We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Playa Espadilla

Save
Traveller (245)
Room & Suite (58)
Pool & Beach (56)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good46%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“national park”(62 reviews)
“great location”(30 reviews)
“public beach”(17 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Playa Espadilla
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
66
89
22
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
66
89
22
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkgreat locationpublic beachnice hoteltwo blocksrooms are averagerestaurants and shopscosta ricaan in room safeshort walknature traillarger poolhowler monkeysair conditioninghappy hourthe main hotelthe main road
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

This was the last section of our visit to Costa Rica and what a way to end it. The location is great with it being so close to the beach, national park and super markets. The restaurant is very high quality and the service through...More

1  Thank Shaun S
Response from Milena C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa EspadillaResponded 7 September 2017

Hello Shaun S Thanks you very much for your cometaries about Hotel Playa Espadilla. We feel proud to give services as the customer deserves. Specially if its the end of your vacation, to get the best impression of our beautiful country. Best regards, Hotel Playa...More

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We had 4 nights here. Air conditioning was very good. We had a plate of fruit in our room on arrival. Our room safe wouldn't lock and maintenance changed the lock very quickly. Toiletries were a good quality and our room was spotless. We had...More

1  Thank Linda H
Response from Milena C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa EspadillaResponded 8 September 2017

Hello Linda H. First I want to thank you for the excellent review and punctuation. Your words describe describe our purpose for our esteemed customers: "spend an unforgettable holiday with the best attention" It is very exciting to read opinions as yours that inspire us...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017

We had a nice size room at the hotel, and slept comfortably there. There is a basic kitchenette, with small fridge, hot plate and sink. The site is always well staffed with friendly Costa Ricans, and surrounded by nature - we were able to see...More

4  Thank Mom_fr_NB
Response from Milena C, Director General at Hotel Playa EspadillaResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guest, We appreciate much your review.Hotel Espadilla Staff is satisfied you enjoyed our services and happy you admire all of our wildlife! Pura vida!

Reviewed 29 April 2017

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The hotel is very clean, and beautifully landscaped. Our room was spacious. The restaurant was very nice -free breakfast that included made to order items. This hotel is few minutes from the Manuel Antonio national park...More

2  Thank Sowmya P
Response from Milena C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa EspadillaResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guest Sowmya P I am very grateful for your comment.I hope you can come back very soon. All the best, Milena

Reviewed 25 April 2017

We have mixed feelings about this place. We were given room 24 which was awful. Dingy, with the generator outside- no storage, no bedside lights, ants and a crappy shower. We complained and got moved upstairs to a MUCH nicer room (26). The pool is...More

1  Thank Brightonellie
Response from Milena C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa EspadillaResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Brightonellie, I remember your case perfectly. I took care of it on time in all your requests for change of room, cleaning and others. I also explained very clearly that after the maid clean the room please do not leave crumbs because as we...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
See all 47 hotels in Manuel AntonioSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 164 - USD 202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 164 - USD 202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (245)
Room & Suite (58)
Pool & Beach (56)
Dining (30)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tuggie2
8 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Beth H | Reviewed this property |
Yes, I think so, its a longer walk though...maybe a couple of miles if you go by the road/streets. It might be shorter if you are able to cut through from the public beach but I don't know if that is possible. The public... More
1
Vote
GailHambon
29 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Milena C | Property representative |
Hello, Yes the Hotel is in a quiete area.
0
Votes
Melissa J
9 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Mark R |
There is no hot tub or jacuzzi here, but it's too hot and humid here in my opinion to want one. There is a jet in the pool on one side which is nice. The pool is nice and refreshing but the water is fairly warm, just cold... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Best to choose a room away from the bar and swimming pool area"
Read review
"First floor is cooler."
Read review
"We had a corner room that allowed for windows on two sides. Very spacious and bright!"
Read review
"I dont think there's a bad room in the house. depends on the view you want."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing