
0.1 km away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 65 in Plettenberg Bay
152 reviews
0.3 km away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#22 of 65 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, your ‘home away from home.’ We will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and help you with as much information as we can about the local activities and attractions. Here you can exchange experiences with fellow travellers and keep in touch with family and friends. Enjoy a complimentary self-help mini breakfast, FREE wi-fi and internet facilities and FREE coffee and tea at both Amakaya Backpackers and Amakaya Backpacker Apartments. Amakaya Backpackers is a clean, friendly and homely place where you can relax after an exhilarating day in the area. We have hot showers (electric and gas), relaxed atmosphere, comfortable beds and a good mini-breakfast on offer. Sip on a drink at our upstairs bar while you relax on the veranda and take in the view of the Tsitsikamma Mountains, the lagoon and the sea. We are a 300m walk to the shops, restaurants and bars of Plettenberg Bay’s Main Street and 800m from the popular Central Beach (beware of the steep uphill walk back that will certainly build up an appetite!). For the ‘private’ traveller or those who want some ‘me’ time, our range of double and twin private rooms and 2 sleeper private dorms are just what you need. For those who do not mind sharing we have a selection of standard and en-suite dorms that sleep 2, 4, 6 and 8 guests respectively. All guests have the use of our fully-equipped kitchen facilities, free tea & coffee, complimentary self-help mini breakfast, free wi-fi, a sitting room to read or watch TV/DVDs and an upstairs bar with outside balcony. Parking is on the premises and is accessed by an electric gate. Amakaya Backpacker Apartments – situated 200m from Amakaya Backpackers and 100m from Main Street. Each apartment has its own entrance, kitchen, bathroom, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi and complimentary self-help mini breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments

Address: 15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $28 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Staying one of their Apartments gives you a sense of privacy which you don't experience in every backpackers.”
 of 5 bubbles ionacharter, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“They have spacious dorms, we stayed in a twin bedroom though as the price was just great.”
 of 5 bubbles klinkie, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“all was good for stay, dstv, bar, central”
 of 5 bubbles islandstyle2014, 23 Dec 2014 | Read review
“We chose the double suite for 30 us a night, private deck, private bathroom, tv, view! Excellent value!”
 of 5 bubbles 878ianj, 2 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Dormrooms are small, doubles looked amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles hannevdschootv, 10 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay