We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Chosa del Manglar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Chosa del Manglar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Chosa del Manglar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 41: English reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We have been visiting Costa Rica for 6 years now and found this little gem last year. We have stayed there twice (this year included). La Chosa del Manglar is an ideal stopping point for the Osa peninsula. It is a good location for moving about. It is well located in the town, not too central, making it a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
Chosadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

I am so happy you have returned two years running and we look forward to having you return whenever you wish. Nuestra Chosa es Su Chosa. Muchas gracias de Familia Gray Ortega and the while gang at la Chosa.

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

This place is absolutely incredible! Never have I felt more excited to share about an experience. The property of La Chosa is rich in beauty, with exotic flora and fauna everywhere you look and a team of people working hard to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. We have had the pleasure of interacting with a spunky spider monkey, white...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
Chosadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

It's always nice to read that other people can feel the same way about La Chosa as we do. Thanks for visiting. Pura Vida!

Odenton, Maryland
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

A group of about 23 of us rented out this place for a friends Group Honeymoon! It was the perfect place!! They have lots of space, friendly staff, clean private rooms, great proximity to the beach and lots of activities that you can book. The scenery was beautiful and we draw lots of animals on the property: 2 different types...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellimarie31
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Cabinas on large place, a lot of trees arrond, birds, friendly owner. Perfect kitchen equipment, you can prepair everything you want. Good place for start trips on peninsula Osa. Its not low cost, but its very nice and comfortable accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pavel O
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here and saw a lot of wildlife in the beautiful garden: carrots, little crocodile and racoons! We were welcomed by the nice and funny owner and the nice staff. The beds are good. Definitely worth the money and time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lars G
Miratejo
Reviewed 4 August 2015

The place was a good intro for the Corcovado park tour since it's completely surrounded by nature. The room was confortable, with ac. Forget about the wi fi since it's only available in the lobby. As you are in the middle of the forest don't be surprised with Mosquitos.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank invocator
Chosadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you liked the gardens and surroundings. We are working on the Internet problem, which in reality is more than one problem. Looks like we need to reinstall and reconfigure everything. We have requested a visit from a IE hopefully arriving sometime in August. That's one of the problems of being located at end of...

Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Our stay at La Chosa del Manglar turned out to be a complete nightmare! During our stay the night guard broke into our cabin several times. As a reaction to this theft we got insulted, treated very aggressively and accused of being frauds by the owners. I came to Puerto Jimenez to do fieldwork for my master thesis. Before arriving...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Gerjanne V
Chosadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

I am not going to dignify this diatribe by responding in a public manner to something that is presently under police investigation, other than to say that things are not always what others would have you believe. Fraudulent activity by guests and or employees is never appreciated and will be dealt with aggressively, so if you think you can do...

Grecia, Costa Rica
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We (two couples) from Zancudo thoroughly enjoyed our brief overnight stay at La Chosa del Manglar. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous throughout our stay. The rooms were most comfortable (air-conditioning provided which we appreciated) and evenings were nice and quiet being that we were situated in a particularly lovely area of the Osa Peninsula. Would go back to La...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Efreken
Chosadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

It's always nice to hear that our visitors enjoyed themselves. Visit us again

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 28 March 2015

I stayed here a week, which was 6 days too long. There're are birds, monkeys and iguanas to see. However the places a close to the airport road and gets a coating of dust from all the vehicles driving by. Wifi does not work in them rooms, but does work in the common area. The plumbing is not vented and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Randy S
Chosadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

Randy first of all let me say that i am truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. It's very unusual for one of our guests to spend an entire week at la Chosa and then later complain about their stay. I checked with both receptionists on duty and both state that they never received any complaints...

Reviewed 16 March 2015

We spent 10 wonderful days that La Choza Del Manglar. Having only spent time in tropical countries on resorts we were not too sure how we would find ourselves in the quiet rain forest of the OSA Peninsula. We were so surprised by our experiences there. It was truly a trip of a life time, we only wished we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary646464
Lachozadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

Wow we sure are getting some fantastic reviews this past month. What can we say but thanks for taking the time to write such an in depth review of La Chosa del Manglar. I am sure it will definitely help future guests be able to better plan a trip to the Osa and a visit to la Chosa. Come back...

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.9 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
307 reviews
1.9 km away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
180 reviews
19.4 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
29 reviews
3.0 km away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#3 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
425 reviews
0.3 km away
Cabinas Tropicales
Cabinas Tropicales
#3 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At "La Chosa del Manglar" (or "The Mangrove Hut" if you prefer the English version) you are GUARANTEED to see WILDLIFE. How certain are we? Well, have you ever sat in a Tropical Lounge and seen a Scarlet Macaw, a Monkey or a Kinkajou? You will at "La Chosa". Many guests have said they see more wildlife at "La Chosa del Manglar" than at any other location during their Costa Rica vacation. We just reopened in February of 2014 after being closed for the best part of the last five years. We built some new rooms during that time which we are sure will now offer our guests greater variety and comfort while visiting La Chosa. Come and stay with us, whether for just a few days or a few weeks. We are only a five minute walk to downtown Puerto Jimenez and only 300 meters from one of the nicest beaches here. Gentle waves will lull you on our beautiful chocolate sand beaches, cavorting Scarlet Macaws (Lapas) will fly and play throughout the gardens of "La Chosa". This is truly a birders paradise. You don't even have to leave your room or cabin to see these impressive Macaws and the many other varieties of exotic birds that visit here. Don't forget to spend some time in the lounge, decorated with beautiful hand painted murals that showcase the "Intimate & World Famous" Monkey Bar. The bar is yours to work as you please during your visit. It has been converted to a communal bar. We offer WIFI so bring your laptops, smartphones or tablets if you want or need to hook up. La Chosa now offers a funky beach hut on 13 acres with 150 meters of beach frontage with secluded sun bathing areas; a beautiful 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom tropical home in Puerto Jimenez & finally a secluded "Mountain Cabin" in the interior of the OSA overlooking Corcovado National Park for the truly adventurous. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Chosa del Manglar

Address: | 150 meters west of the Airfield, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: $39 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Chosa del Manglar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Chosa del Manglar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chosa Del Manglar Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Chosa del Manglar staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from La Chosa del Manglar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with AC.”
 of 5 bubbles todd54220, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Wi-Fi reaches the dorms & room closest to the restaurant.”
  • The bathrooms are spotless & have hot water.
  • Rooms are very comfortable with AC & are well thought out.
 of 5 bubbles DIYWorldTravel, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have 4 or 5 people, rent out the top and bottom of the Palapa Hut for the best experience.”
 of 5 bubbles sayshar2016, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Definitely get a room with A/C! Puerto Jimenez is hot and humid and very buggy!”
 of 5 bubbles P8485EHjessicag, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is the original house which is available for rent with amazing rooms, great lounge and rooftop terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles shaunh640, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5