We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Choza Inn Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
La Choza Inn Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Choza Inn Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
New England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2015

I really enjoyed this quiet hostel located just off the main strip. It was quiet and the people working there were very nice. I booked a few trips through them and had a great experience. I did the Arenal hike and the Cerro Chato hike with a dip in the waterfall. I recommend both hikes, but Cerro Chato is steep... More 

Helpful?
Thank ExploringCuriously
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

The dorms have cozy beds and a bathroom with a hot shower in it. It is very tidy. They have a nice garden and one of the best included breakfast we had so far (scrambled eggs, watermelon, pineapple, white toast, peanut butter and jam). The guy with glasses working there was super friendly and his English was fluent. Definitely a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
LaChozaInn, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

than you very much for your review . we are glad you have enjoy your time with us, as always we do our best toprovide with the best service thanks More 

Znojmo, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

Some struggles to find this place because people confuse the hostel with a restaurant which has same name. The staff is helpful, it is a secure place and dorm rooms have a bathroom with warm water (not always!).

Helpful?
Thank 8karo8
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

thank you very much for the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. I am glad to let you know warm water issues in the bath rooms dorms have been fixed, we have also correct other minor issues we hope to see you back again More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable, but the staff was rude and didn't want to help us when we had a problem, saying to us "it's not my problem", all we asked for is to have our breakfast (that we paid for) in takeaway because we had to leave early in the morning

Helpful?
1 Thank Karmit A
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

hello we are sorry you did have all this issues, breakfast is from 7 to 9 however if you require an early breakfast we can do it 6:30 not earlier than that, we apologize for any misunderstanding with you and our staff More 

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. We had a private room with bathroom. The beds were probably the best part of the room, they were incredibly comfortable! The room was clean and good. They also have laundry service, continental breakfast included and helpfull staff. We enjoyed our stay!

Helpful?
Thank KarolienCM
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

we are glad you have such a good time while staying with us, we want also let you know we have changed some of the mattress and we have also correct some issued we had in the past with the hot water thank you for your visit More 

Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2015

The hostel is okey, about average for Costa Rica, not too expensive with good dorms and a communiral kitchen/eating place where you can hang out and watch some TV. The breakfast though was definentely not avarage. This was without a doubt the most delicious, biggest and best breakfast I've ever had during my trip in Costa Rica. Unlimited scrambled eggs,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mardil999
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

thank you for your review, we are glad to know our enjoy your time with us, we are well know for the breakfast we have, I dont want to brag about it, but they say is the best in town, as we offer buffet breakfast to our guest More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

The staff was pleasant and they had a great breakfast from any hostel I stayed at. The location was tucked away and it was so peaceful. And they provided towels at no charge. My friend and I really appreciated the fact that they put us in another dorm rather than stuffing as many guest into one dorm.

Helpful?
Thank Nikita G
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Great value for 9$. I was a bit worried because of the many bad reviews. I don't really understand. This place was cheap and OK. Not perfect, but more than OK. I liked that the dorm only had 6 beds. The ensuite bathroom was nice and the water hot. Breakfast was buffet style, lots of eggs and fruits. No one... More 

Helpful?
Thank allardveronique
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Every place you stay is all about expectations... and remembering what price you paid. My friend and I paid like 10$ and stayed in a 6 person dorm room. The only negative things I remember a few months after our trip now were that the mattresses were very thin and you could feel the boards of the bed. Also, there... More 

Helpful?
Thank suchislife905
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

10$ for a dorm and a decent breakfast. Don't expect much the beds are not very comfy, we were 2 in a dorm of 5 so we were ok. Don't book anything via the hotel it will be cheaper elsewhere. The staff is nice though, good option if budget primes over quality. It's also clean

Helpful?
Thank Jérémie G

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 km away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#18 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
520 reviews
0.3 km away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 69 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
553 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#10 of 69 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Mayol Lodge
Mayol Lodge
#11 of 38 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
134 reviews
0.3 km away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#9 of 69 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
639 reviews
0.2 km away
Cabinas Las Palmas
Cabinas Las Palmas
#22 of 38 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel backpackers environment, La Choza Inn is a corner of paradise on earth. Located next to Arenal Volcano. in La Fortuna town near all services and attractions. Guests staying at the Hostel backpackers La Choza Inn will be gratified by its ideal location, only a few blocks from landmarks, and just beside the Corocodile Farm. Visitors will be within walking distance to important places such as waterfall, cafes, bars, rock pools, hot springs, National Park, Cerro Chato, restaurants, sodas, banks and casinos await visitors in their Costa Rica vacation while staying in the hotel & hostel -backpackers La Choza Inn in downtown Fortuna. Your stay at this premier hotel & hostel will give you the opportunity at tour desk give to you the whole information and tips of Arenal area, and to enjoy the active Fortuna nightlife after dark. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Choza Inn Hostel

Address: Avenida 331, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $18 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Choza Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Choza Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Choza Inn Hostel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Choza Inn Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from La Choza Inn Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just go to another hostel”
 of 5 bubbles katiesY9490SJ, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Don't even bother with this hostel”
 of 5 bubbles katiesY9490SJ, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room #207 has a balcony with a view of the volcano”
 of 5 bubbles bluemekind, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own towels if staying in the dorm rooms”
 of 5 bubbles TheEfamily, 8 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Maybe choose a room on the west side so you're away from the kitchen and hang out areas if you like to sleep early.”
 of 5 bubbles jessiebt, 22 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay