We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Koa d'Surfer Hotel

Jl. Pantai Berawa, Sri Kahyangan Berawa, Canggu 80361 Indonesia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (219)
Pool & Beach (21)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#32 of 92 hotels in Canggu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Aloha to KOA D’Surfer Hotel! A place where you can do a line up while waiting for the reeling wave. When the wave is good and the beer is cold, nothing left to do but sleep in the natural ambiance of 1st surf themed hotel in Canggu, KOA D’Surfer Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Foot massage
Rooftop terrace
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian
343Reviews5Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 139
  • 120
  • 40
  • 20
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
bzb wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
This is my first visit to Canggu and indeed Indonesia, and I have two main points to share about this hotel. First: I experienced a problem with my reservation made through Booking.com, resulting in a 4-hour wait in the lobby with all my luggage during check-in. The issue was that, despite having paid through Booking.com, the payment had not reached the hotel. No one offered to put my luggage in a safe place or to help me in any way. There was no welcoming gesture, which I believe is a crucial part of the service industry. The staff at the reception were extremely rude. They forced me to cancel my non-refundable booking, which I had already paid for, and to make a new reservation. Reading the messages they sent to Booking.com about the issue was very upsetting; they wrote as if I were the enemy, though I was not at fault. Exhausted, I paid again and went to my room. The room was dark (no central light, just bedside lamps and another one in the corridor). Additionally, my room faced the road, which was quite noisy due to traffic. Perhaps rooms on the other side are quieter, but I can't confirm this. The bathroom smelled bad, and there was a mouldy smell in the room. The shower curtain was dirty, and the beds were not very comfortable. The only good things were the breakfast and the rooftop pool, but even there, there weren't enough sun loungers. The staff are not solution-oriented, not hospitable, and I've regretted choosing this hotel from the first moment. I don't know how I'll endure three weeks here. I requested a refund for half of my stay but was denied. I've rescheduled my return ticket and can't bear to stay in this unwelcoming, hostile place. The second point is either about the hotel or Booking.com: I booked my room for about £550 for 19 nights two months in advance. I regret it, as I saw they reduced the prices a few days before my arrival. If I had booked last minute, I would have paid around £400. In summary, I paid an excessively high rate for my room, feel unwelcome and treated like an enemy, and they refuse to refund me even though I'm leaving early. For such a high price, there are much better options available elsewhere. This place definitely does not justify the expense. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless necessary.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I paid an excessively high rate for my room, feel unwelcome and treated like an enemy, and they...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Koa D'Surfer Hotel, Other at Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2023
Hallo Ms. Betul Zeynep, Thank you for staying in KOA, First of all we inform you there is must be misunderstanding about your booking issue. Since you arrived we've been welcoming you with cheerful and we did registered as normal until we confirmation about payment room as our regulation all payment in advance. You were very sure that your payment been settle and you saw us your card bill statement but the amount were unmatched with total your hotel payment. We've been make sure also by contact to Booking.com regarding this issue and booking.com been inform you also that this booking must bee pay in property. We've been inform you also that you can leave your bag in reception and take your time to follow up this issue, but you were choose to bring it with you. However we want to clearly inform that our hotel room is dynamic rate, its depend on daily occupancy and season, we've been offering to cancel your booking and booking again with new rate on that day but you were deny to cancel. Of course we love to process your check in as quick as possible its only about your choice to pay, to cancel or waiting again. Event though at the end you choose to pay as total amount after 4 hour thinking. About the room we've been inform to our House keeping to taking care again and if you inform us earlier direct to reception we will love to move you to another room. Howe ever thank you for your input and have nice holiday. Cheers, Mismarni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Meidawati T wrote a review Oct 2023
Jakarta, Indonesia2 contributions
The hotel has rustic unique ambiance and a walking distance to everything you want to see in Canggu. Once you stay in the area, you do not want to go out of Canggu. The hotel’s staffs are friendly and helpful. The nasi goreng breakfast and coffee were great. They can improve on few things such as the brighther lighting of the room and the shower curtain. Overall, we had a great time staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Koa D'Surfer Hotel, Other at Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Responded 6 Nov 2023
Hi Ms. Meidawatit, Thank you for your awesome review of KOA! We are really happy that you had pleasant stay with us, Our team very happy for you comment especially kitchen team for "Nasi Goreng & Coffee". We have noted regarding your comment about our lighting & bathroom curtain. We will continue keeping our good work in future to welcoming you back at KOA. Cheers, Mismarni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lisalreid wrote a review Feb 2023
Carroll, Iowa153 contributions5 helpful votes
This was our first stop in Bali and really enjoyed it. The employees were so friendly and always helpful. We really enjoyed the rooftop bar and view. The food we ordered for supper or lunch a few times was actually really good. I suggest the “flying noodles”. The cocktails were great and the happy hour is awesome. The bathrooms could use a little better lighting and the shower curtain could be a little more useful as it didn’t really stop the water from spraying everywhere. The location is perfect for Finns and Atlas beach clubs. Great location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This area is very busy! Don’t think you are going to this area to enjoy the quiet or tranquil...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Koa D'Surfer Hotel, Other at Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Responded 14 June 2023
HI Lisalreid, Thank you for your awesome review of KOA! We are really happy that you had pleasant stay with us especially on first stop in Bali, Our kitchen team very glad for you comment on "flying noodles". We have noted regarding your comment about our bathroom. We will continue keeping our good work in future to welcoming you back at KOA. Let me know at fom.koasurfer@gmail.com on your next trip so we'll able to offer you our special rate. Cheers, Mismarni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laura B wrote a review Jan 2023
27 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
