Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort

the pool
Traveller (209)
Panorama at the Funky Fish  Surf & Beach Resort
360
Panoramas (17)
sunset
Room & Suite (325)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Go to your Happy Price
AU$255
AU$221
AU$215
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hostel in Malolo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
A small and friendly island resort with something for everyone! Situated on the majestic Fiji island of Malolo in the heart of the Mamanuca group just 15 kms from Fiji international airport. Central to the best Fiji surf breaks! The resort offers dramatic sunsets, is close to Fiji's great surf breaks, and delivers a very special experience - swimming and snorkeling in crystal clear waters on the surrounding coral reefs...unforgettable! Funky Fish also provides schedule and off schedule after-hours high-speed boat transfers, so that guests can be on the island the same day. We operate our own fast affordable transfer service from Anchorage private jetty (sister property). Guests travelling on our services from Vuda, Port Denarau or Nadi Airport will be greeted with shell leis and personally accompanied by our own staff to meet our marine transfer service. We look forward to welcoming you to Funky Fish Beach Resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Billiards
Fishing
Karaoke
Table tennis
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
286Reviews21Q+A57Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 137
  • 75
  • 28
  • 19
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dee wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place if you’re looking to kick back and relax. It was not busy when we went so I loved the chilled vibes and isolation of the place. Staff are super friendly and always happy to help. Lots of activities on the surrounding islands and staff are always happy to organise to take you places at a reasonable price. Try the local cuisines - I’ll always recommend seafood so close to the ocean. They make a mean Mai Tai.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dave.driggers wrote a review Apr 2022
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a 3 day trip here at the end of March. My wife, my 18 yr daughter and 72-yr old mom accompanied me.

We booked a 2 bedroom beachside bure that was inclusive of all meals. The room amenities said they included A/C, Desk and Safe. The resort said they inc.; outdoor grill, arcade/game room, grocery/convenience store, playground, laundry. I mention these specifically, since none of them existed. The lack of A/C was particularly irritating since it is a near requirement for my wife, who easily overheats in hot humid environments, and occasionally needs a respite. My wife was very disturbed as we were checking in, and we were offered a pair of mountain rooms that had A/C, but as titled (mountain) they are up a very steep and long set of stairs. We decided to stay in the 2 BD bure with fans and no A/C.

The resort is very rustic, and has little to do besides the excursions, partly due to Covid (hiking was extremely limited with trails closed and overgrown), and the beach being extremely shallow. It can be navigated at high or very low tide, but neither is easy.

I recommend booking a boat for the day (300FJ$) instead of individual (per person excursions), especially if you either have 4 people or join up with other guests. It gives value and freedom.

The food was excellent, more simple on certain days with low supplies, but many choices when the mainland supply came in.

Tumeli the manager is definitely on Fiji time, but met our needs. The rest of the staff was very responsive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Olga C wrote a review Jan 2020
Wellington, New Zealand7 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cheap friendly isolated resort. You'll have the beach to yourself for most days and can't swim at high tide. There's also a pool to jump into. You can take trips to nearby islands. While the cyclone was passing the guests were allowed to use the pool table for free so the staff was very considerate.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose the cloud lodge.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jernej wrote a review Jan 2022
Melbourne, Australia94 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort could and should have been managed much better. What they don't tell you upfront is that boats don't leave unless they have a sufficient number of people, which reading from older comments seems to have increased from 2. Rather than telling you upfront the manager stuffs you around and gives you a different excuse every 15 minutes. Since many guests wish to do same activities a little bit of coordination could have easily resolved this problem and everyone would be much happier, but I guess no one has thought of it in this resort.

There is a small fee for all non-motorised water activities. Other than water activities there isn't really anything to do on the island. Can't really swim either since the water is at knee-depth for hundreds of metres. Bedsheets are old and permanently stained, towels worn out with a funky smell. The water kettle in the room had white residue and stank of chemicals.
What made the stay bearable were friendly staff and other guests. The food was alright for a small island and you get 3 meals a day (not that there's anywhere else to eat). I'd give 5 stars to the staff (except the manager) but bad management ruins everything.

A massive disappointment, avoid if not a surfer or travelling in a large group.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caramaye wrote a review Apr 2022
Sydney, Australia38 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Funky fish! What a place. We were welcomed on arrival by the very gracious Tumeli, who throughout our stay took very good care of us.
From organising daily trips (cloud 9, Mala Mala etc) to transfers to different islands. It's a simple, relaxed, easy going surf vibe. Max cooks the best eggs every morning, whilst you sit in the shade over looking the ocean. The pool is kept beautifully clean and it's fortunately cool temperature - very much needed in the hot Fiji sun! We stayed in one of the basic beach huts with a fan, would reccomend an air con room if you're a light sleeper. But can't really complain when waking up to the incredible view of the sea every day. Thank you for the great time!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel H wrote a review Dec 2021
Ocean Grove, Australia15 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a good stay at Funky Fish which was made better by the quality of the guests and their desire desire for fun and adventure. There were many Warm staff and creative food
Why we gave a poor review was because of the fact that there was a constant theme of appearing to be overcharging and also some subterfuge when it came to being open and transparent about costs. An example of this was when we took transfers back to the mainland for Covid testing and returned transfers to the airport. On both cases there was no standard shuttle available so off schedule was the only option. In both cases we felt we were overcharged because other guests were added onto the transfer which was ostensibly the one that we had booked as a solo charter. When we pointed out that these guys should travel for free because we’d already paid for the boat the hotel refused to let the goal until they got the extra money despite the fact that they wax lyrical about our charter being at a good price. On the return back we were provided with another charter transfer at a v high cost only to find it was a tiny boat in rough seas That rather than take the direct route back to the mainland took a torturous journey across rough seas to drop other guests off at beachcomber resort, doubling the journey and our extreme anxiety I’ve been tossed around like a cork. My wife was utterly terrified. The boats doing the transfers should have been the larger boat but again they saved money by packing it all onto a tiny bowl which was inappropriate for the weather conditions putting all the guests at serious risk to maximise revenue. On a happier note we do understand that this is post Covid time and it everybody is trying to make money as soon as possible. I would also mention the unbelievable service and Care we received from Max who was the chef and all round entertainment person. He was absolutely exceptional in his work and his commitment to making everyone have a good time. I would also like to mention the excellent work of all the Graham staff and the domestic housekeepers he worked tirelessly. Would I recommend Funky Fish? It depends on your demographic. Young and party, yes… otherwise too little to do.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Syllygurl wrote a review Sept 2022
Auckland, New Zealand11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We made last minute plans to go to Malolo Island and this was the only place within our price range available.

We were initially apprehensive after reading some reviews, but were pleasantly surprised when we got to the accommodation. They welcomed us with singing on the beach as we were coming out of our boat. It was right on the beach, the staff were absolutely amazing and accommodated well for 2x vegans and we really enjoyed our room (the lodge). It was my partner's 30th and they made a cake for him.

This was a diving trip for us and everything was very easy to arrange. One tip: You have to be aware that this is Fiji time - so if you book for an 'off peak' transfer, you might be waiting a few hours despite paying the big price tag. We would recommend getting the Malolo Cat from Port Denerau then getting a transfer via Funky Fish or another small boat from Musket Cove. We did that on the way back.

Really good value for money - great location for divers and surfers alike. Special mention to Maitai and Tomelu for always bringing a smile to each and every day.

Vinaka! :-)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Lodge has air conditioning and is more spacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JordanPaterson wrote a review Aug 2022
Sydney, Australia9 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sadly we were looking for relax and chill and we got little more stress and disruption than we bargained for.

Our private transfer took over 5 1/2 hours with 3 boats, 2 unknown 'island stops' a complete soaking and half a day lost. The hardest thing was the staff really weren't bothered or trying to help. if we'd been offered a 'We're really sorry for the massive delay and your transfer mayhem, please have a beer on us' I'm sure it would have soften the blow as we started our trip, what we got was totally ignored and shown to a burre.

Our burre had no electricity and no hot water on arrival, we asked about it and we're continually shown what an inconvenience we were being. we moved Burre's to find still not hot water. After 2 cold showers, we had to push a third time to get it reviewed. Once hot it was a good shower, strong pressure and lots of water....just took way to long.

We didn't get offered any help on activities or booing anything

Breakfast was pretty basic of bread, cereal and eggs (if you knew to ask) no menu or direction on who or what could be ordered.

Dinner was at 7pm (not 7 - 9) if you turned up by 7:20 all food was gone or cold.

We ended up leaving a day early as we couldn't trust the transfer could get us back to the airport on time, flights don't wait for disorgansation. When we told them this and asked for a refund on the last night we were ignored, no offer other than..'yes leaving early will mean you get your flight'. We then had to book another night in Nadi at our own cost. Again a simple 'We're sorry to hear this and how about we don't charge you for the snorkeling, or we can give you tonight's beer's for free' would have been enough what we received was sass and silence.

