We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Ctrip.comUSD 134*
View Deal
#31 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 272*
USD 134*
Great Deal
USD 177*
USD 178*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

884 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Start your review of Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
 Click to rate
Grand Rapids
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Enjoyed my stay here for a couple of nights. Hotel is in a great location, walkable area, beautiful landscaping, lobby and rooms. I found the bed a bit hard for my liking, but everyone's preferences are different. Quiet room, well-appointed. Good breakfast options in the morning. I would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GRtraveler26
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I did not stay at the hotel, but my friends did and had a good stay. I went with them to the Hotel Sky Bar which is accessible to all even if you don't stay at the hotel. Great views, good place to have a break and enjoy a cocktail. Very quiet so, piano played during the evening. 33rd floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laulo1979
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Laulo1979, Thank you very much for the positive reviews. We have great history which embodied by the frontage built between 1925 / 27 by a French architect and was the French Tennis Club. Now the tennis courts have gone to be replaced with 7 acres of magnificent gardens in the middle of Shanghai! The restaurants are varied with a...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and booked it based on the recommendation of a friend. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. All the staff were very helpful and breakfast included a good selection of food. The location is terrific - in a very nice area with easy access to the subway. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guesty2009
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guesty2009, Thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We have great location in Former French Concession near Shanxxi S Road metro stop and Huaihai middle Road. It is really convenient...

Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had my first trip to Shanghai and was recommended to stay in this hotel for 3 nights. I must say this is a great hotel because of the service provided. The hotel itself is like any 4 star hotel. Nothing surprising but the service of the staff is fantastic. They are quick to react when comes to solving your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VicksSingapore
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear VicksSingapore, Thank you very much for your stay in Garden Hotel Shanghai.And we are delighted with your positive reviews. Garden hotel is a very clean and elegant hotel, setting in a beautiful garden with excellent service all around. We have a great location for exploring the French Concession, with convenient metro connections. There are also a lot of local...

Liverpool
Reviewed 17 April 2017

From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen a great hotel. Staff were very attentive, efficient and friendly. The rooms were spacious and spotless and the breakfast service was equivalent to a top class restaurant. Well located and a great base for seeing all the sights and sounds of this amazing city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSteveJ
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear LiverpoolSteveJ, Thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We have great location in Former French Concession near Shanxxi S Road metro stop and Huaihai middle Road. It is really convenient...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed at this lovely hotel for six nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a choice of either a full Japanese breakfast set (see photo) or a buffet. The Japanese breakfast (for those with a penchant for traditional breakfast with grilled fish, egg, stewed vegetables, and an assortment of condiments) were exquisitely presented and served. Staff service was outstanding....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank live2eat2017
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear live2eat2017, We are terribly sorry to learn of the unpleasant experience you had in your room. Your suggestion about mattresses was delivered to the leadership of Room Division. They will pay close attention to the matter and try to adjust the bed. If you have any problem, please call us without any hesitation. Our engineer department would check all...

Singapore
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Elegant, fine attention to detail and beautiful service: Okura managed hotels are always of the very best standard. The location and setting of the Garden Hotel is amongst the best in Shanghai. And for what it offers, the prices are reasonable too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogerhSingapore
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear rogerhSingapore, Thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai). Our staff speaks English, Mandarin and Japanese. We have two restaurants for breakfast, Rose coffee in western style and Baiyulan in Chinese style. The view of the upper floor room is breathtaking especially at night. Around the hotel are many restaurants, malls and streets. We do hope you can choose...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Chose this Hotel for convenience to our office & reviews on Breakfast were good. We are Regular's at Okura in Bangkok. This model is not as fancy, but not as expensive either. For the price you get a clean room (I had lowest rating room) it had a clean bathroom (shower over bath / hand held devise also, with shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni E
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Jenni E, Thank you so much for staying many times. We will never let you feel disappointment. We have great history which embodied by the frontage built between 1925 / 27 by a French architect and was the French Tennis Club. Now the tennis courts have gone to be replaced with 7 acres of magnificent gardens in the middle...

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Had a few pleasant stay at Okura Roppongi, Tokyo. Was expecting something similar. However, this was a totally opposite experience. Small, dirty stinky room. Not so pleasant front desk experience, feels like a fake Okura.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 新消息
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing the Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai for your recent stay. We are terribly sorry to learn of the unpleasant experience you had in our hotel. As you mentioned in the questionnaire, we will pay more attention to the training for the new employee. Try our best to make them master the...

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel is just 3 min walk to the nearest train station and is located next to the 1apm shopping mall. Overall, it has a Japanese theme. For breakfast, we can choose to have the international breakfast (Rose Lounge) or the Japanese set menu (山里). The spread of the international breakfast is quite good while the 山里serves authentic Japanese set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salkitty L
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Ms. salkitty L, Thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai). Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. Okura Garden Hotel is run by a Japanese consortium, which will guarantee a great service from the beginning until the end of your stay. We targets not only businessmen, but also offering best convenient for your holidays in...

556 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (234)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (71)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#88 of 5,035 in Shanghai
695 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#118 of 5,035 in Shanghai
580 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#18 of 5,035 in Shanghai
1,281 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#45 of 5,035 in Shanghai
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Former French Concession

Neighbourhood Profile
Former French Concession
While there are technical borders to the area formerly governed by the French in Shanghai, the "French Concession" of today is an amorphous neighborhood that is a favorite of the city's foreign residents. While it is mostly within the Xuhui district, residents will sometimes include parts of Jing'an and Luwan in their mental maps of the Former French Concession. The area seems frozen in time, characterized by quiet, tree-lined avenues, French-style villas, interesting boutiques, lively bars and quaint cafes that are not typical of China. All of these mix and mingle with local life as Chinese markets and lanehouse communities are peppered throughout. Denizens of the Former French Concession can spectate a mahjong game on the street or get their bike checked at a tiny bike repair store on the way to their refurbished apartment tucked away among Chinese family homes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.58 Maoming South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Price Range: $176 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Garden Shanghai
Shanghai Okura Garden Hotel
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#103 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“away from elevators, higher room”
GRtraveler26, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“This is available upon request. I would suggest calling the hotel directly to make this request. Rooms facing the garden are recommended.”
live2eat2017, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Garden room”
VioletJ, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if they are working in the street ask to be moved to the garden side.”
Molihua2013, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I got the end room very quiet but scary due to quietness.”
IlaMusa, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Ctrip.com
USD 134* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 177
TravelocityUSD 178
AMOMAUSD 272
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates