We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

749 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 514: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
 Click to rate
Middlesex
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on a tour. Perfect for a short break. Rooms spacious and clean would benefit with updating. Breakfast adequate, dining room chaotic at peak periods. All staff friendly and helpful.Hotel well placed for exploring city, easy walk into centre. Small park opposite hotel which had free concert on the Sunday we visited.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nimicup
Management response:

It is satisfying for us to know that your experience in our Hotel were pleasant and that all your expectations were fulfilled . We thank you for letting us know about you opinion , We will share your comments and your observations with all our staff , so they can take notes for the daily improvements Hope in the future...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Service was 5 star across the board!!! Reception checked us in early and the bellman was a pro giving us recommendations of what to visit and where to eat. The room could use some updates, but those views make up for everything!!!! + you can't beat the location! The only annoying thing is the indoor pool ;( BUT I won...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SIMPLYigor
Management response:

It is satisfying for us to know that your experience in our Hotel were pleasant and that all your expectations were fulfilled . We thank you for letting us know about you opinion , We will share your comments and your observations with all our staff , so they can take notes for the daily improvements Hope in the future...

Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was arranged by travel agency so we did not know what to expect. It was very nice and modern. Staff is very attentive to guest. Safe and great location. Breakfast and room service were very good. Front desk staff were very nice to the guest. Nice pool and gym area. Great hotel near everything in San jose

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yamy21
Management response:

We really appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about the opinion of our Hotel , specially the fact that you had a beautiful experience and a pleasant stay. all our efforts are directed to make your lodging as wonderful as possible We look forward that in the future will be once again one of our guest...

Caguas, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We planned our honeymoon and decided on the hotel for its location. Is centrally located from main attractions in San Jose as the National Theater, The Gold Museum, the main boulevard and restaurants. It included breakfast ehich was mainly local dishes ehich gives you a taste of the culture. It might feel a little to constrained on options but its...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissLalinga4989
Management response:

We are pleased to know that you had an exceptional time in Holiday Inn Aurola . We hope that in the nearest future we will be part of your lodging option , we will be more than happy to assist you Thank you Katherine May Front Desk Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been here in Bussiness situation. The hotel style is old and the rooms are old too. The services offer the hotel are enough but the gym is small and some machines doesn't work. The pool use too much chemicals...somebody should have to explain them about salt chlorination. Finally the breakfast, one of the most important points when I'm on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordi V
Management response:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed here for 1 night as we wanted to spend our time in Costa Rica elsewhere then SAN José. The city itself can be skipped in my opinion but the hotel was good with a friendly staff. Only point of comment is that rooms and breakfast area are a little dark

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gunterv2016
Management response:

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to write this review it is very important for us know about your opinion about the quality of our service. It is satisfying for us that you had pleasant time at the Holiday Inn, San Jose, Aurola Hotel ; all our efforts are directed to make your stay a wonderful...

Ubud, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

outdated rooms, bathrooms, terrible breakfast and room service. Concierge staff was very helpful. Front desk staff kind of almost to the point of rude. Forget about eating anything here, probably the worst Holiday Inn I have stayed in. I would not recommend this place at all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deepsapphyr
Management response:

We appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have faced and we will be making every effort to resolve this matter. Once again than you for your observation and we hope that in the future you will consider returning and corroborate all our improvements Sincerely, Katherine May Front Desk Manager

Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself is not bad from outward appearances. But we lost our hot water on the first day and then all of the water later on that day. The card system for using the elevators only works sporadically. The food is not good especially for what they charge for it. The free breakfast was very unappetizing and very limited....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlapre
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Katherine May Front Desk Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in February as part of a group . Check in not available until 3.00 pm which was a little inconvenient after a long overnight flight . Hotel is centrally located and is a typical high rise intercontinental hotel . Hence identikit spacious rooms and bathrooms albeit with slightly tired furnishings. If this is your natural choice then it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Management response:

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about our Hotel and our service ,for us all your opinions are very important , those are essential to improve our service every day . It is satisfying for us to know that your experience in our Hotel were pleasant , also that our location were convinient and that all...

Lewis Center, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I joined a tour group that went around the nation if Costa Rica. Our first and last nights were at the Holiday Inn. The location is good as you can walk to many places to eat, drink, and purchase goods. The accommodations however are tired and the restaurants are both wanting. With some effort and financial commitment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear George S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our location to be good. However, we would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our restaurants and room accommodations. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to...

843 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (470)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite (58)
Viewed
King Bed Guest Room (39)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (96)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Suite (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)
Viewed
Two Queen Beds Guest Room with Upgrades (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
911 reviews
0.2 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
1,158 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.8 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
827 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $110 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Orlando, Florida
Sumter, South Carolina
2 months ago
Moretonhampstead
Seminole,Florida
8 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Deepsapphyr, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views on the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles BryanW582014, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Priority Club - be sure and get your upgrade. Executive room is the way to go”
 of 5 bubbles 64Janie, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was worried as I am a light sleeper and was close to elevators; however, the rooms are very quiet and I heard no noise!”
 of 5 bubbles buster7919, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Better to be on higher floor with city view”
 of 5 bubbles alan01609, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5