I knew it was a basic hotel (hostel) and was totally fine with it but you can be basic and still offer great service and decent treatment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Away from the generator.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josephine L wrote a review Mar 2022
Tugun, Australia4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
If you would like to indulge in a touch of sadness for you holiday in Fiji, then this is the place for you.
The manager excels at not only being completely inefficient and disorganised, but also manages to spread a miserable atmosphere despite the other staff being lovely.
What you can't tell from photos, is that the rooms are tiny, with nowhere to even hang towels, wetsuits etc.
Nothing really feels clean, and you'll enjoy the company of local cockroaches in the shower.
For most of our stay there was no real chef, so food was mostly basic, starchy.
Despite not being busy, the manager was unable to remember food allergies from 1 minute to the next.
After having such a good experience otherwise in Fiji, Funky Fish was really disappointing.
Definitely needs a face lift and new manager.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bayleigh wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom12 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The transfer to Funky Fish was pretty seamless for us, however we did have to wait at Beachcomber island for an hour till another boat came to collect us, thankfully it wasn’t raining but if we knew this we would’ve kept swimmers and towel on hand to enjoy the island for that hour. On arrival the staff are all very friendly and welcoming, but after that they don’t seem to have any interest in making your stay enjoyable. Any time you ask to organise excursions or activities it comes across like an inconvenience to them, all excursions are at a high price also and the equipment to hire there (surfboards, kayaks, SUPs) are broken in some way. The food was average, the menu and photos online are NOT what’s on offer. The massage/spa is a waste of your money, don’t bother. Continental breakfast, however if you knew to ask the chef for bacon and eggs he would cook it up for you, which we only discovered at the end of our stay. Basic lunches each day weren’t bad, but the evening dinners were often cold, with only two options limiting those with dietary requirements. Sometimes dessert, if you ask for it. No snacks are available throughout the day so would recommmend bringing some from Nadi. No entertainment while we were there, only when they sang happy birthday for a guest. There was no surf report, or organised boats twice a day as website suggests. You’ve got to create a group and push staff to organise the boat hoping there’s one available, they increased the prices while we were there with no warning. The rooms were basic, it was all we needed. The best part of our stay was meeting the other guests and spending time with them while relaxing by the pool. I hope they can improve this place as there is a lot of potential there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring snacks, have low expectations and organise with other guests your surf trips so they...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary195069 asked a question Nov 2021
Evansville, Wisconsin8 contributions2 helpful votes
the cheapest way to get there from the airport in Nadi
Answer from Joy H
5 contributions4 helpful votes
I don’t know if you can catch a boat at port denarau, i’d think is possible but my suggestion would be to try and organize everything prior to you trip, so you don’t have to worry about anything. Fijians are very nice but can be a little slow, so in order to be sure, book everything from home.if you wanna go to another island i recomend malolo. I stayed at funky fish and it was wonderful. But bare in mind that there is not much to do there other than rest, read and enjoy the sun. You can book online
Answer from Anu M
Hi Riley Please contact *679 9996360 and reservations will give you full details on transfer. Transfers can be booked directly with reservations either departing from Port Denerau or Anchorage Beach Resort private jetty. Thanks
Kelly d wrote a tip 1 Apr
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The cheaper price don't worth. Everything is disorganized. The manager doesn't have respect with the customers."
Read full review
Eliza S wrote a tip Mar 2024
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"don't expect luxury...this place is a crash pad for surfers and great place to meet other travelers! "
Read full review
mandy s wrote a tip Mar 2024
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best surf spot for cloud break and other waves "
Read full review
Sightsee25236325414 wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Positive Reviews are Outdated The Pool Is Slimey The Food Is Terrible Management are clowns"
Read full review
Madelaine C wrote a tip Oct 2023
Canberra, Australia9 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Small cottages no aircon but have fans which cools the room perfectly. Not quite sure if in mid summer."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Malolo Island area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$140 - AU$258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the funky fish beach hotel malolo island, funky fish beach resort, funky fish beach hotel
LOCATION
FijiMamanuca IslandsMalolo Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FUNKY FISH BEACH & SURF RESORT (AU$140): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Malolo Island, Fiji) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Does Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Malolo Island HotelsMalolo Island Hotel DealsHotels near Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars