We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heeren House

Show Prices
#22 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heeren House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Finland
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Hotel is in a great, safe location.  The room we had was a Standard and it was perfect for my needs. Seriously romantic with 'extras' befitting a visit to Malacca. The rooms are spacious the bathrooms define very plush accommodations. loved it, the rooms were so clean. ended up arriving early and the staffs were so nice they arranged for...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank AiH1421
HeerenHouse, Owner at Heeren House, responded to this review

It is our honour and pleasure to have served you well during your stay with us. We thank you for your kind words to us. We strive to make our guesthouse as homely and personalized as possible. Yes, we surely hope you return to our place in the future.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We decided to book the hotel only because of the number of positive reviews the hotel had. At first we were a bit surprised and disappointed as the prices on their website are lower to what you actually have to pay. Our room was a decent size, clean (except for the lamp which was crying for some dusting!). The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank klcouple2016
HeerenHouse, Owner at Heeren House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we take note of the concerns you have highlighted to us. We will strive to improve ourselves and our guesthouse in order to serve every one of our guests' needs. Thank you for the words of encouragement.

Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Extremely peaceful, excellent location, reasonable prices. We stayed longer than we planned because of so cozy, beautiful and enjoyable atmosphere. Eight nights with a lot seeing and doing - heritage city center, bicycling, jogging, golfing, etc. Huge plus for so kind staff.

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank KuLi1000
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I and my friend stayed there for 3 days. fell in love with it right away. My room has a fantastic Melaka reviser view. The owner is a good friend. He's open-minded and friendly. Heeren House is older than my grandma =) It's over 200 y.o.

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Thom N
HeerenHouse, Owner at Heeren House, responded to this review

Yes, Thom, Heeren House the building is around 230 years old. It was built by the Dutch during their colonization of Melaka. We strive to maintain such environment and ambience at our guesthouse. Thank you for your very kind words.

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We had a wonderful stay with the team from Heeren House. The staff are brilliant, the room was clean, comfortable beds, plenty of space, a great view of the river and hotel is welcoming a great place to chill out. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff of Heeren House. They helped us book bus tickets, shared their knowledge...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Cheryljxx
HeerenHouse, Owner at Heeren House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words of encouragement and the recommendation, Cheryl. We look forward to meeting you and your family again in the future. Cheers...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I visited Melaka in late October 2015. On one of my nights there, I was attracted by this building due to its remarkable facade; it reminded me of Amsterdam, and so I paused to peruse the menu. A man inside noticed me, and upon hearing of my love of architecture, immediately invited me to come and see the dining room....

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank S T
HeerenHouse, Owner at Heeren House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. My friends and I certainly remember you well. Please stay with us if you are travelling in Melaka in the future. All the best to you back in USA.

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 February 2016

The hotel is an authentic old Dutch house that has retained all its charm. Excellent location, in front to the river and in the street where are all the most beautiful buildings in the old town, right next to the Jonker Street. Spacious rooms, beautiful colonial furniture and very clean place. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. This...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Carme C
HeerenHouse, Owner at Heeren House, responded to this review

Thank you, Carme for the words of encouragement. We appreciate it. Cheers...

Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

the owner was very friendly, helpful and gave us really good offers for staying there; the Hotel is located directly on the river, views from the rooms are amazing; we tasted the fish for dinner and it was the best after 2 werks traveling in Malaysia; I can really recommend to stay on this beautiful place

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Kathrin E
HeerenHouse, Owner at Heeren House, responded to this review

It is our honour to receive such compliments from you. Thank you for the kind words. We hope to keep up the objective to satisfy all our guests and customers. Cheers...

Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Recommended from a working friend.location is easy to find despite coming from chartered bus stop at red place which is walking distance to the cafe .First time trying peranakan food.Food is tasty and cosy place.Quite a choice of food available.

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank kahliks
Zofingen, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Heeren house is about 2 minutes walk from the red place, the central place of Malacca. The staff is very nice and helpful and they "forced" us to try their home made cakes: absolutely delicious. They made a big effort to maintain the originality of the rooms and of the restaurant. Look at Facebook for the cakes 😃

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Jacques H
HeerenHouse, Owner at Heeren House, responded to this review

We remember you well. The father and daughter travelling duo who are so friendly. Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed the hospitality and food. Hope to see you again in future.

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 km away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.0 km away
5 Heeren
5 Heeren
#59 of 167 in Melaka
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
1,153 reviews
0.1 km away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#37 of 167 in Melaka
224 reviews
0.0 km away
Heeren by the River Hotel
Heeren by the River Hotel
#32 of 206 in Melaka
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A heritage guesthouse and cafe right in the heart of historical Melaka city. Everything and anything that is interesting in the city centre (UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE) is within walking distance. Each room has window views of the Melaka River and city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heeren House

Address: 1 Jalan Tun Tan, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Price Range: $41 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Heeren House Hotel Melaka
Heeren Hotel Melaka
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heeren House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Heeren House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room with twin beds was very comfortable”
  • Great views of Melaka river
  • functional bathroom
  • comfortable tween room
  • Rustic furniture in the room
 of 5 bubbles izif_13, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best view - Room with Full River View”
 of 5 bubbles gracyyap, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room at harbor side”
 of 5 bubbles BartJarz, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that are cosy and comfortable. With Jonker and Red House just within sight together”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book a room with full river view.”
 of 5 bubbles chrothan, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5