We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Meilong

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Meilong
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 22: English reviews
Région Paris
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I already made a positive comment for this hotel. Maybe it was luck. I came back for business and this time I was completely disappointed. An horible smell in the room, the air conditionning system working with a lot of noise, and the worst: the water in the shower was brown. Even after several minutes of letting the water go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debutant95
SHGMH, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Meilong, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Express Meilong Shanghai and your exciting comments. From your neutral mark, we know you were not satisfied with your last stay because of cleanliness. We will check what happened to sanitation workers and where the smell came from. You also complained of noise from the air conditioning system. Generally, we...

Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

This is a base level functional hotel at a good price (£40 a night inc breakfast) Clean room, good shower, parking, local restaurants in walking distance, efficient staff. The food and beverage area is like a take away. That's it in a nut shell.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicksswilson
SHGMH, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Meilong, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Express Meilong Shanghai and your exciting comments. From your neutral mark, we know you got nothing extraordinary in our hotel, just a base level functional hotel in your eyes. You also appreciated the good price. Thank you for your support. As a simplified hotel, affiliated to Intercontinental Hotel Group, it...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 January 2016

I have traveled all over the world, and this is by far THE WORST hotel I have stayed in a very long time. Unfortunately due to the traffic in Shanghai, we had to use this hotel for a 3-day training. Poor breakfast, no room service, and very hot rooms. Going to try and identify another hotel for the next series....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelQueen226
SHGMH, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Meilong, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Meilong and your exciting comments. Sorry to read you experienced a bad stay in our hotel. We offer free breakfast, free internet access, cool shower and high-quality sleep etc.. You thought the room was very hot. In fact, you can call our staff to help you adjust the...

Modena
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

They try to do theyr best but just they can t. The breackfast is the worst thjnf, only chinese breakfastno gym and no services at all, and actually it is not even cheap. No reason to go there for foreigners.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mauro1972
Connecticut
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Good location. Rooms are adequately furnished but starting to show wear. Staff is pleasing and efficient. Restaurant has good food but has a very limited menu for dinner. There are other restaurants around the corner or within easy walking distance. WIFI works great in the room. Overall a good stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C H L
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Being a budget class hotel don't expect much. Rooms are small & adequately furnished, standard breakfast not much to choose from, dinner can be a challenge. The restaurant and its menu is a big disappointment. Few good restaurants in neighbouring streets. Ideal for budget stays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sony S
SHGMH, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Meilong, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests' feel it is necessary. Our hotel is intercontinental standard and value for price. Ensuring all our clients leave satisfied is our goal. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near...

Colima, Mexico
Reviewed 22 October 2013

HIE Meilong offers the customary comfort and laid-back atmosphere one expects from a HIE. Clean room, firm bed, unobtrusive staff. Convenient to subway with short taxi ride. No wifi in-room. You have to go to the lobby for wireless internet access. Plenty of "local" sites to explore, easy restaurants and fast-food nearby. More of a business type place than situated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I'm not a picky person when it comes to hotels but this was absolutely the worst I have ever had at a hotel. I travel often for work and have stayed at hotels in various countries and all over the U.S. but this Holiday Inn takes the cake for worst hotel. I was booked into a room on the 8th...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Casey L
SHGMH, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meilong, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback with regards to our hotel guest room.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience due to the Problem and will definitely rectify the issues that were being brought up. Rest assured that we are looking into both our software and hardware facilities, ensuring that we provide all our guests with an excellent experience while...

Reviewed 19 December 2012

I was on a business trip and have to stay near the factory - so I didn't have much choice... I knew it's a budget hotel and so I calibrated my expectation but nothing prepared me for these: Cold water shower in the winter! I turned on the tap and waited and waited, it finally become lukewarm after 20 minutes!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vernon S
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have stayed in this hotel 4 or 5 times in the last 3 years, both in winter and summer. The rooms have a/c but it is entirely controlled by the hotel, meaning everyone gets the same temperature (warm both in winter and summer). I travel to China often and understand that they tend to like it warmer; so when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snemrava

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Chateau Star River Minghang Shan...
#2,421 of 4,566 in Shanghai
9 reviews
Pullman Shanghai South
#33 of 4,566 in Shanghai
204 reviews
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#136 of 4,566 in Shanghai
219 reviews
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Meilong Shanghai is managed by InterContinental Hotels Group. Just 25 minutes drive from the Hong Qiao Airport, 60 minutes from the Pudong International Airport and 20 minutes from Shanghai South Railway station.Holiday Inn Express Meilong Shanghai is near by famous University in China such as Shanghai Jiao Tong University, East China Normal University and East China University of Science and Technology. It is situated in the central part of Max-mall of which shopping and restaurants combined. Holiday Inn Express Meilong Shanghai shows the international manner of a convenience business hotel. There are 190 smart rooms and 2 full-facilities meeting room. Provide the comfortable, convenience and great value for the business travelers. Express breakfast, free High Speed Internet Access and self-helped ironing room and automats well meet the demands of the guests. Moreover, we are honored to offer our Holiday Inn Express Brand tea sense tea, which can makes the guests enjoying their stay through drinking. The Great room provide high-speed free broadband and kinds of delicious Chinese and western menu to the time-oriented businessmen. Holiday Inn Express Meilong Shanghai harmonious environment becomes the best choice for guest to relax and gather. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Meilong

Address: No.2359 Yindu Road, Minhang District, Shanghai 201108, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Price Range: $83 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Meilong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Meilong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Meilong Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Meilong staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Meilong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only for locals. Terrible for Visitors -- especially international visitors”
 of 5 bubbles TravelQueen226, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles RadDocCT, 16 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Away from the lift lobby! Avoid room #417!”
 of 5 bubbles vernons992, 19 Dec 2012 | Read review
“room of the backside of the hotel is better , (quite)”
 of 5 bubbles UdoF_12, 24 Aug 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay