We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses

Hostelworld.comUSD 28*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 33*
USD 28*
Great Deal
USD 33*
USD 33*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This place is a bit weird, we stayed in a private room which was very basic with a fan that looked like it was from a toy shop. However the balcony area immediately outside our room was nice, sheltered with hammocks and chairs. The bloke with the dredds was really nice, the woman who seems to be in charge was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uberteeb
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

I was here in December and I was the only one in the hostel except for the 2 young folks working here and some guy who was a friend of them who worked in the neighboring place. The place was dirty (lots of cockroaches), The sink was full of dishes and when I was gone for an hour someone ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sander v
puntauvabeach, Receptionist at Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses, responded to this review

Hello my freind So sad to hear about your experience. By the time you were here the owner was in San Jose so she couldn´t take care of details like the ones you mention, unfortunately those volunteers didn´t follow instructions as they should. Now the owner and a new receptionist are here to take care of all those situations and...

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The hostel's backyard is the jungle. When you arrive in Puerto Viejo, you'll need to take an approx. 15 minute taxi ride to the beach Punta Uva - $6. What's great is the 1 minute walk to a spectacular beach and there was barely anyone there. You'll need to cook your own food - very limited restaurants. Staff was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan E
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a party hostel when travelling this is not it! The hostel is roughly 8km away from puerto viejo itself so you can either rent the bikes at the hostel, walk, hitch hike (very friendly locals) taxi or local bus. The staff are amazing, laid back and very helpful. The hostel is in amongst the beginning of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophia S
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Wow is all I can say. A jungle bungalow compound located three minutes walking to the Playa Uva and the Caribbean sea. Highly recommended for quiet, peaceful, natural. Puerto Viejo is about 15min away ($10 or 5mil colones.)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristophersREGlobal
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Just beautiful!!! Cheap, clean, jungle, beach pristine water ocean, nice staff very kind and informative!!! Totally recmmended! Bikes for free to shop at supermarket, laptop with the best movies and a very big tv to watch them, wi-fi, equipped huge kitchen and BBQ area, board games, trade books, and more!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sjef M
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

The Hostel is a very nice place to go,very clean,close to the beach and a very nice place to stay! I enjoy a lot my stay. Is in the most nicer beach I have seen and a exotic close rainforest. Everything is so close, you have very close delicious restaurants. I recomend the place!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiorella R
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 28 April 2016

I was really excited to come here because I love open air hostels and don't care much for luxury stays. My stay began with me leaving my wallet and passport on the bus...so a really nice older man (can't remember his name) who kinda works there/maybe co-owns it(?) drove me to chase down the bus in his car so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lastinger2129
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Walaba is a great place away from the city. As soon as I saw the place, my energy changed. I felt relaxed and comfortable, eventhough is in the middle of the jungle. I could hear all kind of birds in the morning, the monkeys at dawn. The beach is only 2 minutes away from the hostel. If you love nature...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 333natalia
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Our stay here was a nightmare. We booked a beach house after looking at the website, and seeing all of the amenities listed. It sounded like an amazing place to stay... we were wrong. There was no electricity or running water. The landlord or whatever you call her was super rude and acted like a child. We left the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 417ml392
WalabaHostel, Manager at Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses, responded to this review

You know Danielle (look at my eyes) that you all screw it up!!! 1st: Tons of messages asking for better pricing and never the downpayment of the 50% eventhough we where very patient and we fixed a better pricing. 2nd: You get here with two more so hipocrite thanking and thanking for being so kind! 3rd. We had so many...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.0 km away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
111 reviews
0.0 km away
Rocking J's
Rocking J's
#45 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
457 reviews
0.0 km away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#67 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Selina
Selina
#47 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
6 reviews
0.0 km away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#18 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
54 reviews
0.0 km away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#30 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Walaba is a charming property located between the jungle and the beach in the South Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. Our houses Caribbean style, are perfect for people who enjoy the tranquility of nature and love life. Our regular visitors in the area include monkeys, sloths, hummingbirds, toucans and many other species of birds, frogs, lizards along with other critters and creatures that mother nature has offered Costa Rica. We are located 5km from down town Puerto Viejo on your way to Manzanillo. There are buses during the day that will drop you off directly outside the hostel or you can get a taxi from Puerto Viejo. Punta Uva is quite and relaxed with restaurants, markets and bars with a local touch. Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses is a short 2 minute walk from Punta Uva beach; one of the most beautiful and well known beaches in Costa Rica and the world. Playa Punta Uva is surrounded by exotic vegetation and wildlife with pristine crystal blue waters. Protected by a rock cave it’s a perfect beach to swim, snorkel/dive, kayak or just relax and enjoy a book or the company of old and new friends. For those travellers who may want to veer from the typical budget hostel or party environment and feel the real magic of the Caribbean Coast, our multi lingual staff can guide you in any direction you want to travel. We offer: Free Wifi, kitchen, beds with mosquito nets, hot water showers, dining room & hammocks, open air terrace and BBQ, parking, bicycle and snorkel rental, tour desk and shuttle service all set in a Tropical Rainforest Garden. "Walaba Hostel – Your Caribbean Vibe Mixed With The Costa Rican Pura Vida." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses

Address: Punta Uva | Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 1451-2050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $36 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses Costa Rica/Limon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cualquiera que elijas tiene su propio carcter y linda vista a la selva y los jardines preciosos.”
sjefm2016, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Don't go during rainy season”
lastinger2129, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in the private at the top floor!”
760lachlans, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Busy place in the season, so better book in advance! The best on Puerto Viejo Area!”
  • Walaba1
  • Walaba1
  • Walaba1
  • Walaba1
  • Walaba1
Mac_Filko, 12 May 2015 | Read review
“We didn't experience any annoyances from our neighbors.”
825natashac, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 28* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 33
Expedia.comUSD 33
Hotels.comUSD 33
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates