We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Santo Tomas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

853 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 755: English reviews
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ten seconds in the door and we're greeted by Thomas himself, given a tour, and made to feel welcome. Not because he had nothing to do - the room was full of arrivals. Simply because he is proud of his hotel, and enjoys being gracious and hospitable. The kind of hospitality is extremely rare anywhere these days. Don't you agree?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Jeff, Great having you stay and wonderful that you have also made Costa Rica your home. Outstanding review Thank You ! Creating a Costa Rica experience is what it is all about for us here at the Hotel Santo Tomas. Looking forward to seeing you again. Warmest Regards Thomas

Strasbourg
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We reserved in this hotel by Internet, the website is very well done...the public places are really nice... We looked for rooms on their website but we didn't find it. When we arrived, we understood it. The room, I think it was 21, was very small and not up to date (decoration and old). The breakfast was ok. Otherwise the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dodie1545
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hola Strassbourg, Yes you selected one of our economy rooms , the least expensive at $52.00 including Free Hot Cooked Breakfast. That room is in the original home is is 108 years young and as a registered historical property, I am limited as to what I can change. It does have a completely new bathroom , which you did not...

Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas overnight. We arrived late and only needed a place to stay before we took off to our final destination the next morning. Given the price, and other reviews on tripadvisor, it did not disappoint. The hotel itself is quaint and quiet. The rooms are small, but cozy and clean. You'll find your bed, AC,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BlackHeart2
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi BlackHeart2, Great , short and concise review - Thank You . I will check the Wi-fi . There are 4 different routers in the entire property and if you logged in at one area of the hotel and moved to a distant spot and did not log on to the strongest new router you may have lost the signal....

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our stay at Santo Tomas was ultimately utilitarian; we were arriving in San José late at night, and catching a shuttle early in the morning our to Manuel Antonio. We were looking for a clean place that was close enough to the airport that we wouldn't be riding around all night after a long day of travel, but far enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CMatthias
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hola CMatthias, What a wonderful, well written review THANK YOU ! I guess you did not miss Mr Mr Lecompt's 6 grade writing class! All or your description is outstanding, informative and just good. I love your second to last sentence (If you'd like your trip to be both comfortable and worthy of story, stay here!) No need for me...

Virgina Beach
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Used to stay at the hotel. It is clean and unique. I really liked the gym and the pool.I made the mistake of asking for milk for coffee. I got a tirade about the low cost of the breakfast and room. I would have payed for quarts of milk. don't appreciate being lectured. Too bad , I have stayed about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pierre D
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Pierre, Thanks for your comments. I wish you had identified whom you had spoken to, no one likes being told no to, especially in an incorrect manner. I apologize for that. Although I do like it when clients appreciate the rest of the FREE HOT COOKED BREAKFAST and many do. Yes, ! in an effort to keep my cost...

Calgary
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were on a trip around Costa Rica, arriving late in the evening, so a stop at the Santo Thomas was perfect. Although it is in a bit of a sketchy area, it was not a problem and close to the main drag! The rooms were clean and in good condition, the breakfast was OK, not great and the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank speedybee12
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Speedybee12, Great you and family had a wonderful vacation here in Costa Rica. Clean rooms and the property in good condition is really important. Nice feed back to me about how my staff is doing their job. I'll let them know. We have lots of family's book us directly on the hotel's web site, like you to get the...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights before ending my 3 week long trip. What I honestly remember about this hotel is that the owner, Thomas (and American settled there for last ~27 years) was very friendly and engaging with all of his guests. I am sure he tries to bring the quality of service. My room was right behind the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank subrata7
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Subrata7, Thanks for the review. You did point out an interesting thing about the power outlets in that room, that I have never noticed. There is one below the TV and in the bathroom. One behind the headboard. I can make this better and I will fix that ASAP, thank you for that idea. I will place them above...

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent two nights toward the end of our trip. The hotel is older and pretty funky - still the price is reasonable. The block is sketchy and the hotel itself has no curb appeal at all - a locked gate greets you. The interior is also quite utilitarian. The room and the bathroom were both fine - nothing fancy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Ho Todd, I like your line ( The hotel is older and pretty funky - still the price is reasonable) That's 1908 rich Costa Rican funky your talking about. The original home is almost 9000 sq.ft, toss in the new rooms I built in the back up stairs and you have close to 14,000 sq.ft. Had a nice client with...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here the last night of our two week trip and were a little nervous seeing the barred gates on the street in what is apparently the "nice" part of San Jose. Once inside, we were greeted by a very friendly man at the front desk, who got us checked in as well as booked our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanzabelle
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hola Hanzabelle, We have lots of couples stay here with us and really enjoy the jacuzzi and happy hours from 3 to 7 pm with Adrian the bartender, he makes some delicious tropical drinks! I really strive to set an example for all of my staff on how important it is to make the guest fell at home. Sometimes we...

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Tomas and his staff were very polite and helpful. The rooms were well equipped and clean enough you could eat off the floor (I, of course, did not). The price at $85 was more than reasonable considering the lovely pool and gracious, warm breakfast. If you find yourself in San Jose, STAY HERE. You won't be disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allthescreennamesare
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

A Big shout out from Thomas, here in Sunny Costa Rica. Love your title and I will make sure my staff sees it. It's outstanding when , we have guests that really appreciate and value , what we are trying to deliver here at the hotel. I am so happy you did not have an unpleasant experience here and if...

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (370)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony Upstairs Room (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Plus Upstairs Room (29)
Viewed
Economy Room (35)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool and Hot Tub (29)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Standard Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Plus Upstairs Corner Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Plus Upstairs Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
728 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
1,234 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#9 of 84 in San Jose
246 reviews
2.6 km away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#8 of 84 in San Jose
890 reviews
1.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $86 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Santo Tomas staff and other travellers.
51 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Santo Tomas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room #9 which we liked a lot. Another time we had room #2 which was a little noisy (upstairs guest had an early flight...).”
 of 5 bubbles 979dougk, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles JimfromCC, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Each of the rooms are very nice, however my favorite rooms are the upstairs units.”
 of 5 bubbles 381eugenec, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Down stairs with exterior hallway entrance”
 of 5 bubbles egil7erik, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the upper deck”
 of 5 bubbles Paul_Dayton, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay