We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Taylors Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Taylors Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Taylors Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Stayed here two nights. The rooms are spacious and very clean and tidy. Location is very handy, close to town and restaurants. Plenty of car park in front of the room. Highly recommended to travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wagnorneal
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback please come back again. Bex

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Great location literally 5 mins to airport, great service and clean comfortable rooms. Would highly recommend! Quite popular, it was full when we stayed. We had a hire car and the service station was up the road and several eateries around for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica T
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback have a great day

Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Our 1st night accomodation in South Island. Clean and warm room. Seems renovated recently. Friendly and helpful Motel Manager. Bed is comfortable for a good night rest. Conveniently located. Minutes to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Great feedback thanks we pride ourselves in very comfortable beds with toppers on all queen and superkings as well for a super suggly sleep

sunshine coast
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Rooms double glazed I think so noise not a problem. Car parking at front of property. The staff were very good and went that extra mile especially with ideas of what to do, where to eat. Rooms spacious, very clean. Nz studios never seem to have shelving for groceries and clothing for long term travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozdrifter
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback our rooms are fitted with wardrobes to hang your things up. We love getting to meet new people and look forward to meeting you again hopefully

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night on way to a funeral. A blissfully night away from children. The greeting was superb. I was taken to a warm and spotless room with all amenities and given a decent sized bottle of milk. Fully operational sky channels kept me entertained and I had a great nights sleep in a comfy bed. There is some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sssquirrel2014
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Wow thanks so much for taking the time to put such indepth feedback we are really glad you enjoyed your breakfast my husband Craig makes a great one I think as well.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Really clean motel and nice stay. Room was warm and had electric blanket too. Owners were super friendly and helpful - great recommendation for dinner - thank you. We had takeaways so would have liked a larger spoon for dishing up but that would be the only negative comment we would have. Will definitely be back to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KR9119
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback we have an amazing Thai takeaway restaurant, Charming Thai, I hope you ended up with that. We look forward to seeing you again.

Hamilton
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Southern hospitality at it's best. Our room was ground floor as requested. This accommodation was booked online with no deposit. We arrived on a cold winter day the heating was on in the room. Large king bed which was very comfortable, linen was changed during our 7 day stay..Frig,toaster, tea and coffee sachets refreshed each day, microwave,stove top,and electric jug....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

It was great to have such a lovely person stay thanks so much

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I have been using this motel for a number of years now and am never disappointed. The rooms are quiet, clean and well appointed and the hosts are very friendly and helpful. It is always a pleasure to stay at Taylors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PensbyLad
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Always happy to have you stay

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It was a flying visit for work, checked in at 7pm and was gone by 4am the following morning. Cant tell you one bad thing about the place. Super convenient location. The hotelier was one of the friendliest and helpful people ive ever met.down to suggesting the best places to eat (sorry went with KFC). The heater was already on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 177bradleyr
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a warm review our 50 plus sky channels are great and we always try on a cold night to put heaters on. We look forward to seeing you again

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Stayed at this motel in early September, we booked a room as below. Rubbish, and not the truth, no Balcony, a toy hair dryer, an uncomfortable bed, nowhere to hang cloths. poor water pressure. You can get a Room at Sydney Airport for the same price and triple the size. $89 in Ashburton for this and not explained on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob M
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

What can you say to feedback like this. The room booked was $50 cheaper than our normal studios on the site it explained it was a very small single room the bed is an amazing Brownies bed which all our beds are with a topper on top to make it even more comfortable. The second night we only had 1...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
0.8 km away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
102 reviews
0.3 km away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
115 reviews
0.8 km away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
83 reviews
0.1 km away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your hosts, Craig and Rebecca Lambie with young family, provide genuine superior service, comfortable, relaxed and friendly welcome. We also offer Free high speed WiFi and sky 50+ channels with guest select. Taylors Motel is your Ashburton home-away-from-home. We are the closest motel to town located in a quiet garden setting facing north. Walk outside your downstairs unit to a lovely lawn area with swing seat, and bbq or enjoy the magnificent views of the southern Alps from upstairs. We have in-house meal options and restaurant opposite. We are located 1 hour South of Christchurch and a 45 min drive to Mt Hutt Skifield. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taylors Motel

Address: 770 East Street | Ashburton, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Price Range: $111 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taylors Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taylors Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylors Hotel Ashburton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Taylors Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room would be great”
karenhofman, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just phone or go online. Rooms are all about the same”
Tonyandrina, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“close to the town centre”
wagnorneal, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if travelling with luggage.”
71SheilaM, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 was good.”
177bradleyr, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5