We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino

Show Prices
#16 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

642 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 398: English reviews
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Have heard of folks getting great prices here and ours was pretty darn good too. Loved having coffee in room; great bed, pillows, sheets and towels; large soap and shampoo dispensers with hair dryer is a must. Location was our biggest thing and we were close too all things big and small. Breakfast and cocktail tickets were a bonus as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debitthompson
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Debitthompson, thank you so much for sharing your nice and detailed review. It makes us very happy that your stay was such a success because there is nothing more important to us than our guests' complete satisfaction. We are truly committed to our guests, providing them with very comfortable accommodations, excellent services (like our complimentary breakfast options, the welcome...

Reviewed 25 October 2016

If this facility is close to your area of action in San Jose, don't hesitate. Location is particularly relevant in San Jose, as traffic there is one of the worst in Latin America. I guess this is due to the very old street system they have there. Trust me on this one. Best Western Irazu is an old facility, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louie G
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Louie G, thank you for posting your comments about your stay with us. We are happy that you had a very pleasant stay because our guests' comfort and satisfaction a really important to us. We strive to provide our guests with very comfortable accommodations and excellent and practical services so that they can see our hotel as their home...

Pinole, United States
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This hotel is in a great location. Was very clean and comfortable. Casino on lower level was great also. The only complaint I had was being awaken at 6am by a marching band playing loudly in the courtyard for 30 minutes. Hotel should have alerted guests so to not be startled at that early hour. Otherwise the hotel is great.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Denise T, thanks for sharing your superb review. It makes very happy knowing how much you liked staying in our hotel, finding it clean and comfortable because nothing is more important to us than our guests' complete satisfaction. We are truly sorry about the inconvenient you experienced with the marching band, please accept our most sincere apologies for it....

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice property , the staff is very friendly , Jesus Mendoza and Audrey at the front desk made us feel at home and they resolved any issues with a smile . Overall this hotel is in a good location , secure there is always a staff member walking around the premises which gives you a sense of security ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cynthia S
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Cinthia S, thank you for posting your marvelous comments. We are totally thrilled that your stay was so comfortable and pleasant because there is nothing we want more than making our guests feel comfortable and right at home. We want our guests to know we are completely committed to their satisfaction so we make sure that they are always...

London
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We only stayed one night between arriving from London and then heading on elsewhere in CR. The advertised shuttle is infrequent so call the hotel to check times. A $25 cab preferable to over an hours wait. Room and on site restaurant ok after a long flight. Breakfast being available before a 0600 pick up a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveW12
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear SteveW12, thanks for sharing your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel so comfortable and that you were so satisfied with our services (especially our complimentary breakfast choices); also, that you found our location so convenient (we are 15 minutes away from the airport and only 10 minutes away from downtown...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 1 October 2016

As soon as we arrived the service was great and attentive. The pool view was very nice and it was easy to find our way around the hotel and restaurant area. The breakfast included was great and saved us money, everyone treated us great! The pool area was very nice. The airport transportation was free and the staff was friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank giovanaaviles
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear giovanaaviles, thank you so much for posting your fantastic comments. We are very proud to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant hotel experience because we are deeply committed to our guests' comfort and satisfaction. By offering wonderful services (like our complimentary breakfast and the free wifi among many others), providing very comfortable accommodations and having...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel looks great on the outside and within the lobby but the rooms are old and dated. Our room smelled kindof musky when we opened the door but once the air conditioner was on, the smell went away. The beds are comfortable and the wifi in the rooms seemed strong. I wish there was a coffee maker in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel. It makes us very happy that you had such a comfortable and nice stay because nothing is more important for us than our guests' complete satisfaction and comfort. We are very sorry if you found the room assigned to you outdated, please...

Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed our final night here, the check in was smooth and we visited the casino. We soon discovered the perks the hotel offered was not up to par for a Best Western, it was clean and nicely decorated, every room had a pool view and the grounds were well maintained. We booked this hotel as there was a free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karenmagnuso
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Karenmagnuso, thank you for sharing your comments, we really appreciate them. We are very sorry to learn how disappointed you were during your stay with us so please accept our most sincere apologies for not being up to your expectations. We are very sorry about the complimentary shuttle service, unfortunately, it has an schedule which can be seen in...

Coronado, Costa Rica
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a room here because we had an early appointment at Migracion which is only 5 minutes away. We were very surprised & pleased by the interior of the hotel. The rooms were clean & spacious & the staff very friendly. We were given vouchers for a welcome drink & breakfast. You could choose where you wanted to have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Saltspringsgirl
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Saltspringsgirl, thank you for sharing such fabulous comments about your stay in our hotel. We are thrilled to learn how much you like our hotel, how much you enjoyed staying with us and that from now on, you are part of our extended global family since you plan to stay with us again and again. Nothing makes us happier...

Smithers
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Our tour group stayed at this hotel the first and last nights of our tour. The first night we arrived very late at night after many hours of traveling and it was good to be able to grab a quick bite to eat at the attached Denny's restaurant. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Ours looked onto the centre court,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wewilling7
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Wewilling7, thank you for sharing your very nice and detailed review about your stay with us. We are ecstatic that you had such a pleasant hotel experience because our goals are always the total comfort and satisfaction of all our guests. By providing super comfortable and very clean accommodations and excellent services (like our complimentary breakfasts option among others)...

468 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (227)
Viewed
Accessible Premier Room (26)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Premier Plus Room (25)
Viewed
Premier Room (23)
Viewed
Premier Room (New) (23)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard King Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 85 in San Jose
1,156 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
897 reviews
1.4 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
2,290 reviews
2.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
3.6 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $95 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to be upgraded, they will not do this automatically”
  • View from room
 of 5 bubbles travelbirdette, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Room we had was comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles ghollingsworth79, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Call and ask for monthly specials they have now and again.”
 of 5 bubbles Debitthompson, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the upper floors. Bugs and other insects have an easy way to the lower floors rooms and San Jose is in mid rainforest area.”
 of 5 bubbles louieg320, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room with Pool view”
 of 5 bubbles giovanaaviles, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5