We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Floatel Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Floatel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Floatel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 338: English reviews
Ranchi
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I stayed at floatel for 1 night in May 2016 and was excited with concept of a ship anchored on water. Hotel is good with clean rooms and good food. But, the rooms are very small with little movement space, may be due to restrictions of ship size. Buffet breakfast in the restaurant has good variety of Indian and continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srivastava21
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our services and ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence....

Reviewed 7 November 2016

Very small room. Not so friendly staff and would not accommodate a room with a view although hotel was quite empty. Buffet Breakfast served was very poor in quality and variety. But it was served on the deck so that made me feel better. Overall average but not worth the money, especially in a city like Kolkata

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chaitali B
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence. Since it...

Calcutta, India
Reviewed 28 October 2016

My husband and I decided to stay here for our anniversary night. We called up the hotel, made the advance payment (accommodation) and turned up around 4 pm. We were received well. They have a parking space, so we went by bike and parked it there for the night. After the reception, you reach the actual hotel via a gangway....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our services, Hospitality, Food and ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I was staying at the Floatel and it was an amazing experience. Every warm welcome from India with a hearty breakfast and special morning. Congratulations to all staff who treated me with great helpfulness.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luciana F
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our services and ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence....

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The location is on river ganges. The check in and check out was quick. The rooms are ok and amenities are fine. The breakfast was good. Select rooms at river side so that one can enjoy the view. Overall , it was enjoyable stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CoolDinesh
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our services, Food & ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of...

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights. Faced trouble with wifi all the time. Food and drinks were good. A bit far from night life. Stuffs were a bit dump. Room was fair. I found one thing interesting you can have margarita while watching beautiful night lights & river.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shomoyboss
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for taking your time to review us at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our Food & ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale...

Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This is on ship anchored in the river Ganges. So it will give pure local flavor of stay. Have good. Staffs are in nevy dress. However late night food is big issue with this hotel. Old rail tracks are inside premises of this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony112233
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, At the onset, we would thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have you stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our Hospitality Food & ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence. Going through your feedback,...

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

I booked a voucher from little app for a dinner . When i went to the hotel the hotel was completely empty and they refused to give us food . The manager was very rude and unprofessional. He was using words to me like "yaar" ,"tu" , "pagal hai kya " etc..I couldn't get his name. They were telling me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yash A
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, At the onset, we would thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have you stay at Floatel, Kolkata. Going through your feedback, we understand that in case of your booking the prior blocking system was not maintained by you which was mentioned in your voucher &...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

The worst hotel I have lived in all my life The room was filled with cigarette odours and I could not sleep all night The restaurant which has such an average buffet was so over priced the only saving grace is the view from the roof top restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chetan_1972
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback. The conditions you observed were unacceptable and we will certainly review your observations with the team. Nonetheless, we have gone thoroughly on your comments to ensure that we adhering to the hotel’s ambiance & service, already in place here at the Floatel, Kolkata. The...

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Good sea food with very good services provided by the hotel, staff are well mannered and polite. Hotel ambience was good with variety of drinks attract people to come and stay there . Good river view make my day good and fresh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh V
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our services, Food & ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of...

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.4 km away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#43 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
227 reviews
1.0 km away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#32 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
617 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#46 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
172 reviews
1.3 km away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#40 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
170 reviews
8.6 km away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#8 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thank you for choosing Floatel, An Eco-Friendly Hotel during your stay in Kolkata. We are an environment friendly hotel and it is our endeavor to conserve the environment in every way we can. As you have chosen Floatel for your stay, you have also committed yourself to help us save the environment. Together let us ensure a greener earth to ensure a better future. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Floatel Hotel

Address: 9/10 Strand Road | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $92 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floatel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Floatel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floatel Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Floatel Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Floatel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not think about going there”
 of 5 bubbles sumonabanerjee2016, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“very nice view from room basically "howrah bridge"”
 of 5 bubbles RUP060715, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“river facing room has better views”
 of 5 bubbles arajkaran, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“River side rooms have better view”
  • View of Ganges river from bar, with reflection of the bar on glass
 of 5 bubbles subratamallik, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for river view and insist on things that you want. Staff is very rude but hang in there”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay