We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 143: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never written a negative review on Trip Advisor before and am not excited to do so now. But I had such a terrible experience with this hotel that I simply felt compelled to share my experience and also wanted to make sure other people were warned about this hotel's cancellation policy and complete disregard for helping customers in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John_Nantz
Chicago
Reviewed 1 week ago

Be forewarned, most rooms don't have a bathroom door!!! We could hear a couple a few rooms over getting their freak on, that's how paper thin the walls are. They are super cheap people. The hotel itself has so much potential to be amazing, it's just in the wring hands.The receptionist attitude is horrible and the owner's is even worst!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gmsr86
zoesandy, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo, responded to this review

Hello, This person n came in our hotel! She(it) had a reservation sent and wanted anule (because his(her) friends left tamarindo and this sir wanted to do the same but without frait d anulation, in the full Holy Week, we have refuse (according to condition of l hotel and sent) this person was horribly dishonest with our receptioniste and we...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel was perfect for my stay in Tamarindo. It is located right on the beach and is walking distance from the mainstream where all the shops, bars, and souvenir shops are located. I was greeted by Patricia who was quite a delight. She knew I was traveling alone and immediately offered me insight on activities I could join that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gregory M
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Don't let the missing fancy luxuries fool you; THIS is the place to be. Great staff. Amazing French bakery. Views to die for. Minutes from the centre far enough away from the maddening crowds but a 6-7 minute walk to the centre of the action). The real deal. The real experience. If buffets and non-stop party crowds are your thing,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marygallant2014
Brantford, Canada
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We used Tamarindo as our stop on the day of our flight in and the night before our flight out of Costa Rica due to the proximity to Liberia. Our stay here was perfect - no need to get into a car, with a relaxing garden, the beach right there and a variety of stores and restaurants nearby. Rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara L
Calgary
Reviewed 25 February 2017

First off, Tamarindo is kind of a touristy place, so don't expect your hotel dollars to go as far as elsewhere in Costa Rica. Although not perfect, I thought it was pretty good value. Some random points: The room: I actually thought it was very clean despite what some other reviews have stated. No roaches although lots of mosquitoes. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryCanuck
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is nothing fancy, but the location is fantastic! Just a short walk from town and right on the beach - doesn't get much better than that! We rolled in early and the gal at the front was as friendly and accommodating as one could want. We dropped off our bags and walked out the back to the beach....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 303Shan
Suttons Bay, MI
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The exterior of this hotel really doesn't do it justice. However, once you walk down the little stairwell to the front desk, we were pleasantly pleased. Trisha was very friendly and thorough even letting us see the available room before booking. We had a basic, but comfortable room with sliding glass door that walked right out to the courtyard complete...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whatyouremissing
tyler, tx
Reviewed 12 January 2017

we had a few problems 1. got quoted the wrong rate, so they asked us to pay more. we did not because other issues irritated us, so it was awkward. 2. they sold new years eve party tickets for $65 person and had a small party and very loud DJ present until 2am so we were essentially unable to use...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dlltyler
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 8 January 2017

I have stayed here twice, last time I was solo 3 years ago, and now this time with my wife. The room was fine, though the AC unit made a lot of noise, as did another one on outside of wall. But the issue here was the new bar downstairs, place music non stop, and we had a balcony sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MotoSurf
zoesandy, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo, responded to this review

We are really sorry that your stay is not pass as you wanted him, but for the noise, we are not responsible, c was the festival of the music has tamarindo.salutation sandy

319 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (196)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Junior Suite (Twin Beds) (36)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Studio (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
1.4 km away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#12 of 21 in Tamarindo
104 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
1.1 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
2,401 reviews
0.6 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
2.2 km away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family and friendly hotel located on the beach. Tropical garden, with faun and flora. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Address: Calle Central 275, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range: $66 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the rooms that face the beach. They have doors in their bathrooms.”
Gmsr86, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Garden view and Beach view both look toward the beach.”
W6296YDgregorym, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“main floor, facing the beach”
Marygallant2014, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We liked room one, but the lock was tricky. It was nice having a room on the main floor as they walk right out to the beach.”
whatyouremissing, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are upstairs to the right once inside the hotel area. I think #10 and #11. They have amazing views with great private decks.”
KenW843, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5