We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Choza Inn Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
La Choza Inn Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Choza Inn Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Manhattan, Kansas
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

This hostel was such a great place to stay! To sum up my favorite aspects: -great breakfast that included fruit, eggs, toast with spreads, milk, juice, and coffee -a big, CLEAN, well-equipped kitchen -an amazingly friendly staff that made me feel like family -location is close enough to everything but not in the middle of noisy chaos -affordable, quick laundry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dara D
New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 May 2016

la choza inn was the perfect place for me, female dorms, included breakfast, which by the way ,was the best I had in Costa Rica. very close to town and other activities, William at the front desk was very nice and friendly, very good English and very knowledgeable about the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loweshelley
Daniel S, Owner at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

thank you very much for comment It is a pleasure for us to have served Daniel Salas

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 30 April 2016

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOSTEL. I was there 2 nights and then moved to Arenal Backpackers. 3 out of the 5 people in my dorm had money or items stolen. Probably because there are NO LOCKS ON THE DOORS OR ANY SECURITY OF ANY KIND. You could walk off the street and straight into a dorm room without encountering a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 30 April 2016

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOSTEL. I was there 2 nights and then moved to Arenal Backpackers. 3 out of the 5 people in my dorm had money or items stolen. Probably because there are NO LOCKS ON THE DOORS OR ANY SECURITY OF ANY KIND. You could walk off the street and straight into a dorm room without encountering a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Daniel S, Owner at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

We want to thank you for your comments. Each comments help us to grow up and fix any problem, of course we still wondering who was that person apparently ( Manager ) I am the owner of Choza Inn and I do not understand how come some said be the manager, any way he's not working with us anymore. By...

Hilbert, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

The best feature of this hostel is the helpfulness of the people manning the reception desk & other staff. When we arrived they had not received our bookings.com reservation, made over a week previous, but they worked through it with us & even were able to change us to a balcony room I had requested. Room was clean, AC worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaMi1976
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting our hotel La Choza Inn hurting the WI-FI was not working at the time but it was arranged was a problem Transistors We hope you visit us again

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

We had private room with buffet breakfast (scrambled eggs, white toast,gummy fruit, juice and coffee) for 40 $ per couple. This seemed like a fair price as similar were around 50-60 $ on the main street. Good enough breakfast, clean rooms, close to downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tereza H
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and for your visit ,we are here to serve all tourism at a great price We hope more people like you Daniel

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 February 2016

I enjoyed my three night stay in a dormitory room at this hostel. The toast, fruit and eggs were a good breakfast, and the coffee was incredible, of course. The beds were comfortable, with a provided sheet and pillow. Only complaint is that the downstairs dormitory room where I stayed has little to no circulation. Made it hard to breathe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amos F
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting La Choza Inn is a pleasure to welcome people like you in regard to WI-FI already this repaired thanks for your comments Daniel

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We had a very nice and clean room with balcony. The breakfast (fruit, scrambled eggs, toast, jam, coffee and tea) is good and you can have as much as you want. However, the kitchen and common area could use new lights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabell M
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment We're at your service

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Only 10 dollars and all you can eat breakfast. It has a very friendly staff, and hot shower and bathroom in the dorm. A block from town. It has a kitchen, so you can cook your own food, which saves a lot of money. You can book your tours right at the hostel, which is very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment We're at your service

Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 October 2015

This was our first place we stayed in Costa Rica (Costa Cara!), and the $10 dorms were the only rooms that fit our budget; it really worked out the first night as we were alone in the room. The second night we had roommates which ended up being a blessing as they turned on the AC that we didn't realize...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne and Julien R
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment We're at your service

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.4 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,474 reviews
0.3 km away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
553 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#11 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Mayol Lodge
Mayol Lodge
#11 of 38 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
134 reviews
0.3 km away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#9 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
640 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Secreto la Fortuna
Hotel Secreto la Fortuna
#4 of 38 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel backpackers environment, La Choza Inn is a corner of paradise on earth. Located next to Arenal Volcano. in La Fortuna town near all services and attractions. Guests staying at the Hostel backpackers La Choza Inn will be gratified by its ideal location, only a few blocks from landmarks, and just beside the Corocodile Farm. Visitors will be within walking distance to important places such as waterfall, cafes, bars, rock pools, hot springs, National Park, Cerro Chato, restaurants, sodas, banks and casinos await visitors in their Costa Rica vacation while staying in the hotel & hostel -backpackers La Choza Inn in downtown Fortuna. Your stay at this premier hotel & hostel will give you the opportunity at tour desk give to you the whole information and tips of Arenal area, and to enjoy the active Fortuna nightlife after dark. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Choza Inn Hostel

Address: Avenida 331, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $17 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Choza Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Choza Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Choza Inn Hostel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Choza Inn Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from La Choza Inn Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just go to another hostel”
 of 5 bubbles katiesY9490SJ, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Don't even bother with this hostel”
 of 5 bubbles katiesY9490SJ, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room #207 has a balcony with a view of the volcano”
 of 5 bubbles bluemekind, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own towels if staying in the dorm rooms”
 of 5 bubbles TheEfamily, 8 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Maybe choose a room on the west side so you're away from the kitchen and hang out areas if you like to sleep early.”
 of 5 bubbles jessiebt, 22 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay