We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa

TripAdvisorUSD 101*
View Deal
14/06/2017 15/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
USD 101*
View Deal
in partnership withSummit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 251: English reviews
Start your review of Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is very good .The food quality was excellent.Both breakfast and dinner was very delicious.You can the view of the entire city from this hotel.The rooms are very clen each provided with a heater.Overall the stay was great !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shriniwas_salunkhe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff ever ready to look after your needs. Beautiful view of the mountains. Rooms neat and comfortable. Very good location. Had some plumbing and water problems which were attended to promptly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lakshmibai M
NidhiNahata, Public Relations Manager at Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you so much for taking out your precious time to post a review on TripAdvisor about our hotel. It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Summit to our guests. Thank you so much for appreciating our people,...

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Darjeeling at the end of April and after a lot of painful deliberation, we chose this property primarily because most of our other preferred properties (The Central, Summit Yashasree etc) were sold out. To be honest, we were somewhat disappointed with everything about this property. There wasn't one single aspect other than the restaurant staff, who were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KamaleshGhosh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went in a small group for 2 days in early May 2017. The property is located 15 minutes in walking distance from the Darjeeling Mall. on J N Gandhi Road. There are cottages and rooms all made of wood from top to bottom. This is 102 year old property which has been maintained with care. Swiss Summit has a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anirudha M
NidhiNahata, Public Relations Manager at Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your valuable feedback on this forum. It feels delighted to know that we could win your heart in terms of spacious and luxurious rooms, courteous and helpful staffs, and the location of the hotel and that you would come back again...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Looked like the staff was not prepared. It took nearly 3 hrs after we arrived to get the heater and tv working. The staff is very courteous but not fully trained. No parking space available. The POS machine also did not work. Overall there is big room for improvement

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikrant T
NidhiNahata, Public Relations Manager at Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your valuable feedback on this forum. It is indeed disheartening to note that we could not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us, and we sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience caused to you. We sincerely request you to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As name suggest this is old heritage building converted into hotel. Many of the amenities were not working and are in bad condition in the room. Electric geyser, wifi and bed heater were not working. Also, they were doing some plumbing work when I was there so we face water issue. Didn't get water for bath on time which delayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sagar K
NidhiNahata, Public Relations Manager at Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel is indeed the oldest hotel in Darjeeling and when Summit took over the property the hotel was in a run down condition and the charm of Darjeeling Yesteryear had lost its glory. It was then, Summit saved the property by renovating its interiors and exteriors...

Pune, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A got on to my solo trip and first landed at Summit Swiss in Darjeeling... My experience was good and satisfying. Though the pictures give you an illusion that it is situated in the lap of some mountain..But it is not...Its quite a good place though on Gandhi road...close to the main market area. The good thing about Summit Swiss...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shraddha_more
NidhiNahata, Public Relations Manager at Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you so much for taking out your precious time to post a review on TripAdvisor about our hotel. It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Summit to our guests. Thank you so much for appreciating our people,...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While the pictures give the impression of a swiss chalet high up the mountains, it was quite disappointing. The electricity kept going on and off every five minutes in the morning and every one hour in the night. In the night therefore, it would plunge you in darkness and in the day time, it meant you cant charge your phones,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth A
NidhiNahata, Public Relations Manager at Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for taking the time to bring your constructive observations to our attention. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to power cuts. The experience that you have highlighted has been addressed with the Management team for immediate corrective action and we ensure the required improvements are implemented and your future stays with...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came with my family from bangalore and this was my first visit to Darjeeilng and I got a traditional welcome by the staff of Front desk they presented us( khada) as a symbol of respect and with the hotel we love every thing. Service was best in the town with two ladies to hit the restaurant on super fast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rohan K
NidhiNahata, Public Relations Manager at Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for your review 'Friendly staff mainly Mr Wang' on this forum. I shared your review with Wangdup and he was trilled to hear from you and thanked you for the acknowledgement. Well, I must say that it was so kind of you to personally address the hard work and extra effort the team has put...

Mumbai
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I mean why would a management not take care of this beautiful premise? The facade looks brilliant with wood, stone and white paint. Great exterior look. But once you start staying it starts sucking. Nowadays Darjeeling does not have load shedding or power trips. But this hotel was perennially out of power. So the intercom will not work. Every day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prof_shonku
NidhiNahata, Public Relations Manager at Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor. After reading your review we were quite disappointed as we missed the opportunity to delight you. If you had shared your feedback during the stay only, then we would have definitely put an effort to come up with the best solution for you and in making...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (282)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
14/06/2017 15/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.9 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 97 in Darjeeling
335 reviews
0.3 km away
Summit Yashshree Suites and Spa
0.9 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.4 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 97 in Darjeeling
302 reviews
0.7 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel is one of the prides of Darjeeling yester years. The hotel boasts of its rich history and modern amenities. It has a unique old style British colonial architecture dating back to 1914. The rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and many of these offer spectacular view of the mountains around Darjeeling. The garden and the lawns are an asset. Looking north from the Swiss, the snow- capped ranges of Mt. Kanchenjunga is the main attraction. Located on Gandhi Road, walking distance from Chowrasta, Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel is an oasis of calm on the bustling promenade. Swiss is known for its architecture dating from the colonial era. The hotel is within walking distance of Darjeeling attractions. Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel embodies the elegance and charm of ancient Darjeeling, with modern conveniences of today. The hotel maintains the highest levels of service and has all the amenities, facilities and levels of comfort you would expect. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa

Address: 15/A Gandhi Road | Near Circuit House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Price Range: $91 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#7 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the cottages. Try and ask for the Kanchenjunga or the Pandim Cottage.”
KamaleshGhosh, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Take cottage if you are travelling with family or a group.”
, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Cottage are good in size and have good space also available in and outside of your room.”
95maddy, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Horrible cold room with electricity problem but excellent food. Old smelly generator.”
enlightg2017, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The cottages have a very good view of the mountain range. My advise to all interested travelers to book cottages in this hotel.”
cancerukb, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 101* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates