We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,400: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We are currently at the resort. It's nice and lush. The view of the volcano is nice. The pool area is very nice, with a somewhat heated warm pool. We have seen several species of birds. I do think other places give you more value for your money, but if others are fully booked it's a good place. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hlraphael
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, im so sorry you were unhappy with your room and we had no other room to move you to. I did check out your room and agree we need to cut plants back. But the room has new hand painted bedspreads, mattress are 2 years old, and the room is identical to the rooms on the web site....

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I stayed here for 2 nights in February in the middle of my weeks holiday. The setting was spectacular, peaceful with first class views and I had a luxury suite with a balcony which I couldn't fault! Unfortunately, in my opinion there are areas which could improve. Firstly, the really loud music down by the pool/bar, is it really necessary?...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Car0lcat
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Car0lcat, For us it is an immense pleasure to have received you and to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Lost Iguana Resort. Your comments allow us to improve and learn to make things better day by day. We hope you come to visit us again in the future. Lost Iguana

Quicksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Very friendly staff, we had a great time, very relaxing. Service was great, room was kept clean and tidy. It was nice to be able to walk the trails and see the wildlife. Service in the restaurant was good, food was good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank david c
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear David, We thank you for sharing your comments about your experience at Lost Iguana. For us it is a pleasure to share with our guests the beautiful surroundings that circle the property with nature lovers like you. Your comments encourage us to continue working to offer unforgettable stays. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in...

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We returned to Lost Iguana Resort in early February for our seventh visit since 2006. It has long been our favourite rainforest escape, and we love it a little more with each visit. The resort is surrounded by jungle foliage and is a great spot for birdwatching and spotting wildlife including toucans and many colored birds. The volcano views from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5VacationLuvR7
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 5VacationLuvR7, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. It is a great pleasure to know that we are your favorite escape place and we agree with you the views of the volcano from the hotel are amazing, we are glad you enjoyed them too, comments from an experienced visitor encourage us a lot. We...

Laguna Beach, California
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Wonderful tropical hotel perched a little bit up the hill with great views. The rooms are divided in a few separate buildings and are very nice. We had a downstairs room with patio. The restaurant and pool area is really nice. Especially the swim up bar that can be viewed from the other (dry) side of the bar. Just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geam18
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Geam18, We want to thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and the service we provided, and we hope you come again in the future to enjoy from the great views of the volcano. Looking forward to have you visiting us, Lost Iguana

Babylon, New York
Reviewed 5 March 2017

spent three days here, food was excellent, service was great, excellent swim up bar and plenty of local attractions to tour. highly recommend for a couple or family. visited near by hanging bridges, hiked their own trail through the rainforest and did a kayak tour. we had the best view of the volcano

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdgoing
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear kdgoing, We appreciate you took the time to share your comments about your stay, your feedback help us to be better, we will take your comments into account to improve and offer perfect stays. We hope you choose us again, it will be a pleasure to serve you. Lost Iguana

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 March 2017

My buddy and I stayed 2 nights in Lost Iguana. The view outside our room was spectacular - we could see Arenal Volcano really clearly. The compound of Lost Iguana is a little hilly but the restaurant was fantastic (breakfast was great) and the rooms were very nice and clean. One downside is that the resort is kinda out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dnreddy00
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear dnreddy00, We really enjoy knowing you loved the stay at Lost Iguana. For us it is very important to offer perfect stays and we are happy that the volcano, which is very capricious, has been shown to fullness. Thank you for choosing us, we hope you come back to visit us. Lost Iguana

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 March 2017

My family of 6 with 4 boys ages 4 to 14 stayed here for 4 nights earlier this month. We couldn't have loved it more. We were upgraded free of charge to a superior suite and loved every inch of our space. With picky eaters, we did bring some take out from La Fortuna, which we kept in the fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmorfoot
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lmorfoot, We are delighted to know that the whole family has enjoyed the stay at Lost Iguana. This is definitely a place for people of all ages and we love to know that you all have enjoyed the meals, the facilities and the surroundings. We hope you come back soon, it has been great to have you all here....

Durham, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Unbelievable views and property. Loved all it offered. Never ate so well! Had a massage at night with Letecia and it was magical. The room was open to the sound of rushing water and jungle life plus room had a clay oven style fireplace. Hiked the trails, soaked in the outdoor jet tub, watched Toucans above me in outdoor shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulinec217
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paulinec217, We love to know that you have enjoyed so much of the wonderful views that surround our gardens. We love it when our guests are lovers of nature and fully enjoy our surroundings. We hope to see you again soon, we will love to keep sharing nature with you. Lost Iguana

Renton, Washington
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Large well decorated, corner room with large outdoor shower and soaking tub. Amazing view of the volcano. Locations away from the crowd of the other large hotels. Great trails close by. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pball2801
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pball2801, We appreciate your comments about your recent visit. Your feedback is very important for us to improve and work hard to offer great memories in the company of the amazing Arenal Volcano. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, Lost Iguana

1,735 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1320)
Viewed
Room/Suite (295)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (236)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (76)
Viewed
View from Room (183)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (386)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (407)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Condo (65)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Villa (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
7.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,735 reviews
8.2 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,171 reviews
8.7 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,298 reviews
22.2 km away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#7 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
230 reviews
9.4 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range: $220 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#9 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lost Iguana Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Lost Iguana Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quite, exalent view”
milary2007, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top floor in the very back of the resort - quiet, spacious and outdoor jacuzzi on the large balcony.”
97pattyh, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“"Luxury Suite" and European Plan served us well.”
SkipDickel, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Worth the extra to get a great view of Arenal from the room - spectacular on a clear day.”
SamBoaden, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the higher floor”
123sub, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5