We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel 1110

Orbitz.comUSD 28*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 29*
USD 28*
Great Deal
USD 29*
USD 29*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostel 1110
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 40: English reviews
Start your review of Hostel 1110
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hostel at the start and end of our trip! The first night we booked a room and the final night a dorm! My friends are seasoned back packers so are used to the hostel life...I'm not! The hostel can be a little noisy if you are in a dorm and obviously privacy is minimal. That said,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Positives: location good (close to centre of downtown), front desk staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast was nice Negatives: Room we had was across the road from the main building where there is only one share bathroom for possibly 5 rooms, bathroom was not kept clean é.g hair blocking the shower drain and flooding, WiFi would cut out for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Don't stay here! Our bed had bed bugs! I was eaten alive. We were refunded a nights stay but I would rather have not been bit to death. It's on a very busy noisy road so if your room is on the road be prepared to be woken up at five in the morning with the cars. The only good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with a couple of friends. The first room was really loud with lots of traffic. My second room was quiet. Does not look like sheets are clean. Good location for a really early bus from Tracopa as you can walk there in 10 minutes. You can walk always to restaurants and shopping. A local said be careful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsi U
Hostel E, Director de Recepción at Hostel 1110, responded to this review

Hi Kirsi! We clean the rooms everyday, including of course, bed sheets. As you mentioned we are 10 minutes walking to Tracopa station and close to everything in San José. Breaksfast starts at 7 a.m. but we have noticed that manyof our clients leave early to get buses or tours so we have now the option of breakfast to go....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We had a decent double room in the second building over the road from the main hostel. It is a bit quieter as the main building had people in the common area and kitchen till really late. It is along a main road so we found it difficult to sleep as there were trucks/motorcycles/cars zooming by all night. So bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellypilavachi
Hostel E, Director de Recepción at Hostel 1110, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! They help us grow! We are now working on the breakfast to go option so you can take it next time with you! We are a new administration and we are working hard to improve everything here. Next time you visit us will be even better!

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

The hostel room was a bit smelly frm the bathroom. One of the staff enetered the room without knocking to let onr of the new girls in, last time i checked we ho for female only room for some privacy. But all in all , staff is friendly and helpful even the ones who dont speak english and the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hend L
Hostel E, Director de Recepción at Hostel 1110, responded to this review

Thank you for your time! We are working in all our areas now, so next time you come to San José take a look at the hostel. Its beautiful! Staff is always trying to make you feel comfortable and safe. So sorry about the incident with the guy who didnt knock we will talk to him. Thank you!

Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

Nicely located a 10 min stroll from downtown San Jose. Great, helpful staff and good breakfast. Also really nice that they prepared our breakfast even though we left at 6 am and breakfast starts at 7. Dorm is noisy I would say. Take a room not adjacent to the busy roadside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IvoSturm
Hostel E, Director General at Hostel 1110, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review us! We are doing our best everyday to make you feel at home. We are remodeling all our areas so it will look even better that it was last time. Thank you!

Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

'Cheap' is the best word describing this hostel. We had a private room , bed was nearly standing and there was an awful smell of some toilet chemicals. But the staff was very friendly. Location was good for us, as we needed to be close to Tracopa bus station, but it didn't seem to be safe around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anastazja S
Hostel E, Director General at Hostel 1110, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! They help us grow! We are remodeling all our areas, beds, rooms, common areas. We are located one block away from the touristic police department so I can tell you that the hostel area is more than safe. Hopefully you can visit us next time so you can see the changes. Pura vida!

Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

I had plans to stay at another hostel but after not being able to get in because the security gate was locked my taxi driver recommend this place. The staff was very nice and took me in late at night. My room was adorable! I loved how the hostel was decorated. The room was really clean, my bed was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NAlmuti
Hostel E, Director General at Hostel 1110, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We love to hear you had such a wonderful experience. It makes us feel we are on the right path. We are doing more remodeling here so next time you visit us you will see it even more lovely. Thank you so much!

Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I came in late last night on the Tica Bus. We booked a room at hostel shakti but because we came in so late they wouldn't let us in. The cab driver recommend Hostel 1110. They took us in at 11:30pm and they were so nice! we stayed in room 4. The room was adorable! Very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex G
Hostel E, Director General at Hostel 1110, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your time! We appreciate every single word of that comment. We are more than glad to know about your experience. We are doing more changes here so next time you visit us you´ll notice we continue working for our guests! Thank you!

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.5 km away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 80 in San Jose
260 reviews
0.7 km away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#24 of 80 in San Jose
337 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Yoses Hostel
Casa Yoses Hostel
#16 of 80 in San Jose
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hostel Shakti
Hostel Shakti
#55 of 80 in San Jose
36 reviews
2.1 km away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#6 of 80 in San Jose
203 reviews
2.0 km away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#4 of 80 in San Jose
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are a looking for a beautiful hostel, at a great price, in a safe area and in a wonderful environment during your San Jose visit, look no further and do not hesitate to contact us.This recently renovated colonial style house, once home to a Costa Rican ex-president, is ideally located on the downtown from where you may take a bus, or train, and easily access any part of the country you may wish to visit. Once here you will find yourself at only a ten minute walk or a 5 minutes cab ride from the most historic and culturally rich parts of town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel 1110

Address: Avenida 14 calle 11, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $15 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel 1110 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel 1110 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel 1110 staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Quito, Ecuador

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel 1110 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“every room is good.”
BrittB153, 24 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Don't take the room facing the street. We didn't sleep a wink.”
LinSmtih, 21 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main building, and preferably one that is not facing the street.”
MarteMy, 7 Mar 2012 | Read review
“try not to stay in the buidling accross the street from the hostel. It has a very dirt bathroom and you have to go across the street for anything.”
erikaavellaneda, 21 Nov 2011 | Read review
“Don't bother unless u want to be ripped off and disappointed”
ShirinK, 21 Aug 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 28* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 29
PricelineUSD 29
Expedia.comUSD 28
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates