We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tico Adventure Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tico Adventure Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tico Adventure Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 124: English reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Wonderful, beautiful, comfy hotel! The open air kitchen has fridge, freezer, blender, etc. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The surf shop they partner with was great!!!! (C&C surf) STAY HERE!!! it's a little bit of a walk to the beach, but not enough to matter. We LOVED it here!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Soparker
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The American owners are proud to have built Tico Adventure Lodge without cutting any trees. The place is charming and exotic. Our room was small with a cool balcony. The common kitchen is very basic and I would not count on it to really cook. Common fridge to share was a nice touch. At the reception, Anina was super helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jdesy
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our one week stay at the TAL was in the poolside bungalow. It was comfortable, clean, private and there were no concerns over security. The communal kitchen was open-air, clean and well stocked with everything we needed to prepare our meals. It was also a nice spot to visit with other guests over morning coffee. The swimming pool was truly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timfrancis
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We rented the one bedroom studio apartment for a week. It is a large sized, well furnished, bright, airy room, with an open balcony and easy access to town. Samara beach is in easy walking distance. The hotel landscape is lush and relaxing. The pool is terrific. Problems arose when the people above us were overly noisy and disruptive. Management...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gavin p
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 14 February 2013

To follow up the previous review this man returned us twothousand seven hundreds and eighty dollars of 3800 which we had forwarded to him. We had no signed contracts and only stayed there eight nights. We felt he was greedy and the advertisements for the place did not reflect what it lwas really like. We would not recommend this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ethel M
tripletoes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We paid $75 US for the apartment and for what we got it was a total rip off. Anywhere else in the area the same place would have been $30 - $40. They really oversell the place. The apartment above us were broken into while we were there, so there are still security issues. The grounds are pretty. But be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripletoes
Spokane, Washington, United States
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed one night at the Tico Adventure Lodge. The grounds were beautiful and our room was very nice with a nice balcony overlooking the garden. We didn't have any security issues while we were there like others have mentioned recently. Our only complaint was that it was pretty noisy and we had a hard time getting any sleep. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
italy
Reviewed 8 January 2013

One of the worst experience of my life as traveller. I was so happy to be there, the place is nice and the apartment as well, but the first morning I realized that someone stole my purse during the night. Keep an eye on!!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dariaindub
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dariaindub, All of our rooms have lock boxes that we recommend our guests use. We also insist that our guest lock their windows in the evening. We hope to keep TAL an open air and very natural hotel, with safety has our number one priority. Samara is a safe town and creating a secure environment for locals and tourists...

Padua, Italy
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We lived the worst experience of our travels. During the first night, "someone" broke the window and took ALL our stuff (passports, credit cards, camera, Ipod, money & much more) that were on top of the internal table. We were sleeping above the reception, with night guard in front of the only stairs to reach the apartment. Even if it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irnick
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Irnick, All of our rooms have lock boxes that we recommend our guests use. We also insist that our guest lock their windows in the evening. Our night guard patrols the property every hour on the hour. We do not lock the front gate as per our emergency evacuation procedures. Samara is a safe town and creating a secure...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed here in April and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was for the price. The rooms are cute, clean and comfortable and most have a little veranda with a hammock. There was a common-fridge in the hall to keep your drinks cold. There is a lovely little pool tucked into the back of the courtyard which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElleFlaneur

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.8 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
765 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
340 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Samara Beach
Hotel Samara Beach
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
100 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
199 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in a tropical oasis during your Samara Beach vacation. Our hotel opened in December 2004, away from the bustling main street, amongst a lush, green, jungle-style garden. Near the center of Samara, the Tico Adventure Lodge is just 120 meters (100 yards) from Playa Samara and a short walk to restaurants and services. Wake-up in your clean, comfortable room surrounded by the exotic sights. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tico Adventure Lodge

Address: 150 N 150 E Plaza Deportes, Playa Samara n/a, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Price Range: $67 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tico Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tico Adventure Hotel Playa Samara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tico Adventure Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tico Adventure Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor! Not ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles abalexanderboehm, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“The appartments left from the reception are the quitest. With children (or heavy luggage) I would choose for the groundfloor.”
 of 5 bubbles 915hesselb, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Pool side perfect for families.”
 of 5 bubbles lesab33, 27 Dec 2015 | Read review
“take the rooms upstairs and maybe get a visit from the monkeys”
 of 5 bubbles Pla-payoon, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Just check with the desk about the kind of room you are looking for and they'll accommodate you.”
 of 5 bubbles kathys507, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay