We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Bell Canyon, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The comfort and privacy of Amuri Sands was just what I needed. Best view with palm trees, oceanfront and sunsets. Mark was very helpful with scooter arrangements and island tips. I went solo but this a perfect spot for couples too. Stayed a full week with snorkel trips every other day. Several wonderful food choices within walking distance or get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet V
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amuri Sands is situated on the ocean front with a view of coconut palms, a frangapani tree and a breath taking, picture postcard, stunning view of crystal clear water from the veranda. The accommodation is clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and user friendly. Mark is a helpful, non-intrusive host who supplied us with rain water and fresh bananas and pawpaws. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1tiger2
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Kate So glad you enjoyed your stay at Amuri Sands and Aitutaki. You managed to ride the scooter again after a long spell and you seemed to enjoy the experience. The bananas grown in Aitutaki are the best I have had anywhere. Unfortunately I don't have them all the time - the same as the paw paw. But...

Monterey, California
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Needing some serious down time from work, we stayed at Amuri Sands for 1 week in early October. Mark, the low key, funny and considerate owner, met us as the airport and explained all the nuances to us. He comes to the property twice a day to clean the coconuts and other fallen items from the pristine property. He was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Alison and Gerry What a pleasure to have you stay with us all the way from Monterey. The ten days seemed to wiz by and I know you will be back for a longer period next time. Yes it is easy to relax and read and do nothing. I seem to recollect that you came with out any...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Aitutaki was the last step of our 2 years' journey. Hence Amuri Sands was perfect to calm down after travelling a lot and to enjoy the island life. The owner Marc is taking great care about everything. You have a wonderful view from your balcony. Just be aware of falling coconuts if you wanna go down to the beach 😉...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Adrian and Jenny You certainly managed to open the coconuts with ease - well done. Paw paws are in abundant supply at the moment as the current guests can testify to, along with freshly picked bananas from the property. Not to many paw paws when you were here. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and relaxed, especially...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed at Amuri Sands for 8 nights on the recommendation of our friends whom also stayed here recently. The booking process was smooth as the owner (Mark) responds to emails promptly. He was kind enough to arrange a scooter which was ready for us to use upon arrival! You do need some form of transport on Aitutaki as most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davin8
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Davin and Moi Thank you for that interesting review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and the time just flashed by. Yes you are correct, a scooter is a good idea even though the island is only 7 x 2.5km it can seem quite large, especially when it is warm. Also, ear plugs...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We spent 5 nights at Amuri Sands and loved it all. There is a lovely garden to walk through to get to the accommodation which is right on the beach with fabulous views all day and stunning sunsets. It is excellent value for money, private & quiet, yet close to places to eat etc. Mark (the owner) ensures the place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janey57NZ
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Hi Jane and Steve, Thank you for your compliments regarding Amuri Sands, the gardens and the accommodation here in general. We love our beach and gardens here, and it's always nice when guests appreciate and enjoy the surroundings. Yes, it is unfortunate that occasionally we get seaweed washing up on the beach from the lagoon. This usually follows a period...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We enjoyed a very pleasant 7-night stay at Amuri Sands from 10 August. The weather was a constant 27 degrees and the accommodation perfect for us. We found it clean, tidy and very well maintained. Mark is a great host and the garden and surroundings a credit to all his hard work. Nothing is too much trouble to Mark from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raroregulars
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Hi Jill and Ian, It was great having you here at Amuri Sands. Thank you so much for your kind comments, and I am very pleased you were able to appreciate the lovely aspect of the gardens and our private beach here. And, yes, the walks around the island are quite beautiful, and do provide an ideal opportunity to see...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We had an awesome 5-night stay at Amuri Sands, Mark is extremely kind and helpful and a great host. The place was extremely clean and what we loved most was the well-maintained beach right at the back of this place. We highly recommended staying here if you want to enjoy some peace and quiet and something less commercial!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Kenneth Thank you for those comments and also for referring your friends to us who arrive in October. Hopefully they will enjoy themselves as much as you guys. It is certainly a lot warmer than chilly old Melbourne at this time of year and I am sure we will see you again. Thanks again for your review. Mark

Auckland
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We had a wonderful time staying at Amuri Sands for our 6 nights on Aitutaki. The bungalow was compact, tidy and comfortable and just a few metres from a beautiful beach. We enjoyed many afternoons sitting on the deck, sipping a glass of something and watching the sun go down. Mark could not have been more helpful. He picked us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith T
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Keith Thank you so much for your review of our little property. I am sure we will see you and Adrienne again in our little paradise called Aitutaki. Yes the beach is stunning from the deck especially with the changing colours of the lagoon and the beautiful sunsets. As for the coconuts, there is always an abundance but...

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The bungalow is nice but it is the location which is the big draw. The view from the deck is amazing! Only a small stretch of sand with pretty palmtrees seperates you from the gorgeous lagoon with good snorkeling. It hardly gets any better then this. The bungalow itself is quite small but everything is provided and it is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GenjiG
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana GP and Astrid So glad you enjoyed your stay and your comments are appreciated. Yes the aspect from the deck is truly amazing, looking out over the lagoon to the reef. Plus the added benefit of only two units is a definite advantage for the guests. A long way from the Netherlands but hopefully we may see you...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.3 km away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,024 reviews
2.9 km away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
139 reviews
0.9 km away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
841 reviews
3.3 km away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 6 in Aitutaki
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kia Orana, and welcome to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki. We are a family-run business with 2 chalets on the beachfront on the west coast of Aitutaki, Cook Islands. We provide budget accommodation for your self-catering needs and are positioned near dining outlets and shops. The beach we are positioned on has some of the best snorkeling on the island. We look forward to you staying with us. Kia Manuia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Address: Main Rd, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Price Range: $96 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amuri Sands, Aitutaki staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Amuri Sands, Aitutaki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two units available and both are great.”
 of 5 bubbles 261janetv, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“can't go wrong as both are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonk461, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Both rooms have the same outlook etc, nothing to choose between them.”
 of 5 bubbles janey57NZ, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Both bungalows are private and have great sea views”
 of 5 bubbles 115keitht, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Chickens next door roost on the north , but crow on both sides so repeat visitors just stick with the side they started with.”
 of 5 bubbles quietisnice, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5