We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clarion Chennai

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarion Chennai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 603: English reviews
Start your review of Clarion Chennai
 Click to rate
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Pros- Tasty Food and great location. All our guests loved the menu and the food. This is the only reason I had given 3 rating. Cons: Inadequate Staff - there was no one to serve the welcome drinks, the guests didnt even get to know that there was welcome drinks available. There were hardly 2 to 3 staffs and they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Surya M
Bangalore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

No mini bar in rooms. Alcohol not available with room service. Should be ordered form the bar and is exorbitantly priced. Bed linen wasn't perfectly clean and was definitely not changed after the earlier guest left. Although the room was made. Parking is abundant and safe. Swimming pool is small and filthy. One major problem was the rooms don't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TanaySai
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Clarion Hotel President, Chennai! We on behalf of the management thanking you, for taking your valuable time out and posting review about your recent experience during your stay with us at Clarion Hotel President. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet up with your expectations during your stay with us, we have taken...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing special about the hotel. Was ok for a one night stay to catch up on sleep. Close to Marina beach (1.5 km). Service quality was not good. I asked for some breakfast to be packed for my 1-year-old and the staff looked at me as if I had asked for a month's ration. I was told that they had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Arch_here
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Clarion Hotel President, Chennai! We on behalf of the management thanking you, for taking your valuable time out and posting review about your recent experience during your stay with us at Clarion Hotel President. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet up with your expectations during your stay with us, we have taken...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel staff are smart and trying to extract more money from customer. Here we are 3 people (2 adult + 1 child) stayed in a room. While check-in, they don't have any objection but while checking out they objected and charged me (for additional room charges) though physically they did not provide 2 rooms. I have explained enough because they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John Peter D
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Clarion Hotel President, Chennai! We on behalf of the management thanking you, for taking your valuable time out and posting review about your recent experience during your stay with us at Clarion Hotel President. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet up with your expectations during your stay with us, we have taken...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

NO Cleanness , BAD service , PLEASE check the food before testing , OUT dated food , FUNGUS BUTTER , Plates are not washed , Waite BED s are became brown , I have stayed for 3 days unfortunately my booking was done . last day brake fast i had with FUNGUS Butter with Bread .... one hour after the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A J s
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Clarion Hotel President, Chennai! We on behalf of the management thanking you, for taking your valuable time out and posting review about your recent experience during your stay with us at Clarion Hotel President. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet up with your expectations during your stay with us, we have taken...

India
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

One of our general managers is getting transferred to different region. We had a get together like lunch at hotel clarion at twenty fifth hour. Various items were on the buffet menu and yes we had a sumptuous meal for a decent price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vidyasagar_g
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Clarion Hotel President, Chennai! Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay and will most definitely share your positive feedback with my teams. Please feel free to contact me at any time for any...

Reviewed 15 March 2017

I have stayed at the Clarion formerly the President hotel a few times now. Most of the autorickshaw and cab drivers know the place by the name President hotel. The one thing i liked the most about this place is the complimentary breakfast. Not only there are multiple choices in south indian , north indian and continental categories , they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tiju Z
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Clarion Hotel President, Chennai! Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay and will most definitely share your positive feedback with my teams. Please feel free to contact me at any time for any...

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 9 March 2017

the hotel after modification really very nice. After changing the management to clarion from president , all the facilities including banquets were well maintained. I went thrice for the banquets, food was good and hotel lobby was also renovated and new management is very well maintaining

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krish862
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Clarion Hotel President, Chennai! Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay and will most definitely share your positive feedback with my teams. Please feel free to contact me at any time for any...

Reviewed 7 March 2017

I have been going to this place for 3 years. