We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Volcano Lodge & Springs

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 168*
USD 108*
USD 160*
USD 168*
USD 108*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,793 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Volcano Lodge & Springs
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,058: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Small, private, beautiful property. Food was delicious and staff was great. Private pool was worth the upgrade! We spent three nights here and then three in Pacific side at an all-inclusive. Was a great idea to see more of the country.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndsay0225
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review

Hello Lyndsay, your comment is very important because give us the motivation to keep improving in all our services. We are a thermal hotel with a private and relaxing ambiance. As you mentioned, our main goal is the complete satisfaction of all our services, and all our staff strives to give you the best service posible. Once again, thank you...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are just about good enough but suffer from being ancient chalet style accommodation and could do with either demolishing and rebuilding or hugely renovating. Check-in is a little overly prescriptive and process heavy. That aside the location, gardens, view of the volcano, hot springs and variety of pools is fantastic. Sitting in a naturally heated thermal pool or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller4943
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback of your experience with us at Volcano Lodge & Springs. We are delighted that our gardens, hot springs and our fantastic view of the Arenal Volcano was a highlight during your stay with us. We hope you can come back in the future. It will be a pleasure to serve you again....

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 1 week ago

My recent visit to La Fortuna and the Arenal Volcano area in Northern Costa Rica was a thrill, while sightseeing with my wife and a Mexican colleague and his wife, who visited us 3 weeks ago. The zone is impressively developed to serve domestic and international tourism, as I was not fully aware, since we had not travelled to this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuanMadriz
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review

Dear Juan Madriz, thank you very much for this amazing review ! The Customer Relations Department is grateful for your time and effort in evaluating our services. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed of our services and facilities and that your stay was confortable. As you mentioned we have many things to do inside our property like...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Volcano Lodge for 3 nights on our recent visit to Costa Rica. Overall it was definitely one of the nicer places we stayed at. The staff were helpful and friendly, in particular when our tour operator didn't show up (at 5 in the morning!) and they rang around to try and chase up what had happened. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, thank you very much for your positive review. As the titule say, we have an excellent view of Arenal Volcano; and our hot springs are a delight after doing an adventure tour in the area. We hope you can back soon. All our staff strives to serve you in the best way. It will be a pleasure to...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 4 nights and really enjoyed the setting. Hotel is surrounded by lush grounds and a great view of the volcano (when the clouds are not covering it). Breakfast was included and I have to say the rice and beans were delicious and so was the coffee. Thermal pools were very relaxing and we looked forward to coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deejayesh
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for your time to write us a comment. Is good to hear that you had a very good stay. As you well say, we have beautiful grounds with a magnificent view of Arenal Volcano. Our restaurant serves delicious food for lunch and dinner. The buffet breakfast is included in our rate. The hot springs are a...

Sandyston, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

First, everyone here has been a pleasure to deal with. From the front desk to the drivers to the resort workers. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Second, the resort is beautiful. The grounds are so well kept. The fauna and plants are magnificent. Third, it's convenient to all activities and to LaFortuna. If you're planning a trip to Costa Rica...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review

Hello Steve B, thank you for your time to write us a good comment. We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience in our property. As you mentioned, all our staff is professional and friendly; and strives to give you the best service possible. Also, we have beautiful grounds where you can see many kind of birds...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Volcano Lodge & Springs was excellent from check in to check out. Everyone who worked there was welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely and comfortable with a gorgeous view of the tropical grounds and Arenal. The thermal springs were relaxing during the day, as was the swim-up bar for dinner and drinks at night. We'd definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for this lovely review which collaborate with all the Trip Advisor users and give us the energy to keep improving in all our services and procedures. We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and that you enjoyed our services in general. All our staff strives to give you a high quality...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us came her for only one night but we liked it so much we stayed an extra night. We each had a kingsize bed, good size room, with a separate bathroom and shower. There is a safe and a bar fried in the rooms. There is a small patio outside with two rockers where you can sit outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank midnitewind
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for sharing your five star review of your recent stay with us at Volcano Lodge & Springs. We are delighted that you mentioned our beautiful grounds, perfect view of Arenal Volcano and our relaxing hot springs like a proof of our high quality service. We hope you can come back someday again. Once again thank you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The start at the lodge are very nice. Food is of a good standard but pricey for Costa Rica we paid $66usd for 2 a fish main and a single drink each. Unfortunately for our stay some of the hot pools where closed which was a disappointment. The main issue was the noise, you can hear every neighbouring room easily....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review

Hello Andrew, thank you for your feedback. We regret that your stay not was the best. We want to apologies for the circunstances about the hot springs but we had to do some repairs and clean these. Definitely we will consider your contribution about the noisy between rooms. Best Regards, Gerardo Pérez H

Silverthorne, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only spent one night here and longed for more.! Our room had its own private hot spring pool on the back patio which was so nice. We also enjoyed the larger pool with the swim up bar for happy hour. The property was very nicely landscaped, lush flowers everywhere and a walking trail around the perimeter. I got my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coyote591
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for having selected Volcano Lodge & Springs for your recent stay in La Fortuna, San Carlos - Costa Rica. We are pleased to perceive that you had a good stay in our lodge. We appreciate your positive comment which give us the energy to keep improving the level of service offered to our dear guests. Please...

2,355 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1856)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (184)
Viewed
View from Room (189)
Viewed
Room/Suite (311)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (367)
Viewed
Dining (118)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (637)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Junior Suite with Double Queen (40)
Viewed
Junior Suite with King (36)
Viewed
Master Suite with Double Queen (36)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Springs (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (266)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,788 reviews
1.8 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,207 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,344 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,816 reviews
0.5 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $130 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Volcano Lodge & Springs staff and other travellers.
59 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from Volcano Lodge & Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think all rooms have a view of the volcano, but verify that when you book”
KayTVictoria_BC, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“I do recommend staying away from the pool area/dinning for a quieter night”
5jjm, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Thermal Room”
2dragon2, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Best views, quiet hotel, suitable for families or couples”
ph875, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“spend as much as you can afford”
Happytraveller4943, 18 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 108* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 160
Expedia.comUSD 108
HotelQuicklyUSD 168
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates