We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Island Winds West

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Island Winds West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 207: English reviews
Start your review of Island Winds West
 Click to rate
Corinth, Mississippi
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed the stay. Only problem was no one was in office for us to turn the keys in. No drop box either. Weather was great. Please plenty of security. Alot if smoking ! Price well. Dish network TV is awful!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A3587TPsteven
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We value your honest feedback and appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Goshen, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

The customer service is always courteous and prompt when we visit Island Winds. The two bedroom condo was clean, up-tp-date, and comfortable. We liked that both bathrooms were attached to each bedroom. The location is convenient to many restaurants, and other store for anything needed within a few miles. We always visit the outlet mall near Foley. The best thing...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dannie M
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and excellent rating. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your suggestions concerning the access of recycling bins. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Cullman, Alabama
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Truly enjoyed our stay very clean condo with beautiful views no complaints here .love that is over the pool but not too high up location is great . Will definitely consider for our next vacation with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shani T
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing 5 star review! Its a pleasure to know that you would stay with us again. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next stay!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice updated unit. We've stayed in Island Winds West before and it was great then too. This is a corner unit which is nice. Unit was very clean and neat. We are keeping this reservation tagged for future reference. Being the first set of Beach condos on West Beach, puts you so close to so many restaurants and stores.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny E
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Citronelle, Alabama
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was very nice My room this year was simply amazing I have no complaints room was really really nice if I stay next year I would want to stay in room 676 it has such nice quality I really njoyed it ok

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Washington L
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while with us. We hope that you will plan another beach stay soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took my family on a mini vacation to my favorite place. We had a great time and enjoyed great weather with plenty of activities within a short driving or walking distance. We went over the Easter holiday and everything was open and the weather was perfect.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottdT8668ZD
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the great review and excellent rating. We certainly hope that you will be back to join us again soon!

Section, Alabama
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Room was pretty nice, it was clean! Buti have a few complaint mattress on the bed was HORRIBLE!!! you could feel the springs on it! Also the water did not stay hot! They need to do some fixing before I stay here again!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank levans0416
JanetBrettRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

levans0416: Thank you for reviewing your stay with us but it is disappointing to read about the issues stated. We certainly want our guest to relax and be comfortable while visiting us and our beautiful beach area. I will forward your condo remarks to the Property Manager to address with the owner. We hope to see you back on the...

Wyoming, Michigan
Reviewed 13 April 2017

When we arrived the air conditioner didn't work. Spent all day Saturday sitting in room while repairman replaced air condtioner. Tuesday cable box failed. I called office and reported it. No one ever came. Took box out of bedroom and put it in living room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H6427DNdouglasc
JanetBrettRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

H6427DNdouglasc: I am sorry to read that your vacation was interrupted by repair work. You did not have to wait as the front desk would have certainly monitored any repair work or personnel needing access to the room. I have forwarded your comments to the Property Manager to address your issues with her staff and the cable provider. We certainly...

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We brought our own bikes and used the nature trails. That was beautiful. Beaches were clean, very family oriented. It was our 5th trip to gulf shores, we'll be back again!! Well worth the drive from Michigan.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank theresekonnie
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your 5th Gulf Shores trip! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. The nature trails are great places to spend time at and we are happy to know you were able to enjoy those while here. We hope to welcome you in from Michigan again in the...

Kentucky
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We have vacationed in the orange beach/gulf shores area for the past 10 years. This unit was listed as premium and was far from that. While the unit had new basic appliances and was fairly clean, the floors were sticky throughout. The unit desperately needs new paint and a cosmetic upgrade. The bathrooms were clean but the fixtures were showing...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shanee958
JanetBrettRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

shanee958: I am disappointed to read the review of this condo. I will forward your comments to the Property Manager to discuss upgrades and repairs with the owner. We certainly want to offer comfortable and attractive accommodations. I am happy to see that you did enjoy your beach vacation and look forward to welcoming you back again.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.2 km away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,116 reviews
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.5 km away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#13 of 24 in Gulf Shores
39 reviews
7.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Island Winds West in Gulf Shores is especially great for families and sleeps up to 8 in a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom unit. It's the perfect headquarters for enjoying all the fun Gulf Shores has to offer. There's fishing from Gulf State Park Pier, or charter a boat in nearby Orange Beach and take to the Gulf for the afternoon to see what you can catch. We have putt-putt and amusement parks, and a great number of golf courses of varying difficulty right near our Gulf Shores condos. In addition to the variety of non-beach related activities we have, we also tons of water activities on top of good ol' sunbathing and swimming. Gulf Shores and Orange Beach offer jet ski rental, parasailing, kite surfing, boat rental and more. Take a ride on a Dolphin Cruise to admire those highly intelligent and amusing animals, or enjoy the views from the Mobile Bay Ferry as you journey to check out items of more historical interest, like Fort Morgan. In town you'll find a lot of adventure no matter what you are looking for at Island Winds West. When it comes to cuisine, our seafood is of course top-notch, and our Royal Red Shrimp have made international headlines for their deliciousness. Places like the Amphitheater at the Wharf and the Hangout have live music, and the Wharf has the largest Ferris Wheel in the Southeast. We even have a zoo, the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo, which you may have seen featured on Animal Planet. Parking is limited at Island Winds West. A one-bedroom condo will be issued one car pass. A two or three bedroom will be issued a maximum of two car passes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island Winds West

Address: 407 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6454
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 87
Also Known As:
Island Winds West Hotel Gulf Shores
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Island Winds West staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Island Winds West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“676 I loved it last year I stayed in room 677 and I wasn't happy with it compared to the room I had this year I spent so much money on the room last year and it was total garbage and I wasn't happy not at all”
344washingtonl, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The master shower needed just 2 maintenance corrections - new knobs in the shower (mold visable) & the faucet needs a filter as the water sprays all over. ”
W9069WSering, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Condos are always well equipped when we arrive. if you forget something, it is an easy drive to stores. There is a Dollar General within walking distance.”
rosemaryf883, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This was room 673. Generally, we like to be a little lower, but we could still definitely enjoy the gulf view. They have 2 elevators that are fast and were trouble free. Very seldom had to wait more than a minute for the elevator. Come here during spring break or the summer and that could change. Maintenance staff did a good job. All plumbing and appliances worked well. We did not try out the TV.”
williamwI7908HP, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Couch and chairs are getting a little worn, but not terrible by any means.”
320beckyn, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5