We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Start your review of Palma Real Hotel & Casino
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The original room we got was average. The a/c wasn't working so they put us in a better room which was bigger. Bed was fine but the hotel feels old. The breakfast buffet was decent. It's not one of the hotels that is close to the airport. It's right near City Centre and it feels that way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawnacey R
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Shawnacey Thank you for reviewing us and sharing details of your stay here on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a good stay and that our services and facilities were of your liking. Is good to see that our staff helped to correct the A/C problem inmediately and this didn´t affect the overall enjoyment of your stay. We listen...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for one night too many. There are so many poor things about this Hotel it would take too long to list. The best thing is the staff, both reception and the bar staff are really the most helpful you could wish for. However I would not recommend this Hotel. (enough said)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Alan We are sorry to see that you had problems during your stay. All our clients observations and recommendations are welcome, we listen and take actions to correct them and be able to offer our future guests a good service. We apologize for the noise during your stay, though is an external issue we have spoken to the person...

Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property was above average. We had a problem with the A/C and it was immediately addressed. We were there to go to the dentist and it was within walking distance. The buffet breakfast in the morning was superb and included in the the price There were quite a few good restaurants within walking distance. The lunch and dinner menus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Barbara Thank you for selecting us during your visit to San José and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are glad our services and facilities exceeded your expectations and also that our staff helped make this happen. We value all our customers suggestions and observations, we work on them to offer a service of quality and make...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

it is located ca. 40 minutes walking from down town, near a park. Rooms are big and clean, but very dark. Breakfast is very good. Staff are not freindly or helpfull. They ignore you toatally. There is a construction beside hotel, but we were on the other side so we did not hear any thin. There are few restaurants around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fershtet
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for selecting us during your visit to San José. We are glad you had a good stay and that our services and facilities were of your liking. All comments and suggestions from our clients are very important to us, we work based on your recommendations to be able to offer a better service every day. We...

Reviewed 26 January 2017

Have stayed at this hotel in the past due to the free transportation from the airport to the hotel. This time, the transportation from the airport was wrong and would only allow 1 person and not the 3. Thankful for my friend who lived there to help translate. We ended up taking a cab to the hotel. Prior to leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dakeita R
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your preference and giving us the chance to serve you again. We are sorry to see that there were some problems with your reservations, but are glad that everything worked out fine. We offer free transportation from the airport to the hotel, we recommend to schedule this service in advance with our reservations department, also...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Jennifer Zuñiga was so helpful and friendly during our stay. She went out of our way to ensure that we had food that was vegetarian. Her excellent service is the reason we will remember this place. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank allatdanz
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for selecting us during your visit to San José. We are glad to see our staff could make the difference and make your stay unforgettable. The satisfaction of our clients is very important to us, we work based on your suggestions and recommendations to offer a better service every day. Among our services our guests can...

Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, we just stayed one night before leaving for our next location, but we liked it. There is a construction site outside so if you want to sleep through out the night make sure to get a room facing another way.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linnea K
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear client Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel here on Tripadvisor. We can see that you had a great stay and that our services and facilities were of your liking. It is of the utmost importance for us to hear of our clients’ stays. We use all the comments and suggestions to help us improve in order...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed at while traveling. It is a scam and I have never felt so unwelcomed and so uncomfortable at any other place I have stayed it. It was clear that this staff, specifically the night staff did not want us to be staying at this hotel. As we watched other tourists being dropped...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmb2142016
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear client We are sorry to see that you didn’t have a pleasant stay at our hotel. All our clients’ comments and suggestions are welcome, we listen to all and work on them to be able to offer a better service every day. Our general manager is aware of all our observations and would like to be in touch with...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 4 December 2016

I booked a one night stay here through Travelocity where the hotel was listed as being located 0.13mi from the airport (it's really over 7km from the airport, which is about 30 minutes in San Jose morning traffic). For an early morning flight, airport proximity was important. After searching for the hotel for an hour (due to Travelocity's inaccurate address...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank secretshannon510
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Client Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your last visit to San José. We are glad you had a good stay even though you needed a hotel closer to the airport, we will be checking and talking directly to Travelocity to avoid this misunderstanding in the location they are providing. We are located in...

Dalarna
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We only stayed the night on our Costa Rica tour and had a very early breakfast. That was nicely fixed and very good too. The room was clean, sober and with comfy wide beds. So I would gladly return. Not much more to be said.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeionMan
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for selecting us during your visit to San José, we are glad to see that everything went well during your stay. Our hotel is located in Sabana Norte, ideal for any travel plan you might have, close to downtown but away from the noise and busy life of the city. Among our services, our clients will...

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.3 km away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
1.2 km away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#42 of 85 in San Jose
225 reviews
0.1 km away
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Apartotel Suites Cristina
#23 of 85 in San Jose
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
2.9 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
262 reviews
0.8 km away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from San Jose center, the capital of Costa Rica, and only 15 minutes by car from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Furthermore, it provides easy access to the main business, shopping and leisure areas in the capital. In 2010 the hotel was renovated and presently boasts very modern facilities and many services, especially for guests visiting San Jose on business. The hotel has a fully-equipped business center with internet access, photocopiers, fax, messenger service and plane ticket confirmation service. In addition, it has comfortable and spacious rooms that will make your stay relaxing and pleasurable. The Palma Real hotel has obtained the Sustainability Certificate, which helps to preserve one of the most virgin destinations in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Address: AV 9 Calle 50 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 250, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $93 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palma Real Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Palma Real Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Palma Real Hotel San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Palma Real Hotel & Casino staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Palma Real Hotel & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cannot recommend”
 of 5 bubbles alanh88, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the 4th floor seem more updated.”
 of 5 bubbles Dimerid, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is currently major construction across the street, but it was not disturbing or problematic at all.”
 of 5 bubbles klw00, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“far a way from the casino”
 of 5 bubbles vromeo56, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the casino/disco side can be noise in the night”
 of 5 bubbles DiveAcademyBallenaBl, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5