We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Indra Inn

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Indra Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Indra Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
California
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Stayed here in January. Chose Indra due to all of the great reviews on TA and also the cool vibe that was immediately apparent on their website. This place truly is made by travellers for travellers. The rooms are super nice, large, strong AC and secure. Bathroom had hot and cold water and was spacious. There's a table and chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catelefono
Matthew L, Owner at Indra Inn, responded to this review

We miss you guys. Thanks for staying and thanks for writing. We're stoked that you like the security and climate control of the rooms. It's hot here, so it's necessary to have a good working A/C. We're happy that you had fun at poker nights and enjoyed the music. It was such a pleasure to have you guys stay here...

Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewed 11 March 2016

This little gem of an inn has a great location near restaurants, the mini mercado, and a couple of surf shops. We're walkers (without a vehicle), and being on a paved road just a convenient 10-minute walk from the beach (and more restaurants!) was a blessing. The inn is beautifully maintained and tasteful, with serene atmosphere and a small table,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiMi L
Matthew L, Owner at Indra Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you kindly for taking your time to write us a review. It was a pleasure having such avid travelers and we are grateful we had the opportunity to meet and chat with you. We're glad the loved the place and we are looking forward to your return and hopefully by...

Woodbridge
Reviewed 8 March 2016

My wife and I stayed at Indra Inn for 3 weeks during February 2016. The hosts, Matthew and Natalia treated us like family. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The A/C was in good working order and the shower was great with plenty of hot water. Natalia prepared breakfast for us daily with good variety of friut, yogurt, eggs,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony C
Matthew L, Owner at Indra Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. After having you stay for 3 weeks, it felt just like having family. We're happy there was enough hot water and power in the A/C as it's such a hot, dry climate. Thank you for using the kitchen appliances and being so friendly with all the other guests that stayed here during your stay....

Johnson, Vermont
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Matthew, Natalia, and Donte were the perfect host! Comfortable rooms, quite street, short walk to the beautiful beach, restaurants, and surf shops. A/C, hot showers, hammocks, community kitchen. I traveled with my husband and our 9 y.o. daughter. The drive from Liberia was 1hr. We could not have asked for more, can't wait to go back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dsha802
Matthew L, Owner at Indra Inn, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure to have you guys stay with us. Thank you very much and thank you for writing a review. We're glad you made us of the community kitchen (delicious fish tacos) and hung out on the hammocks. Thanks so much and we can't wait for you to come back.

Stockholm
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

A very nice well located hotel with excellent management. Rooms are clean and very affordable for the standard, AC and fan functions very well. Breakfast included in the room and p provided with virtually anything like fixing activities, rental cars etc is awesome. Relaxed and cool place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank urbanemson
Matthew L, Owner at Indra Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for taking time to write a review. We'd glad that the A/C and fan are working up to standard as it's getting quite hot now. It was great to have you stay with us and we're looking forward to the next time we can offer you accommodation. Thank you.

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 25 February 2016

This place is wonderful! It has everything you need. Indra Inn has a very chilled vibe with awesome hammocks. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, all with air conditioning and in the morning you are greeted with an amazing breakfast served by the owners Matt & Natalia who are super friendly and very helpful. They also have a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susana G
Matthew L, Owner at Indra Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking time to write a review. We're stoked you liked the hammocks and enjoyed as many sunsets as possible. They are supernal. The chilled vibe is due to all the amazing travelers that come through Playa Grande and raise the vibrational level, so thank you. We can't wait to see you...

Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

This is our second time staying at the Indra inn. We got engaged while visiting and I wouldn't have had it any other way. We are so stoked on this place. We love it here and plan on visiting at least once a year! Thank you for having us , again Pura Vida !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
Matthew L, Owner at Indra Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us and thanks for writing this review. You guys were such a great time. We feel honored that you got engaged while you were here and we hope you do come back every year. Thanks again!

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We recently enjoyed three nights at the Indra Inn in Playa Grande. The hotel is perfectly located about 10 minutes from the beach in a sleepy little beach town. We loved the peaceful atmosphere and were so glad we didn't stay in Playa Tamarindo. Instead of hordes of tourists, we heard birds and howler monkeys outside our room. Matthew, Natalie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCThorne
Matthew L, Owner at Indra Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and thank you for staying with us. We're glad you liked the quieter atmosphere with howler monkeys and all types of birds versus the craziness of Tamarindo tourism. We're also happy to hear that you liked the breakfast. Costa Rican coffee is really amazing. Thank you again and are...

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Indra Inn is a lovely intimate space that has cozy rooms, a lovely breakfast with Matt and the other guests, and walking distance from the beach, other shops and restaurants in the area. Matt is really helpful with advice on where to go, how to get there, and helping with pickup from and to the airport. He is an all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Posterchildart
Matthew L, Owner at Indra Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We're happy that you found the refrigerator in the community kitchen helpful. We also are glad that you enjoyed the live performances and music that is sometimes organized here. It takes the whole community. Also, we happily organize any type...

Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

We booked two nights, ended up staying for six. It's a lovely place! Affordable and even though it's a 10 min walk from beach, we found it to be a good location in Playa Grande. It's family run and that's s big part of what makes this place so nice. Matt is very helpful with everything and Natalia supernice, she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
Matthew L, Owner at Indra Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and thanks so much for taking your time to write a review. We were sorry to see you leave after the 6th day. We're glad you liked breakfast and it is our pleasure to help take you to town to get groceries or go to the ATM. We're glad you had fun...

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 km away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
344 reviews
0.0 km away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
123 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#3 of 7 in Playa Grande
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#2 of 7 in Playa Grande
351 reviews
0.0 km away
La Marejada Hotel
La Marejada Hotel
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
162 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Indra Inn is a Playa Grande hotel with comfortable private rooms and spacious private bathrooms. Hospitality is our intention. We are walking distance to the beach, which has extremely consistent surf. We offer a full breakfast included in the price. The rooms have brand new feathertop mattresses, state of the art air conditioners, and great water pressure. The whole hotel has free Wi-Fi. There are a variety of tours including snorkeling or diving, supernal mountain hiking, and leatherback nesting tours. Come connect with the elements at Indra Inn! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Indra Inn

Address: Main Entrance Playa Grande, Playa Grande 1415, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Price Range: $78 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Indra Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Indra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Indra Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are great and similar. Large and clean.”
 of 5 bubbles catelefono, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed equally good. Although close to the road, plantings provide privacy, and there is no traffic after dark or before sunrise.”
 of 5 bubbles 225mimil, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“They are all similar.”
 of 5 bubbles TLAOrangeville, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms have a similar orientation and set up, so no need to panic about "only one room left" on booking.com. Your room will be as delightful as the others.”
 of 5 bubbles clintonhayest, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“The far one”
 of 5 bubbles rublz, 16 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay