We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

ITC Sonar

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
ITC Sonar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for ITC Sonar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,501: English reviews
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 8 December 2015

My third stay at the property and it's always amazing. I love their buffet breakfast! Spending the weekend is easy on the property itself as it has these small private rooms on their in-house lagoons that are perfect to sit in and read books or just chat. They allow feeding their fish as well!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SSaksena
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and we deeply appreciate your comments. Designed to meet high levels of safety without compromise on luxury, ITC Sonar pays tribute to the beauty of Bengal. We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcome you back Warmest regards, Atul Bhalla General Manager ITC Sonar, Kolkata

Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

ITC Sonar - Best property to stay in Kolkata. It's simply amazing how they make their guests feel special and important. The staff is very helpful and go out of their way to ensure one has delighted experience in their hotel. I have been to other ITC properties as well but this one is special to me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh K
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, your glowing appreciation has truly inspired us. We deeply appreciate your recommendation and your kind words of praise would motivate us to reach greater heights in service excellence. Your patronage is highly valued and we look forward to welcome you back. Warmest regards, Atul Bhalla General Manager ITC Sonar,...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

1. Hotel smells badly 2. Bad food in banquet 3. Room view is poor 4. Dilapidated and often broken furniture 5. Hardly a 5 star. 6. Staff is one exception. Brilliantly courteous. 7. Internet in room is not free. A standard thing now in 2015 Disappointed and I think ITCs internal processes are failing here in its HQ city

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roaming_loafer
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have noted your obersations with great concern and request you to kindly treat this experience in isolation. Our ongoing renovation schedule also ensures the product cycle is kept contemporary and is carried out in a phased manner. We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you...

mumbai
Reviewed 5 December 2015

This is really one of the best hotel in Kolkata full of water bodies and very scenic views , specially food in Dumtakht was the best veg food I ever had Support staff and waiters @ Dumtakht were very good they have offered best food and kept on asking feedback and given right suggestions all the time . I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nitchiQuest
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and for the observations that you have made. While I have noted your compliments, I have also noted with great concern the areas you have highlighted for improvement. We have already addressed most of these issues and through our ongoing learning and training initiative. Your patronage is deeply valued...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

After having checked out of another well know hotel company, The Park and having been subjected to incredibly poor service I was not hopeful about ITC, I was so wrong. The staff are so warm and welcoming that you immediately feel at home and Rosy at the spar deserves a special mention she was brilliant, warm, welcoming and delivered one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tripwire76
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note your lovely comments are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay. ITC Sonar pays tribute to the beauty of Bengal. The resort like feel to a luxury business hotel is unique and we endeavor to offer our guests a ‘home away...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We checked into the hotel and stayed for two days , the breakfast was really good with a good selection staff and housekeeping services were really good. I feel if you really want to enjoy the facilities of the hotel should stay for about 4 days it has the fine dining restaurants if you need to enjoy the food than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gautam K
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor and we are glad to learn that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. Built on the lines of a Bagaanbari, the garden home of the nobility, ITC Sonar pays tribute to the beauty of Bengal. Cuisine plays an important role too, true to the fabled hospitality...

Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Unfortunate thing is Kolkata cannot boast of luxurious hotels compared to other cities in India and at the current moment this hotel is supposedly the best one in the city! Big disappointment! The staff is quite earnest but the people at the front desk and especially the duty manager has "couldn't care less" attitude. They don't make you feel welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Priyanjali
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have noted with great concern the areas you have highlighted for improvement. We have already addressed most of these issues and through our ongoing learning and training initiatives, have refocused on the same immediately. I look forward to have you stay at ITC Sonar again on your...

milano
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

I've spent just one night here for business. The hotel is huge and very nice with a beautiful garden. Breakfast is ok as well all the common spaces. Which didn't convinced me was the room. It was large but smelly and humid like a 5 dollars hostels. This is unacceptable in an hotel like that

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guglielmo B
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and for the observations that you have made. While I have noted your compliments, I have also noted with great concern the areas you have highlighted for improvement. We have already addressed most of these issues and through our ongoing learning and training initiative. Your patronage is deeply valued...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 27 November 2015

I hv been a ardent customer of ITC but my trip to ITC SONAR Kolkata forced me to rethink my Commitment to ITC. Service was outrageous from check in to check out n the callous attitude of the senior personnels most unprofessional n unapologetic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 466Sanchit
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We regret the inconvenience caused and request you to kindly treat this experience in isolation. We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you and let me assure that we would impress you with all our offerings. Warm regards, Atul Bhalla General Manager ITC Sonar, Kolkata

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

Outstanding.....seamlessly checked with the help of Kunju, upgraded to club room, wife was heaped with bouquets (at least 3), lovely snacks at Darjeeling club, lunch at Pavilion and dinner at Peshawari. Thank you Rishipalji for your hospitality at Peshawari. The cake mas marvellous too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anirudh70
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay at the hotel. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcome you back Warmest regards, Atul Bhalla General Manager ITC Sonar, Kolkata

640 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (623)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (150)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Other (243)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
5.1 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,768 reviews
6.6 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,563 reviews
3.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#9 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
653 reviews
10.3 km away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,239 reviews
4.9 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $153 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ITC Sonar staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from ITC Sonar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in ITC one and that was good, rest I have no idea”
 of 5 bubbles Sahai_ankur, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the lawns are quite good”
 of 5 bubbles Royjo63, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Use the Massage chair with care :-) Is pretty powerful!! Toiletries are very masculine in fragrance ! ”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing inside are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles udaiwal, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Enjoy being pampered....”
 of 5 bubbles Okarchitect, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay