We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hoylake Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hoylake Inn
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Start your review of Hoylake Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a nice stay for our family vacation over Easter. The place is easy to find and the staff are super helpful it is very comfortable. However, the pool is definitely not as advertised, it was more like a mud puddle and it's more like a 30 min walk to the beach, I was expecting it to be closer-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
Reviewed 22 March 2017

In East London on business and stayed at Holyoke Inn, host Laura was most genial and welcoming, room was well equipped and found everything to my satisfaction. Slept well on a most comfortable bed. I did not partake of breakfast but am sure it would have been an excellent meal. I look forward to returning again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenXXXXX
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2016

spend 4 night here for work. its fine as a few days stop over but not for a holiday. breakfast was not good at all not worth the price. also not much to do at the guest house. rooms are average. tv too small. no aircon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainen18
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Hoylake Inn. We are sorry that you felt the breakfast was not worth the price. If I remember, you only requested the "health" breakfast, which consisted of a variety of 4 cereals, toast with preserves and coffee/tea/juice. However, your colleague who's plate was brimming with bacon, eggs, sausages, mushrooms, fried tomatoes, fried balsamic onion,...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2015

I really enjoyed my stay together with my family at Hoylake Inn. All I can say is that you should keep up the good work and excellent service that you provide. The entire Hoylake Inn team are warm and always eager to help and make you to really enjoy your stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank itumelengt2
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Itumeleng Many thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always good to meet new people and build relationships with guests who return time and again. We do hope to have you stay with us when next you visit EL. Warm regards Hoylake Inn

Port St Johns, South Africa
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Located fairly close to the business center of East London, with ample secure parking, Hoylake B&B is an excellent stop over for travelers. Run by the owners, Kim and Laura Woods, ably assisted by their son Dylan, the Hoylake is well appointed,the venue fresh and clean with en-suite rooms opening onto a Bonsai tree lined corridor leading to the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wildcoaster
Reviewed 21 July 2015

we stayed 2 nights on our way back to Plettenberg Bay from Natal and were warmly welcomed and settled into our room . Even load sheding did not impact as arrangements we made with a generator and we made a very short journey to the local restaurants for dinner . the room was well equipped and comfortable and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank masescha
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Hi there Ray and Angie And thank you for your kind words. It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us and to get to know you. We love meeting new guests, especially people like yourselves who are interested in new experiences and in getting to know our lovely little city. We hope you had a good holiday...

Reviewed 13 February 2015 via mobile

Very accommodating of the crazy times we come and go, amazing place and the hosts are always ready to help! Being here for the Buffalo Regatta we had no hassle with getting breakfast before our first heats. Clean and air conditioning made it super comfy!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dylan W
Reviewed 21 October 2014

My wife and I, from Zimbabwe, had the pleasure of spending three nights at Hoylake Inn. Hosts Laura and Kim went out of their way to give us a very warm welcome and to make us feel at home. Our en-suite room was very comfortable and every day we were provided with provisions to make tea or coffee in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gordon K
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Hello to the Kent's How great to hear from you, and thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in EL and your time at Hoylake Inn. It was lovely to meet you and share some of your wedding excitement.. oh and to get that million dollars from you :) (We still...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2014

My wife and I stayed at this guest house in Sept 2014 for 5 nights we found the owners very friendly and accommodating. Our room was spacious with a private balcony overlooking the sea and the city, their service was excellent Laura also gave us great advise on places to visit and eat. The place is close to the beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yousuf C
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Yousuf and Hawa Many thanks for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and can tell other people about quaint little East London and the best place to stay, Hoylake Inn :) We pride ourselves on every aspect of our service, because we...

Mount Ayliff, South Africa
Reviewed 14 September 2014

The place is filthy, their ironing room is even worse, we were given sour/rotten food. We complained on Monday again on Wednesday they gave us rotten food. One of their employees told us that they usually give black guest rotten food, but give whites fresh food.We even reported to the travel agency that booked for us.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Unzzy98
Laura W, Manager at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

My dear guest We were dismayed to read your vitriolic review, especially after we had gone to so much trouble to try to accommodate your many, meticulous, dietary requirements. Once we understood your needs, we did try our level best to offer you food more specific to your culture. However, we could not be held responsible if you were unable...

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
2.4 km away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 13 in East London
516 reviews
2.8 km away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
0.6 km away
See More Guest House
See More Guest House
#3 of 138 in East London
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pug and Putter Bed and Breakfast
Pug and Putter Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 138 in East London
10 reviews
1.9 km away
African Dreams Bed and Breakfast
African Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 138 in East London
64 reviews
1.9 km away
Appleby's Guest House
Appleby's Guest House
#18 of 138 in East London
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Hoylake Inn

Address: 6 Hoylake Road, East London 5241, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Price Range: $70 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hoylake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hoylake Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If available book room number 6”
Y0usufC, 2 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Don't even try them , their place is not worth your money.”
Unzzy98, 13 Sep 2014 | Read review
2 of 2