We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,006 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,969: English reviews
Start your review of Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our family of three (all adults) enjoyed the spaciousness of a villa with a pool and the beautiful environment of The Boulders. It was exactly what we wanted; leisurely days to de-stress and unwind, but still lots of activity choices. We liked the location and really, for the three days we were there, other than a sunset Taliesen West tour,...

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
Saint Louis, Missouri
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 10 January 2017

i was super skeptical to book this sight unseen considering the cost... we were not disappointed!! the grounds are very well kept, and everything is very first class. it is gated so very safe, lots to walk and do on property. casitas (we stayed north) were great, very private, well appointed, made for a great stay!!! large bathroom, large walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stltravelgirl1107
About Hotel's Favourite Review
BouldersManager, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback. We are happy you were so glad with your stay. We are also glad you got to experience many of our amenities such as our wood-burning fireplaces and guided hiking paths. We appreciate the feedback and look forward for your return.

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The resort itself is beautiful. But, too far removed from Scottsdale & the resort is very spread out. We found the clientele at the resort is either family or older couples. The staff at the resort was not very welcoming specifically the wait staff/bar tenders. The resort shuttle drivers were fabulous.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
BouldersManager, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

We have many ladies weekend groups here who mainly focus on our spa. Groups like these are really popular and are really fun to host. We are sorry for any service issues you experienced. We do appreciate the feedback.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The management 's complete disregard for a great local attraction in the El Pedregal shopping complex is ridiculous. There are now just 3 shops remaining. This used to be a go to location to bring visitors with great shops, unique architecture and great ambience. Now it seems derelict, which I can't help but conclude reflects on the overall management of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom J
BouldersManager, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy El Pedregal. There is work being done to bring in more shops. We appreciate the feedback.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Boulders is not worth the $ they charge...and certainly not for a 1st floor room casita with a room above you. STAY away from 1st floor rooms entirely if you insist on staying here. I have had to opportunity to stay at numerous luxury resorts...and I am even a member of one in my local community. By far...this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UsingCommonSense
BouldersManager, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are sorry for some of the challenges you experienced while staying with us including some of the service issues you had. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our spa however. We appreciate the feedback.

Connecticut
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I found this resort to not be clean and the staff generally not pleasant or helpful except for the room manager. It seems closer to a 3 star resort. Thankfully after I complained and spoke to a manager we were able to check out with no charges. The spot seems nice enough but they need to pay attention to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldjsue
BouldersManager, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of your experience while staying with us. We hold the cleanliness of our grounds to a high standard and are sorry you saw something different than this. We do appreciate the feedback you have provided however.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For us, through last 15 years, Boulders has always been a reliably welcoming and wonderful oasis. Many employees are lovely, but we kept bumping into frontline employees who were smug, unhelpful and dismissive. Rookie mistakes, At $2000 a night, one expects a bit of TLC. Because of this experience, I am saddened that my kids will never love Boulders as...

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bphilipsegan
BouldersManager, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear of your experience with some of our staff members. We are addressing any service issues now. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for being a loyal guest to us.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We chose The Boulders as our wedding location. It was perfect. The staff was helpful and nice (with the exception of the lousy bar tender that worked inside each day). The food was excellent. The accommodations were nice. The transportation provided via golf cart and electric van were perfect. Love this spot so much.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
BouldersManager, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

We are glad you chose us as your wedding location and especially glad you enjoyed it. Our resort is great for destination weddings offering one-of-a-kind views and delicious cuisine prepared by our banquet staff. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Boulders is a beautiful resort. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Especially Evelyn at the front desk, Dan at the bell desk, Jen a Discovery Lounge bartender, and Kyle, server at the Spa Restaurant and Pool. The food at each of their restaurants was truly top notch--but definitely pricey. The grounds and golf course are meticulously maintained. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alissa0099
BouldersManager, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear of all the great staff members that were able to help you during your stay. Service is very important to us and we are glad our staff members delivered. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wow. I had a wonderful time at The Boulders about 20 years ago but had read some reviews that suggested it was now "aged" or "tired". But the resort recently underwent an extensive renovation and is glorious. Highlights: --The property itself is amazing -- you feel like you are in a desert nature park; the abundance of desert birds among...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
BouldersManager, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are glad you liked our recent multi-million dollar renovation. We appreciate the great feedback and hope you will visit us again soon.

1,362 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (979)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (278)
Viewed
Room/Suite (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (44)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (390)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (227)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Casita (52)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Second Pool (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Third Pool (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (156)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (72)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85263
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Price Range: $207 - $1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Jetsetter so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection By Hilton Carefree, Arizona
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do NOT stay in a 1st floor room! You will hear everything from the 2nd floor room above you.”
 of 5 bubbles UsingCommonSense, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The resort is large, best to stay near the attractions you are using the most, i.e. the spa, the golf course, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles Alissa0099, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I know the hotel-owned casitas are all renovated and beautiful. I don't know about the quality of the private residences.”
 of 5 bubbles sarae810, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 366kingsleya, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you need a 3 bedroom, ask for 611. Two bedrooms downstairs including a huge master and one upstairs which was of good size as well.”
 of 5 bubbles NishanV, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5