We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Costa Rica Backpackers

382 reviews
Save
Traveller (108)
Pool & Beach (44)
Dining (28)
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good38%
  • Average25%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“costa rica”(32 reviews)
“swimming pool”(14 reviews)
Free Wifi
Pool
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (382)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Costa Rica Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
50
87
70
28
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
50
87
70
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaswimming poolwell equipped kitchenplace to staygreat poolrestaurant barla fortunapura vidalate at nightdowntown areahammockscomputersplugsnightlifeoasistourssj
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Given the fairly cheap price, we weren't expecting luxury, however the small damp rooms, uncomfortable beds, very very basic breakfast and the five, six and seven o clock wake up calls from the nearby passing trains were just a bit too much. The staff were...More

Thank eb0410
Response from Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica BackpackersResponded 8 November 2017

Hello, all our bedrooms have new mattresses and the breakfast is a royalty for all our clients. We provide free ear plugs to control the noise and about the train, it only runs from Monday to Friday, from 7:00 a.m to 6:00 p.m. Greetings.

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

The hostel is nice, i slept there for a few nights on two occasions in dorm 7 and 3. Dorm 7 was good and dorm 3 was really comfortable and new. I also liked the common areas and the pool is lovely. The restaurant is...More

Thank Katya D
Response from Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica BackpackersResponded 8 November 2017

We are very happy to know about your good experience, we hope to see you again!

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We were staying two times at Costa Rica Backpackers and wouldn't go there again! Our first stay in CRB was ok. That was at the end of June. We thought that the hostels was nothing special, but good enough to stay a few days to...More

Thank tanjapedro
Response from Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica BackpackersResponded 8 November 2017

Prices can change depending on the season (high or low season), the breakfast is a royalty for our clients, we do not charge any amount for it. About the problem with the other customers, in the reception, we can not hear anything because the rooms...More

Reviewed 4 August 2017

Awesome place with lots of space. I love the fact they have a pool. The have lots of areas to hang out in so you never feel congested. It is awesome their beds have curtains so you have a bit more privacy. Everything super clean....More

Thank Dominique1012
Response from Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica BackpackersResponded 8 November 2017

We are very happy to know about your good experience here, we hope to see you again!

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Compared to other hostels I have visited, this one is not that good. The furnitures are old and smelly. The rooms are very basic and noisy, however, I guess it depends on in which dorm you stay. I stayed in dorm 11 which was right...More

Thank Anne-Katrine92
Response from Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica BackpackersResponded 8 November 2017

Thanks for your review, however, furnitures are not old, rooms are very clean and we have the most moderns beds in Central America.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345653
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 14 - USD 35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
USD 14 - USD 35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (108)
Pool & Beach (44)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (28)
Family and Play Areas (13)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hollie K
8 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Costa Rica B | Property representative |
Hi! We have airport shuttle from the airport for $24, the cheapest in town! There is also a public bus you can take right on the sidewalk (outside the airport) The bus has this sign: T.U.A.S.A / Alajuela - San José. They... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Avoid at all costs"
Read review
"Try to get one that is not in the basement."
Read review
"better wifi near reception"
Read review
"Top level room 15"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing