We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Posada Jaco

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Posada Jaco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Posada Jaco
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 4 December 2014

I was here with my husband and 2 children (ages 3 and 4). The location was great in that it was in downtown, walking distance to everything. It was clean enough and the staff (hi Gary!) speaks perfect english and was a wonderful host. And it was very affordably priced. But for me, that's about where it ends. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole G
robbo2804, Manager at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. First up I would like to say that the hotel you stayed in was NOT the Posada Jaco but the Maumar hotel which is located next door to the posada Jaco. In response to your comments; 1. It is the wet season and if you leave the doors or windows open you will get Mosquitos....

Lakefield, Canada
Reviewed 27 November 2014

The location is perfect for beach restaurants and entertainment. The hotel is clean and staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. There is excellent value for the price. The owner speaks perfect English which was a plus for me. The pool was always clean and well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fraser H
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We really enjoyed your company with us and let you know you are welcome back any time. Moe said to say hello to you as well.

Daytona Beach
Reviewed 17 November 2014

We booked 10 days here sight unseen, having been to Jaco many other times and being familiar with the area. It backs up to the the river that bisects Jaco, and is a short block walk to the beach on a paved road. Our first pleasant surprise was the owner, Margaret, an Aussie who is very gracious and helpful. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulDaytona
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope you can visit again in the future

San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 26 October 2014

A year ago we visited the first time..great price, room large and clean, refri, TV, Wi-Fi all great! Had a suite 2nd floor. Return this Oct on a holiday weekend and took the last room on the 1st floor next to the pool. OMG. Boisterous guests in the pool drinking til late...and starting again at 7AM. Normally tranquil...but don't take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John G
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Was great to see you come back and visit us again. So sorry about the other guests making a noise late at night and we have taken steps to ensure this does not happen again in the future. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future Regards Rob

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I happened to be in Jaco when Costa Rica played in the World Cup and that was a fun time to be there. I watched games at the local restaurants and had a merry time watching the ticos celebrate there win. After they won a game, the streets filled up with cars and an impromtu parade broke out.... About the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mcanning2014
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I to enjoyed our chats together and am so pleased you had a great time whilst staying with us. You are welcome back anytime. Regards Rob

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We paid about $70 a night so we were a little worried about spending it at first, but if you have some money then it's worth it. There's a bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen/living area with a couch, cooking area, tv and a little table to eat at. Breakfast isn't included but you can make you own on the skillet or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth R
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. We try to make everyone's visit with us enjoyable and are really pleased you were not disappointed with your stay with us. We hope if you are ever back in Jaco to come back and visit us. Regards Rob

New York City, New York
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for over a week during our recent trip. It was truly a home away from home. Margaret and Rob (and Mau, the friendliest yellow lab) are wonderful hosts. The apartment had everything we needed (fully equipped kitchen, clean bathroom, closet space, tv, a/c, etc.), so when we got tired of eating out all the time, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regina P
New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at Posada Jaco for 9 days in May 2014, just at the start of the wet season. It was really an ideal spot for many reasons. One: it is centrally located in the town and is a few minutes' walk to most restaurants, shops, and surfing companies. Two: it is about 2000 meters from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Your comments are greatly appreciated and reinforce the policies we have to make sure guests enjoy there stay with us. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards Rob

La Virgen, Costa Rica
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here on May 20th, 2014 after finding the listing on tripadvisor. I called to confirm availability and price and arrived the next day. The room was spacious with beds for 6 people and included AC, Fridge and TV. Located right in the center of Jaco and 1 minute walk to the beach. The bathroom was snug and not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We try to keep all rooms as clean as possible and have taken notice of your comment regarding bathroom and will endeavor to make sure this is not a problem in the future. Regards Rob

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent 5 days there and the room was large, clean and comfortable. I was able to walk to everything but still was far enough away from all of the noise and crowds. Perfect location. So close to the beach that I could easily go for a swim/playtime when I first woke up and at the end of the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
412 reviews
2.0 km away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.8 km away
No photo provided
Blue Palm Hotel
#35 of 44 in Jaco
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
0.3 km away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#27 of 44 in Jaco
53 reviews
0.2 km away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 44 in Jaco
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Jaco. Beach and ocean views. Walk to restaurants and bars. Swimming pool with swim up bar. All rooms come with kitchenettes. 24 hour security. Very quiet and private. Able to offer tours and special packages. Owner operated and run. 60 meters to the beach. Personalized service and friendly advice to make your stay memorable is guaranteed. 24 hour reception for convenience of guests in booking in or out. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Posada Jaco

Address: Calle PJs, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Price Range: $109 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Jaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Posada Jaco staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Rochester, New York, USA
6 months ago
New York
6 months ago
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Boise, Idaho

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Posada Jaco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room on the far end of the top floor is one of the most spacious rooms”
 of 5 bubbles N5780JJlauraa, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“We were in room #2, I'd skip it.”
 of 5 bubbles nicoleg479, 3 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Upstairs seemed quieter and ours had cross-ventilation.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulDaytona, 17 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Second floor...or away from the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles L4345NCjohng, 25 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Enjoyed the suite rather than just a hotel room - felt very spacious and provided some additional comfort”
 of 5 bubbles joec33, 30 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5