The room smelt. We moved room and it still smelt but it was 9pm so we had no option other than to stay. We left the very next morning. We had cockroaches come through the air con and also geckos running on the roof. The shower wasn’t fab and the mirror and bed was all stained! We went down for a refund on the night we didn’t stay. They told us it’s non refundable, even though we had enough photo evidence to grant us a refund. I wouldn’t waste your holiday or time here, it will ruin it. Not worth the money. Usually £16 a night and we paid £60 for two. There are so much nicer places to stay than here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid to stay clear of dissatisfaction.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Koa D'Surfer Hotel, Other at Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Responded 14 June 2023
Hi LaurabV9228JL, We deep apologize for the experiences you had while staying with us and make your holiday unpleasant. Your review really helps us in improving our room cleanliness standards and to continue our maintenance room to ensure that it won't be happen again in the future. We will love to welcome you back to Bali and please do not hesitate to contact as directly if you ever come to Bali. Thank you. Mismarni fom.koasurfer@gmail.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katherine D wrote a review Jan 2023
17 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is DISGUSTING. Checked in and our first room smelt of damp and smoke. After seeing a gecko in the room we asked to move, only to be moved to a room that smelt even worse and had both geckos and cockroaches. The shower power was awful and the room was filthy. The bed sheets were stained and the building is so badly built that insects can come and go as they please. When I woke up I felt damp due to the awful air quality in the room Stayed one night and requested a refund for the second night that we didn’t stay. Told us our booking is non refundable and only after seeing photo evidence of how bad it was were they willing to speak to a manager DO NOT STAY HERE
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Koa D'Surfer Hotel, Other at Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Responded 14 June 2023
Hi Ms. 321katherined, We deep apologize for the experiences you had while staying with us. Your review really helps us in improving our room cleanliness standards to ensure that it won't be happen again in the future. We will love to welcome you back to Bali and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you ever come to Bali. Thank you. Mismarni fom.koasurfer@gmail.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anna wrote a review Nov 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
I got here as soon as I landed in Bali and I’m so pleased I chose to stay here. The hotel is very good value and the room and bathroom are clean and lovely. A few minutes walk from the beach, lovely breakfast and the staff are always friendly and so helpful. Perfect introduction to Bali. They also picked me up at the airport. Couldn’t have been easier after 18 h on planes.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Not enough experience to answer that question
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cis4courtney wrote a review July 2022
Brisbane, Australia64 contributions7 helpful votes
Pros: Walking distance to Finn’s, extremely cheap & affordable Cons: The pool is absolutely disgusting. White floaters through the entire thing, it was actually really gross, pool is unswimmable. If you think you’re going to be able to use the rooftop pool, think again. Very, very basic and dirty. Mirror had rust all over it (no selfies in the room), blind absolutely covered in black mould/dust (it’ll cover you too if you touch it). No hand soap or hand towels provided at all, lampshades falling off the few lights in the room, hot water runs out very quickly, the lights are so dim it’s impossible to do makeup etc in the bathroom. They advertise 24/7 room service but there’s no menu in your room, and when you call down to reception no-one answers anyway. We booked a twin bed room, obviously for 2 persons, and had to argue with them on arrival to get a second room key. I went to the front desk to ask for a replacement room key and instead of just giving me one the manager got out her iPhone and started showing me photos of a towel she claimed I’d damaged 3 days prior.. what an actual joke. An old thin towel. I told her the numerous issues with the stay, none of which I’d complained about and suggested, that instead of encouraging me to leave this review they might decide to write the towel off.. she smiled and laughed and asked me for $200,000 rupees for the towel. Which I paid.. Would not recommend staying here unless you’re a full on backpacker on a very tight budget and don’t mind a dirty basic room and half the advertised hotel facilities unusable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jackoism wrote a review Apr 2022
Jakarta, Indonesia997 contributions65 helpful votes
+1
Do have a pleasant stays. It was a pet friendly hotel. Basic menu breakfast either local or western per person. Room is not as seen as in the photo during booking. Toilet is small, room is bit old and just enough for 2 with baggages. The bed frame is old as it created sound when you moving during your sleep. No drinking water and toiletries given (maybe forgetten) until requested twice. Walking distance to convenient store, restaurants, beach and beach clubs.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Darin Nielson wrote a review Apr 2022
Gold Coast, Australia64 contributions12 helpful votes
Caught up with friends at this great mid-budget hotel. Wow what a set up and vibe. Had a drink at their rooftop bar and pool, apart from the amazing location, the staff were particularly attentive. Special mention of what I assume is the area manager, Gadoh, wow he was so good with all the guests and visitors. 🙏🙏🙏
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Intan c wrote a review Apr 2022
Denpasar, Indonesia5 contributions1 helpful vote
I stay here with my boyfriend the atmosphere was so good and so many instagramable spot here. The staff very helpfull and friendly. I like the pool in the rooftop! Such a nice view ❤️ Thank you so much!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canggu area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$34 - AU$43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliNorth KutaCanggu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KOA D'SURFER HOTEL (AU$34): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Bali/Canggu) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Koa d'Surfer Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Berawa Beach (0.5 km), The Jungle Trader (0.5 km), and Canggu Guitar (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Koa d'Surfer Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Koa d'Surfer Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Koa d'Surfer Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Koa d'Surfer Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Koa d'Surfer Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bondi Restaurant, Sushi Bar Bali, and Grazing on the Green.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Koa d'Surfer Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Koa d'Surfer Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Koa d'Surfer Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Koa d'Surfer Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Canggu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Koa d'Surfer Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Koa d'Surfer Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.