We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mandarina

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Mandarina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mandarina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Zollbrück
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this place! I did not have a reservation and tghey were very accomodating ! The staff was very helpful. They told me how to get around, told me about all the local spots to check and give me all kinds of tips that truly made my vacation perfect ! They arrange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Armand R
Austin, TX
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I found this place to be very charming, conviniently located (close to the beach, restaurants, bars, bank, bus stop) The rooms were very clean, the breakfast very tasty and the staff very helpful ! I did not find any of the issues that other people mentioned here ! I would recommend this place to all my friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
tangerineTangerine, Manager at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review

Thanks Robert for the nice review...Looking forward to see you again !!!!!!!!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 January 2013

No water over New Year's Eve, then no hot water. Years ago it might have been a nice place but the lack of maintenance, lack of up-keep, mold in rooms, loss of water for complex, then loss of hot water for some rooms as well as lack of food/drink availability (except for breakfast) made the stay Manuel Antonio very unpleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review

We are truly sorry for you and your friend's lousy stay at Hotel Mandarina. All I can say is that we have a new manager, Lorena, with years of hotel experience, running Hotel Mandarina. She has done a great job cleaning up the grounds and fixing the problems since starting in January. Thank You, Gary A. Wexler

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The location is good. It's an easy walk to the grocery store and lots of restaurants. The walk down to the beach is pleasant, especially since I saw a group of monkeys playing. The view from the terrace at the back is great - some reviewers have seen monkeys playing there. Not me, but I'm sure it would be amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stevestevesteve_11
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Pros - Good location, nice breakfast, friendly staff Cons - Tiny rooms, mouldy smell, wifi only reaches first few rooms. This hotel is in need of basic maintenance. We had a "Studio Room" which was probably the smallest room of any kind I had stayed in. The room had a strong smell of mould which abated somewhat once the air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was our first trip to Coata Rica and this hotel was the worst part of the trip. We were here for New Year's Eve 2012. The rooms had mould on the walls an smelled like it. We had no tv and the they didn't have the key to operate the safe. When we spoke to the staff about it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeZee1786
Burford
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We went to hotel Mandarina as a male-female couple, one partner was Costa Rican, in July for 4 days. Very strange room, no privacy for toilet / bathroom and room very cramped. Towels not changed regularly and a dead animal left outside rotting and creating terrible stench until we informed the staff and eventually they removed it. Air conditioning unit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter C
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review

Hello Peter, I'm sorry you found your room too small. If you had discussed this with reception, perhaps they could have moved you to a larger room, being that this was July and is usually slow. As far as not changing towels regularly.... all you have to do is ask. I don't know what you mean by regularly... once a...

New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We have stayed here twice now, once in 2005 when it was Hotel Kekoldi, and then again last week (2012) now that it is La Mandarina. This is a great value for the money. The rooms are clean and decent, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the free breakfast is superb. However, there are some caveats. There are lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur R
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review

Hola Arthur! Thank You for your kind review and compliments about our breakfast! The cook will be happy to hear that! Not all our rooms have open-air showers. Remember to ask about availability, if you do not want this feature. Pura Vida! —Gary A. Wexler

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Recently stayed at the Mandarina Hotel and I definitely recommend it. It is about a 25 minute walk to the beach and national park, but a very quick bus stop away. Just across the street are beautiful views of the ocean. You really are in the best spot for eating and getting anywhere. My only complaint was that the "credit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert S
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review

Dear RSWendiman, Thank you for your kind review. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Costa Rica. Don't know what was going on with the credit card machine, but we get many guests who pay with credit card. I will ask. Thank You and Pura Vida! Gary A. Wexler

Langley City, Canada
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife and I went to Costa Rica with another couple. We spend our 2nd week of our trip at the Hotel Mandarina. We had come from a week of hikes, zip lines and rappelling and it was time to relax and hope to see some wild life. We arrived in the late afternoon and tossed our bags in our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert D
Management response:

Hola Robert! Thank You for your kind review. It appears you stayed in Standard room D which has a king size bed. I apologize for the tight bathroom! Most of our bathrooms are more accommodating!!! If there were other rooms available, we would have upgraded you. I hope you found the room comfortable otherwise. If you come back again, we...

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
538 reviews
1.9 km away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
350 reviews
2.3 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
285 reviews
2.0 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
896 reviews
0.0 km away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Mandarina is a small boutique hotel. It has a history in Manuel Antonio since the early 1990s. It has previously been known as Hotel El Dorado Mojado and Hotel Kekoldi. In 2007, the 12 unit hotel has been given the new name Hotel Mandarina. Mandarina is known as a small orange, like a tangerine, in Costa Rica. Hotel Mandarina is located in Manuel Antonio, just outside the small Pacific coast port town of Quepos. We are at the highest elevation on the main road about halfway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. If you choose to drive, you can park your rental car in our secure lot behind the reception building. Manuel Antonio is only 3 1/2 hours by car or bus from San Jose, so long as you take the shortest route. Faster yet is a 20 minute plane ride from San Jose on Nature Air or Sansa Airlines. Quepos and Manuel Antonio are fairly easy to navigate since there are only a few main roads. We are just 3 km away from some of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica with the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park at the end of the main road. A twenty minute walk down the secondary road from the hotel will bring you to a secluded beach. The local bus stops 50 yards from the hotel and brings you to the main beach or Manuel Antonio National Park in 5 minutes. There are several restaurants and cafes within walking distance as well as services like supermarket, bank/ATM, bars, yoga/spa, gym, and souvenir stores among others. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mandarina

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio kilometer 4 | across the street from Agua Azul Restaurant, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range: $80 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mandarina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mandarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarina Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mandarina staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Vancouver, Canada

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mandarina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask if you need anything. Market across the street along with a pharmacy and bank. Shower could have fit a family of four. Bed was comfy and got the hang of the air conditioner so as not to freeze ourselves. Lots of counter space to set your stuff on and outlets to recharge camera and computers. A frig and safe were provided and a closet with hangers. Lovely.”
L2958ITstephaniem, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are at good location. ”
217kevinv, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room G was the best. Avoid the standard rooms!”
879robertp879, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had the 'apartment' right next to the office.”
watfordSouthlake_Tx, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on one of the top levels”
tbrown9541, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5