We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 182: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
 Click to rate
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed today NEW

Only location is good which is close to mall road. room is average. dirty bedding and lining. blanket is full of dust , no blanket cover. stinky bathroom, public toilet will be much better than this. we booked super delux which is located in the 5th floor and no lift available. wifi works only in the hotel lobby. we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessil A
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel Sonar Bangla is located at an excellent site near the mall. The hotel has good ambience. The management is helpful. The staff are helpful. The bathroom has enough space and not a cocoon. The hot water facility is available (though I am not sure of it is available in all the rooms). I was staying in one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sumankar34
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for your valuable feedback. We will surely look into issues that you have mentioned and make sure we do not give you a chance to complain again as this is definitely not our hotel standard. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had stayed there one night. I had booked a Super Deluxe Triple Room. Room was not spacious. But required amenities was there. Room and hotel was clean. Location of the hotel is very good. Its just beside mall and way to Darjelling rail station from mall. Vehicles are not allowed in mall but due to its location vehicles can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tirtha C
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for your valuable feedback. We will surely look into issues that you have mentioned and make sure we do not give you a chance to complain again as this is definitely not our hotel standard. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel location was ok, near to mall road but the hospitality was missing. Food was pathetic, buffet breakfast had no options. They would prepare just 1 main food and you have no other option but to eat that only else you may order anything else from menu (chargeable) but that would be non eatable. They had issues even in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vishal A
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to give you feedback, we regret that all aspects of your expectations could not be met. we value your feedback as it helps us to identify the areas where we can improve our service. we hope that you'll return again soon as we look forward to welcome you again.

Asansol, India
Reviewed 18 March 2017

I booked this hotel for three day while coming from trekking from sandakphu. The location of hotel is good and i was given a room with mountain. The room is nice & clean. Staffs are good. It's to to spend three day at this hotel. The food quality is average. The overall experience was good. This hotel is recommended if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fakhre A
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for your valuable feedback. We will surely look into issues that you have mentioned and make sure we do not give you a chance to complain again as this is definitely not our hotel standard. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Siliguri, India
Reviewed 8 March 2017

lovely place to stay while in Darjeeling, very good service and care by staff, location is the best and best for family trip. places of interest are very close and evening walk in the area is the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrpandeya
tinapU1360JA, Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your honeymoon a memorable one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to serve you again.

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 26 February 2017

last week we went to visit darjeeling with friends.we booked this hotel online with a huge discount,at first we thought that it will not be so good,but we were so surprised to reach here,outlook and rooms are just mindblowing,stuff and food are awesome,we just love it.location is very nice here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debapriya p
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent hospitality by the staffs and mind blowing behavior, good food, good location and mostly recommended if you have kids....Me and my wife both we are hotelier and we are recommending this hotel to everyone if you are visiting Darjeeling with kids... Cheers to team Sonar Bangla Hotel Darjeeling...👍👏

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Palash M
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

It was my honeymoon in Darjeeling... We stayed in sonal Bangla.it is a wonderful hotel,1st of all the room was nice and cosy,wonderful service, reasonable price.food was awesome especially the breakfast.it is very close to mall. Overall I'll stay there again and again.Thank you sonar Bangla for making my honeymoon wonderful and complete...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taniyanaha1991
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your honeymoon a memorable one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to serve you again.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

This is among of the modern hotels in darjeeling. The rooms are quite big and attractive. Thr staffs are very nice. The new year time is very precious. The Mall road is very near. Restuarant is also good.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
634 reviews
0.0 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.7 km away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#56 of 95 in Darjeeling
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#15 of 95 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel The Rink Heritage
Hotel The Rink Heritage
#51 of 95 in Darjeeling
17 reviews
0.5 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 95 in Darjeeling
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Address: 1/1, Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Price Range: $52 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if someone wants to have a view from the windows, they should ask for 3rd floor above ground”
sumankar34, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“On each floor only 2 rooms at the end of the passage has mountain view”
212tirthac, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms withview of hills and on upper floor”
mrpandeya, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Super Deluxe Rooms on top floor”
CeruleanInn, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Awesome view of Kanchenjunga range from super Deluxe room and sun light is superb n these rooms..”
  • Super Deluxe room
  • Deluxe room
  • Super Deluxe room
  • early morning view from Super Deluxe room
  • early morning view from Super Deluxe room
  • Deluxe room
Nehs, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5