We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Matava - Fiji\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
Start your review of Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the place to unwind and have some fun. Plenty of good food, bungalows are well maintained, friendly people and gorgeous surroundings. Hiking, kayaking, snorkeling and visits to the village waterfall kept me occupied for most of my stay. Plenty of privacy for those who are escaping the "rate race".

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you for your Review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you safe and happy travels. Best regards, Adrian

Cairns, Australia
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 6 January 2017

My husband and I stayed at Matava for the week that included Christmas and New Year, wanting to chill and dive instead of the usual Christmas madness. We had a truly wonderful holiday, and were made so very welcome that it was really sad to leave! This is a little Eco resort that takes some effort to get to, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynandMalc
About Hotel's Favourite Review
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi LynandMalc, We appreciate the time you took to write a complimentary review of your stay with us. Thank you for complimenting us on our accommodation, food and our wonderful staff. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience with the Mantas ! We wish you safe and happy travels. Best regards, Adrian

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort is a little slice of heaven. Nestled on the Island of Kadavu in beautiful surroundings. For the duration of my 8 night stay the staff were fantastic - always so happy to help and extremely attentive to guest's needs and wants. So refreshing to see genuine smiles on genuine faces! The food is mostly fresh local fare and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olly1967
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi Olly, It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guest and we are all please you appreciated our little slice of the real Fiji. All our staff were sad to see you go and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time ! Best regards, Adrian

Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although this is diving resort, we snorkelled and bird wathed. Hospitable people and guests, very good food and local beer. Rain and wind only added to the experience although getting off the island in a downpour was an experience in and of itself. The bot pilot managed somehow. Food was excellent. Staff were attentive and walking up to our cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi Richard, Thank you for your Review. I am very pleased to hear you appreciated our very good food and attentive Fijian staff. I hope you managed to see all 4 of the endemic Kadavu island bird species and enjoyed snorkeling the Great Astrolabe Barrier Reef. We wish you safe and happy travels. Best regards, Adrian

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Good food variety of western and eastern and local. Great for both a vegan and meat lover. Tough call. Drinks could of been better. Diving excellent experienced dive masters who knew what they were doing and were excellent on health and safety whilst being chilled. Room was great very quiet and I am a not great sleeper. Showers were disappointing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our menus and vegan dining options as well as the diving, staff and accommodation. I am delighted you had a positive experience and thanks again for your review. Best regards, Adrian

Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My husband and I had the chance to stay here on an off season summer special in January. We are so glad we did. Not only did we have great diving but we were the only guests in the resort for the entire week. We were very well looked after and felt like one of the family rather than a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AussieTravelholic
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi Aussie Travelholic, My goodness me, that's a long review :-) Thank you very much for taking the time to write such detailed information -A great deal of useful info for all TripAdvisor readers considering a stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you both once again in...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 11 January 2017

During your stay, the staff and other residents of the resort become your family. You will dive, drink, and eat together. Staying here felt like I was on my own private island. Our "burre" was at the very top (must be ready for a hike up), so it was away from the bustle down at the main burre, and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lubabah H
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lubabah H, Thank you for writing such a positive, informative and complimentary review of your stay with us. I am delighted your so enjoyed your Honeymoon Bure, having fun with our Fijian Staff and snorkeling the Great Astrolabe Barrier Reef ! I am sure your review will be of assistance to future guests. We wish you safe and happy...

Coos Bay, Oregon
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Very cool off the grid real Fiji island experience. Nothing but great things to say about the staff. They go out of their way to make everything perfect. The diving is some of the best in Fiji. The Manta dive is a must do. The hike to the local village will stay with you forever. Got to go back and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thebrowncow1
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi Brown cow ! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Matava. I am delighted you appreciated our wonderful staff and the awesome diving :-) We wish you safe and happy travels. Best regards, Adrian

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 16 December 2016

For our honeymoon we stopped by two locations in Fiji. This was the second stop on our trip. It was more remote than our first, but absolutely worth the trip. Commuter plane over to Kadavu airport, shuttle (Truck) to the boat on the other side of the island, and boat over to the resort. We stayed there for a week...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ben, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, found the diving excellent and the food delicious ! We all wish you safe and happy travels. Thanks and best regards, Adrian

Reviewed 4 November 2016

We spent one week there in October 2016. The "bure" is nice and it's not a problem not to have electricity at night. The common area (dining, bar, books and so) is a pleasant place where everybodu talks with everybody. I eat gluten free and the cook always gave me the right food. All the staff is very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Claude L
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi Marie-Claude, Thank you for your review and information for other travelers. I am pleased you enjoyed your accommodation, the special menus we created for you and the diving - although 15m Vis is extraordinarily unusual for Kadavu Island. When we have larger groups of divers we run bigger boats or split groups into two separate dive boats. Thank you...

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (323)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
20.2 km away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
0.0 km away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
356 reviews
0.0 km away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 13 in Savusavu
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
36 reviews
25.3 km away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
0.0 km away
Laucala Island Resort
Laucala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Laucala Island
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort

Address: Vunisea | PO Box 63, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Price Range: $260 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matava - Fiji`s Premier Eco Adventure Hotel Kadavu Island
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort Kadavu Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
San Diego
White Rock, Canada
Sandy, Oregon
Naperville, Illinois
San Francisco
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are adequate but not airconditioned”
 of 5 bubbles 269richardm, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a bure lower on the hillside if walking up a hill and steep stairs an issue”
 of 5 bubbles AussieTravelholic, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the bures are on a hill, so try to choose one not too high”
 of 5 bubbles 975marieclaudel, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had the top Bure with outstanding views and deck”
 of 5 bubbles Waimarie, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The bures are spread up a hill so be prepared for stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles debs343, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5