We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Escape Caribeno

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Escape Caribeno
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Escape Caribeno
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Loved the place - hot water, clean, cute little bungalows, mosquito net just in case, air conditioning (you really only need it for a few hours, the temperture drops at night so you have to shut it off before going to sleep). Breakfast is available in morning and the coffee is good. Cool little bird feeding station in the garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegridrunner
Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable. And sealed so that it was mosquito free ! I concur with the other five star reviews but would like to add that they are very accommodating with special requests and very helpful overall. The front desk took care of some more complicated local travel concerns that came up. One thing I got a kick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobhoffnar
gloriagavioli, Propietario at Hotel Escape Caribeno, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your opinion, we are pleased you liked your stay in our Hotel and we hope that you will come back very soon! Best wishes, Gloria Gavioli

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the bungalows by the beach for 5 days and totally loved it. We felt very comfortable and the owner Gloria and her husband made us feel very welcomed. The place is in absolutely perfect location: close to town and all the restaurants yet close to the beach, private and quiet. The interior of the bungalow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saram3004
gloriagavioli, Propietario at Hotel Escape Caribeno, responded to this review

Dear Irina, Thank you very much for you kind words, we have been pleased to have you in our Hotel and we are very happy that you liked so much your stay with us! We hope to have you soon as a guest. Best wishes, Gloria Gavioli

Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

I had a a garden villa but it was attached. So unfortunately if I had somebody next door it always sounded like they were talking through a fog horn! It was so quiet when the next room was empty! Very basic but least it had a fridge, a television and a nice bathroom. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annie p
gloriagavioli, Propietario at Hotel Escape Caribeno, responded to this review

Dear Annie, I am really sorry you find such a bad rainy days here in Puerto Viejo but as we are in the Caribbean Cost this is normal and, thanks to this kind of climate, you could enjoy the beautiful vegetation you were surrounded by. The best season to come is around September and October, because normally days are really...

Howards Grove, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The cabanas/rooms are simply furnished but large! Our room had 3 twin beds, a shelving unit to unpack clothes on to, air conditioning and a TV. The beds are only made with light sheets, but more then that is not needed in this tropical paradise. We stayed on the sea side rather than across the street on the garden side....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Agree upon a price and pay something incredibly different upon checkout. The funny story is we asked to pay when we were checking in but they insisted it was okay and that we check out tomorrow. They knew what they were doing, well played. Save the cash (probably 50% cheaper at any of the neighbouring places) and the trouble and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ryan F
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We were told it was $95 total for 2 cabins (47 each) with 3 beds each. We stayed in 1 cabin and bunked up to save money. At checkout we were charged $135 for the one cabin because she said that now there was a per person charge and they charged extra because apparently the cabin was considered "ocean view"...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan R
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

So we paid extra for an ocean view room. That was a bit of a joke. No ocean view at all. But, on the plus side, there actually was adequate air conditioning in the room. You just have to turn it on via the remote and wait awhile. It is right in town so you can walk to restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WorldTraveler1231
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We had been on a tour of Costa Rica and stayed in a variety of places in Quepos, Monteverde, La Fortuna and Tortuguero. Escape Caribeno was one of the best. Comfortable and clean in beautiful private garden setting. I would have given them a 5 star rating anyway but the owner Gloria and her husband were absolutely brilliant. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
gloriagavioli, Propietario at Hotel Escape Caribeno, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Mike, mil gracias para sus palabras tan cariñosas, estamos muy felices de haber podido ayudar, haber contribuido a recuperar...

Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Loved staying here, perfect place to relax in Puerto Viejo! Hammocks and seating areas outside for every room and we even saw a sloth in the tree next to our room on the last morning! Had breakfast at a bakery down the road which was cheap and really tasty and the hotel was conveniently placed just outside of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,380 reviews
1.3 km away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
983 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
646 reviews
2.4 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel ESCAPE CARIBENO, with fourteen comfortable bungalows, is located in the small caribbean village of Puerto Viejo (Limon, Costa Rica). The hotel is 7 minutes from the "Pueblo," in front of the famous Salsa Brava beach. In the coral reef, next to our hotel, there are different natural pools where it's possible to swim around, do snorkeling and places for the lovers of the mountain bike. Escape while there is time, escape to ESCAPE CARIBENO. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Escape Caribeno

Address: Avenida 71 | Frente la Veterinaria Arroyo y Solano, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $155 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Escape Caribeno Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Escape Caribeno Costa Rica/Limon
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Escape Caribeno staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Escape Caribeno staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a villa that is not attached”
 of 5 bubbles 435anniep, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Depends what you want. The new bungalows look nice but there are more of them whereas the cabins feel more peacful and private.”
 of 5 bubbles MFOS, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We were on the beach side. Mild traffic & ocean sounds. On the other side of road, it was quieter.”
  • As we entered our little bungalow in paradise!
 of 5 bubbles JosephineC152, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Every room/bungalow is about the same”
 of 5 bubbles WingW_13, 30 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Beachside Bungalows are definitely recommended”
 of 5 bubbles IronBLK, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5