We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 100 hotels in Darjeeling

The Elgin, Darjeeling

558 reviews
Save
Traveller (485)
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (43)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good36%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“cherry brandy”(17 reviews)
“mr badal”(6 reviews)
“old world charm”(36 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (558)Write a Review
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
241
199
47
26
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
241
199
47
26
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscherry brandymr badalold world charmheritage propertypiano playertea loungepublic roomsopen firesmall roadcharming hotellounge areahigh teabreakfast and dinnerhot water bottlesthe ground floorbritish eraevery evening
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent Christmas 2017 at the Elgin. The wrought iron gates, and then the bright christmas decorations held out the promise of an elegant, welcoming and charming hotel. They were not wrong. From the cherry brandy, to the tastefully appointed rooms and the welcoming lounge...More

Thank JRSTraveller
Response from ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, DarjeelingResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sir / Ma’am! Greetings from The Elgin, Darjeeling ! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your Himalayan holiday in Darjeeling with us and we are truly grateful for your compliments. We look forward to be given the oppurtunity to serve you again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel does not have a view. It is well kept hotel .I had booked the room to enjoy the private fireplace in the room. i was told that it is not working . on expressing my displeasure i was upgraded to a suite room.More

1  Thank Shaileshw
Response from ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, DarjeelingResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir ! We thank you for your review ! We apologise at the same time that we were unable to make a room with a good view of the mountains available for you and the family at the time as the The Elgin was...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Could not any more get a room at Elgin, but booked the Christmas eve dinner there. Absolutely great food, great hospitality and beautiful decorations. The owner was personally there to welcome all the guests and had time to chat with all of us. We met...More

Thank Silva332
Response from ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, DarjeelingResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Silva ! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your Christmas Eve dinner in Darjeeling with us. We apologise at the same time that we were unable to make a room available for you and the family at the time of Booking as...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a group of 5 and booked in for two nights very soon after the strike. We could not fault the excellent service that we received. The dining room food and service was first class. Our rooms were clean and well appointed with plenty...More

Thank Matisse08
Response from ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, DarjeelingResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir / Madame ! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your Himalayan holiday in Darjeeling with us and we are truly grateful for your understanding of the difficult situation that the operations team in the Hotel were going through during the political...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

By far our favorite hotel in India. You feel as though you have stepped into the past, walking into this elegant hotel. The lounge area was a great place to enjoy a pre-dinner drink & chat with fellow guests. The staff attended to every need...More

Thank valatari
Response from ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, DarjeelingResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valatari! Greetings from The Elgin, Darjeeling ! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your Himalayan holiday in Darjeeling with us and we are truly grateful for your compliments to the various areas and facilities of the hotel with your great attention to...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456107
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Airport Transportation
Concierge
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
USD 175 - USD 263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
USD 175 - USD 263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (485)
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (43)
Pool & Beach (10)
Hotel & Grounds (345)
Family and Play Areas (30)
Bathroom (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Aniruddha D
4 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from pattynrich | Reviewed this property |
As far as I know it should be fine. The strike was over last week. It reopened last Friday. It's a beautiful place to stay. You will be welcomed for sure.
1
Vote
Rubai B
28 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ElginGuestRelations | Property representative |
Dear Madame ! All the Elgin properties in Darjeeling & Sikkim are pet friendly and you can bring and keep your pet with you inside the hotel as long as you can take care of your pet and your pets food .
0
Votes
Sula R
3 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ElginGuestRelations | Property representative |
Dear Sir or Madame ! We thank you for your query ! The Elgin , Darjeeling has a garunteed 24 by 7 uninterrupted water supply, this is made available through the flooring resources 1) A direct water connection through the... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Some of the rooms do not have windows - only skylights. Although the room I saw had a lovely fireplace which..."
Read review
"go for a higher floor room."
Read review
"A room that overlooks the garden or mountains would be preferable."
Read review
"There are several walk up floors, views of the city."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite