We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Plantation Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,571: English reviews
Warrnambool, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

An 18-day cruise from Sydney to Honolulu on the magnificent Carnival Legend cruise ship took us to Port Denarau, Fiji, where we chose a special cruise out to Plantation Island Resort for the day. This was an additional activity and quite expensive, but entirely worth it. From Port Denarau, a 45-minute boat ride to Plantation Island where we were met...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank coogee3
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We caught a boat from port denaru to the island which took about 45 mins (organised by our travel agent) So we arrived at the island at about 1pm and had to wait in the stinking heat for 2 hours because our room was not ready. The shops do not accept cash, it's all done by a cash card provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buttercup107
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very clean, beautiful island. Food was good, but I thought expensive for what it was and sometimes rather slow, but I suppose that is Fiji. Rooms were clean and the slide was a big hit with the kids. Kids club also good. Overall, a nice holiday location and absolutely stunning.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Claire D
Torquay, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the island last august as a family of five with 3 small children. We knew that we weren't going to a five star resort but in saying that we were pleasantly surprised! We felt very welcome on arrival the staff were friendly especially with the children. The studio bure was perfect size very clean bright and comfortable. There...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank louisanicolson80
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Plantation Island Resort from 24th January - 31st January 2017 in a newly renovated 1 bedroom terrace bure. The island was lovely with beautiful beaches and great snorkelling. Our bure was fresh and well cleaned. They were in the process of renovating the next stage of bures while we were there. Most of the staff were lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Kimarie M
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I is some years since we stayed at Plantation.We enjoyed ourselves then with our children.We returned this January and we had a very relaxed and enjoyable time.PI is just lovely. Great place to relax and wonderful for children. Our twenties son went scuba diving and snorkeling,sailing and canoeing.Our young grandaughters had a great time swimming,snorkeling,cycling.There is a good kids club...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Brian O
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms were clean. Had massages at sister resort. Good massages. Many kids at resort. Some staff members seemed annoyed when we ask questions. At the bar and also when we arrived. People at front desk were nice. Only ate breakfast there. 40.00 American dollars for breakfast. We thought that was a terrible price for 2 people...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kevin A
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Kevin Thank you for the review. Just to clarify the Full Buffet Breakfast is USD$20 per person, and as a couple possibly Lomani Island Resort would suit you more. Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Green Island, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great expectations when arriving at island,unfortuneatley that is where it ended. We were a party of 10,7 adults and 3 kids (under 12).Kids eat free if accompanied by an adult.However 1 restaurant was closed which cut down the choices.1 restaurant catered only for adults.That left 1 that had a theme night buffet every night (kids menus stayed the same)I think...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank MarkRaftery
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Mark As you communicated to our Front Office Manager at the time, and have confirmed here, you have written a poor review due to him collecting an unpaid Bill. Your family member dropped the Keys and inadvertently left with an outstanding balance. The staff were just doing their jobs (and they are Fijian)... We will pass your feedback regarding...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just had our 3rd trip to Plantation Island in mid Jan 2017 and it is still the top of my list for a relaxing family holiday. If you have kids - any age, then Plantation Island is a must go. Although our kids didn't attend the kids club as they feel they are a bit too old, the children...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank leighstravels
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Leigh We appreciate the review, and we all look forward to you all returning next year! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After returning from a 10 day stay just yesterday I can honestly say that apart from a few minute 'niggling’ disappointments, my family of 5s holiday was amazing. I think some of the unrealistic and non-Fijian expectations that 'city folk' have is that this wonderful resort should feel like you’re staying at a fine posh hotel (Musket Cove will cater...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kyliee07
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Thank you for your review, great advice......I have embraced it! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

2,161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1590)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (359)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (159)
Viewed
View from Room (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (615)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (451)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Garden Terrace Room (58)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Garden Bure (55)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Beach (51)
Viewed
Beachfront Bure (49)
Viewed
Kids Pool (5)
Viewed
Oasis Pool (17)
Viewed
Ocean Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Studio Garden Bure (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.4 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
664 reviews
0.8 km away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
704 reviews
18.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
853 reviews
5.8 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
820 reviews
20.0 km away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $202 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Plantation Island Resort staff and other travellers.
101 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (101)

Questions? Get answers from Plantation Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't stay for the night, just made a day trip so cannot comment.”
 of 5 bubbles coogee3, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“best value for money”
 of 5 bubbles louisanicolson80, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family Garden Bure”
 of 5 bubbles 17briano, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have stayed poolside, garden & beachfront each has positives & negatives. Beachfront has best view (though not so good for very tall people)”
 of 5 bubbles Kyliee07, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Before choosing your room, look at the resort map for rooms in relation to pool and beach, and consider where you want to be closest too.”
 of 5 bubbles ColourfulFishes, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5