We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Arenal Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Arenal Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Arenal Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2016

Hotel has small, but very nice cottages. Outside are very pretty too. Breakfast was good, but are same every day. Hotel are close to center of La Fortuna, we walk to restaurant to eat for lunch and dinner. At night road noise sometime can bother you. We slip in (2) different cabin, located at different location, but still hear sound...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to serve you. We are glad you enjoyed our cabins and grounds. We are just close just off the main road and close enough to town to be convenient and just far enough to have a large property filled with tropical gardens and a small river running behind the property, but...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Efficient and friendly service, comfortable, clean rooms. Staff goes the extra mile to assist on getting the best tours around. The facilities are in good shape. Overall I consider it a good value. Will definitely come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fbueso
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your stay and your comments. We are glad you had a wonderful stay. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are constantly working to update and maintain quality facilities for each of our valued customers. :) Vanessa Q Manager

Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Arenal Country Inn has become a small place away from home! I have visited this charming hotel this year for the third time in a row, I have seen there have idone mprovements on landscaping and best of all the internet /wi fi works really where anywhere...a bif problem solved!!!! People are very kind and always ready to help. A...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raul P
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Raul Thanks for your stay and your comments. We are glad you had a wonderful stay. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are constantly working to update and maintain quality facilities for each of our valued customers. In 2015 we replaced all of our mattresses and bedding. This year, if the Lord permits, we will improve even...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016

This hotel has an excellent location as its a 10 minute walk into La Fortuna but out of the way enough to be quiet. Nice rooms although our telephone didn't work for emergencies (though there is an emergency phone at reception). Pool and breakfast area are nice. Grounds are a real highlight and attract lots of colourful birds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen75186411
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your valueable comments. we are glad you loved your stay on our beautiful grounds. We wish you would have told us about the phone problems while you were here to fix it for you right away, but now that you have informed us, we have had it checked out and repaired. It is our pleasure to have...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Del F
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Toronto
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Very nice staff, the hotel is simple but clean and comfortable, and the garden is beautiful. Breakfast was not very good, but they have the minimum needed (scrambled eggs and coffee). Big drawback was that it has no restaurant! Wifi very spotty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmonteirToronto
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at our family owned and operated Country Inn. We are glad you had a great time at our inn and on the beautiful grounds and tropcial gardens. Our include fruit juice, coffee, tea, bread, rice and beans, pancakes, scrambled eggs, eggs with ham, beacon and two kind or fruits. We are sorry that the...

Riverside, California
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

My mom, sister and I stayed here Dec 27-29. The room was clean, and Reyna at the front desk was great. We arrived mid day and she immediately helped us with our itinerary and bookings. There are no frills here - 1 towel per person, simple breakfast, etc. Wifi did not reach our room which was frustrating. Overall though, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and for staying with us at Arenal Country Inn. It was a pleasure to meet and serve your family. We are glad that you enjoyed your comfortable stay in our clean hotel with our friendly staff. 1 towel per person is of course standard at our hotel, as with most nationally and internationally, but if...

Eureka Springs, AR
Reviewed 1 January 2016

What we booked was not what we got. Flat screen tv was actually a 12" tv. To use it you had to unplug the ac and plug in the tv. So you had a choice...cool or tv. Bathroom was clean, but plaster was pealing off the wall, there was no conditioner, and you could smell mold from somewhere. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJJoy
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are very dissappointed to receive a comment like this. We are a family owned and operated inn that works hard to stay up to date and to meet our guests every need. Unfortuately, we can not fix problems that are not brought to our attention while you are onsite....

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 November 2015

We stayed 4 nights at Arenal Country Inn. Rooms were nice and clean. They have nice pool near the breakfast area. Hotel is walking distance to downtown La Fortuna. Quiet place at night with beautiful gardens and an amazing view of the Volcano. We got lucky and got to see the Volcano clearly every morning They provide breakfast with your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ramirezmonica0
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Really enjoyed this as a birthday celebration for my spouse. The rooms are not the best, but they were private and nice. The staff was helpful, providing advice on where to eat with an Arenal view, as well as zip line recommendations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan D

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.4 km away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
134 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
289 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,260 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
157 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#27 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Arenal Country Inn is a small hotel with twenty rooms distributed in ten bungalows; all of then surrounded by exotic gardens. All you have to do is reach the door of your room and you will go from the most comfortable human made environment to the magnificent nature. Rooms with cable TV, A/C, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, private bathroom and terrace. Large swimming pool area, food service, internet access, tour desk and parking. Impeccable cleanness and friendly service is our promise. We will make our best to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Address: 1 km south of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $117 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arenal Country Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ashburnham
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Arenal Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 21 is one of the biggest”
 of 5 bubbles mustoml, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Farther away from the road the better.”
  • Pleasant setting for the cabinas
 of 5 bubbles timandanneh, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Visit the rainforest cafe, nice food. Also take a cab to the waterfall! Nice!”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Hotel have cottages with 3 ‘individual’ bed, when we ask, for second night staff give us one. ”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room 16 had a cockroach infestation when we were there.”
 of 5 bubbles Haltz_11, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay