We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Carefree Resort & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 592: English reviews
Start your review of Carefree Resort & Conference Center
 Click to rate
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at Carefree Resort for my niece's nearby wedding this past weekend. Overall, my husband and I were happy with the accommodations. Our few issues included hearing a woman shuffle a deck of cards in the next room, not being assured of the availability of a rental mini fridge (during most unseasonably hot weather), and problems with a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elisheva5729
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a short stay. After sunset through sunrise. The decor was lovely. American West and Cowboy style. The cactus gardens and pool are vast and nearly meticulous. No shower head on our shower in an updated bathroom, like many others, where the water has no boundary so it soaks the whole bathroom floor. Skimpy on the towels which were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank advntrmom10
Prineville, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here for a scheduled event at the resort. The staff were amazing! Professional, friendly, efficient, and accommodating - from shuttle drivers and the concierge, front desk to restaurant staff and housekeeping. Our room was really nice, big, great view of the pool area, and clean. The food we had at the restaurant was also really good: pizza, chicken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blueheelertravler
miami
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was there in a convention. service was slow. Rooms were old and in need of updates. Elevators were not properly position and there was a lot of walk between rooms and conferences room. The staff was friendly but they looked overworked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marafl
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Because we got our room from Priceline, I think we got the worst room in the hotel. Our room wasn't facing the pool. Instead, our room was next to the trash compactors in the next building. We heard the load MOTOR ROAR all afternoon and evening. As for the supposedly "non-smoking" room, it stunk! The TV was a small 24-inch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BobbbyE
Martha L, Guest Relations Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear BobbbyE, We do not have a policy of placing Priceline guests in poor quality rooms. You would have received a room in a certain location based on the type of room you booked, and the occupancy of the hotel on the day of arrival. Unfortunately, noise can sometimes be heard from outside. That being said, I do apologize for...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was here a week for business. Very relaxing and very helpful staff. I needed a small refrigerator and was happily accommodated. The grounds and pool are very beautiful and relaxing. Plenty of places to walk as well. I'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Martha L, Guest Relations Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Susan M, We are thrilled you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team here. We appreciate the feedback overall. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Rachele Guest Services Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in the perfect location great scenery all around and in a quite area where you can relax. The hotel definitely could use a little more TLC as you can see rotting wood, the paint on the outside is worn, the color and decor of the rooms looks a little dated. The size of the room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew T
Martha L, Guest Relations Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Good afternoon Andrew T, We appreciate your feedback , and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the facility issues you encountered. We do make every effort to keep the resort looking and functioning at it's best; and are hopeful we were able to remedy the challenges you encountered in the room during your...

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay in Carefree at the resort. Unfortunately it rained the whole weekend so outdoor activities were unavailable. The room was nice, although I had to switch rooms as we were originally next to the ice machine. I go over the Holiday weekend yearly to see family and they were very accommodating with shuttling us to their home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christie D
Martha L, Guest Relations Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Christie D, We are appreciative of the feedback, and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back for a return stay to typically "sunny" Carefree, for a outdoor-friendly stay. Have a wonderful day! Warm Regards, Rachele Guest Services Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family & l checked in late - just before midnight - totally exhausted after travelling for 26hrs. Dispite the torrential rain - we were welcomed with a fabulous roaring fire and a warming smiles from reception staff - who were genuinely interested in our journey and now wanted to make our life's easier. This is exactly what each and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
Martha L, Guest Relations Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Clare H, I am thrilled to hear your kind comments about our team here. We are truly appreciative of your feedback and will ensure we share it with staff. It sounds like you experienced the true charm of the resort during your stay, and hope to welcome you back soon. Hoope you have a wonderful day! Warm Regards, Rachele...

Tucson, AZ
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There were pluses and minuses, and I admit our stay was colored by the fact that it rained all weekend, which is unusual in Arizona (to say the least). The sleeping rooms were anything but modern, although spacious. Not great beds, pillows, or bedding. Lousy low-flow shower. Good nook with microwave, fridge (actually cold!) and counter/cabinet. The restaurant had good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amyptucson
Martha L, Guest Relations Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Amyptucson, I am sorry to hear of the issues you experiences while staying with us. It is good to hear the food, both in the Lariat and banquets, was enjoyable. Slow, "just okay" service is definately not the standard we pride ourselves on and apologize that this was your experience with us. All feedback is a chance to improve...

720 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (260)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (440)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Pool (28)
Viewed
Premiere Resort Room (69)
Viewed
Resort Room (74)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Sonoran Suite (106)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#12 of 174 in Phoenix
726 reviews
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rancho Manana Resort
#1 of 2 in Cave Creek
85 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carefree Resort has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation of all meeting space, public areas, resort guest rooms, Lariat Restaurant and Lounge and launched the all new Sonoran Suites, a boutique experience within the Resort. Experience authentic Arizona, located amidst high Sonoran Desert natural preserves 1.5 miles north of Scottsdale. The Resort grounds are filled with towering 20' Saguaro, giant Ocotillo, desert wildflowers, and Prickly Pear Cactus. Reserve one of our Villas, if you are looking extra space and want the comforts of home. Equipped with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room and are available with one or two bedrooms. Our friendly staff can arrange popular destination activities such as scooter rentals, bike rentals, golf, desert jeep tours, hot air balloon rides, and other adventures. The Resort features a five treatment room Spa with full spa and hair salon services, five lighted Tennis Courts, two heated swimming pools, and a complete Fitness Center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Address: 37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Price Range: $163 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carefree Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carefree Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Hotel Carefree
Carefree Resort And Conference Center
Carefree Resort & Conference Center Arizona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carefree Resort & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Carefree Resort & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles BobbbyE, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second Floor may have more natural light.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go someplace else”
 of 5 bubbles HabachtR, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a ground floor room with a view just beyond the pool which was nice”
 of 5 bubbles karenr493, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second Floor view of Pool and Black Mountain”
 of 5 bubbles christat2017, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5