We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Show Prices
#57 of 4,571 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,020 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 673: English reviews
Huenxe, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionacoyne
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel located in the center of everything, underground train, lots of good restaurants, massage shop, KTV, shopping malls....etc, you could find all in this area. Hotel is bit old but still clean and comfortable. However, as there is the center of everything, a lot of people around, and you can access all floors even you are not stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d821yip
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located on Nanjing Rd, hard to call a taxi, room was small, drawers were falling apart, towels were grey - very dirty, check in was slow, concierge staff were better, it was not a Sofitel standard for sure, max 3 star hotel, badly needs renovation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lei D
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Lei D, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were clearly surprised to read about your atypical experience during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the shortcomings, and note I will be contacting you on private to obtain more details and follow up accordingly with our team. We...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kunjaya W
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Ningbo, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was a very pleasent experience, good service and nice staff. Location was perfect in the center of Shanghai and it was very easy to get to the hotel by subway. the view from Club Sofitel was fantastic and we can only recommend to spend a little bit more and have the possibility to get access to this exclusive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 332finnh
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear 332finnh, First of all I hope you had a nice trip back home and thank you for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to learn that every accepts of your stay live up to your expectation. I will make sure that your praises will be passed on to the team, so all can appreciate your feedback...

Fountain Valley, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for five nights in a Club room. I very much enjoyed my stay due to the very convenient location on Nanjing Road with easy access to the Bund. The room was pretty nice but rather cramped. Also, the hallway smelled like poop the first night but the smell dissipated(or I got used to it) after the first day. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derek k
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Derek K, First of all I hope you had a nice trip back home and thank you for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to learn that every accepts of your stay live up to your expectation. I will make sure that your praises will be passed on to the team, so all can appreciate your...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

hotel location is good. plenty of food and shopping around this area. However, the disappointing part was the hotel staffs wasnt sure about the operation timing of their facilities, ie breakfast timing at the club lounge or the restaurant, gym and spa timing. the room they allocated to me, whenever i tried to phone the reception or concierge most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanyingling
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Tanyingling, First of all I hope you had a nice trip back to Russia, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to learn that you made the most of our unbeatable location in the heart of the city. Allow me, however, to extend a sincere apology regarding the rest of your...

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I spent a few nights at the sofitel hyland. The location of the hotel is good on nanjing dong lu, convenient for shopping, sightseeing and transportation nearby. Service was ok. Room is clean and big, but the view in the my room was so-so. The AC seemed to have a problem and the heating mode not working so IT was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LIN B
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Lin B, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland. I'm glad to read that your particularly enjoyed our breakfast buffet and unbeatable location in the heart of the city. In the other hand I'm really sorry to learn that your room temperature wasn't comfortable....

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a standard Sofitel hotel (I must say Sofitel has a lot better ones), but it was clean and tidy (it is a bit dated though). Staff at reception did not really spoke English which I personally find weird when we are talking about international chain hotels. The best thing for me was the location - very easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank munch2010
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Munch2010, First of all I hope you had a nice trip back to London, and thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland. I'm glad to learn that you particularly appreciate our unbeatable location in the heart of the city. In the other hand I'm sorry to read that we did not completely...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel specifically because they confirmed we could have interconnecting rooms. We were travelling as a family with small children and grandparents so this was important to us. At arrival around 4pm in the afternoon the check in process was very slow and after 15 minutes we were told that our rooms would not be available until 9.30pm....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul J
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Paul J, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were clearly surprised to read about your atypical experience during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the shortcomings, and note I will be contacting you on private to obtain more details and follow up accordingly with our team. We...

458 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (396)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (190)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#32 of 4,571 in Shanghai
930 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#35 of 4,571 in Shanghai
721 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#31 of 4,571 in Shanghai
723 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 4,571 in Shanghai
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in People’s Square

Neighbourhood Profile
People’s Square
People’s Square brings with it all the excitement you would expect from the town square of one of the biggest cities in the world. The area around People’s Square and People’s Park is always a abuzz with activity. Oceans of local and foreign tourists flow in and out of the area every day to see grand museums, go shopping and eat at some of Shanghai’s most storied food centers. Shanghai residents, meanwhile, live and work in the many residential and office high-rises. While much of Shanghai stays busy late into the night, this really is an area that never sleeps with glitzy nightclubs keeping people up until the wee hours of the morning.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland sits on Nanjing Road, in the city's commercial centre, making it a premier Shanghai hotel. This Central Shanghai hotel features 383 rooms including over 140 Sofitel Club rooms with access to the Sofitel Lounge. Additional facilities at our Shanghai business hotel include two restaurants, a coffee shop, bar, gymnasium, sauna, massage centre, and conference rooms for up to 400 delegates. Nearby attractions include The Bund, Peoples Square, and the Shanghai Museum. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Address: No.505 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 20001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Price Range: $149 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Shanghai Hyland 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Hyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland Hotel Shanghai
Accor Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Hyland Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Shanghai Hyland staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Shanghai Hyland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floor and opposite to walking street”
 of 5 bubbles opalind, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“chose a room over the 20th floor with a view of the Bund!”
 of 5 bubbles FranckL4, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room overlooked Nanjing Rd and some beautiful old buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyserong, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an Executive Suite, a must”
 of 5 bubbles Wankenne, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“explain your bed requirements on booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 767lindat, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay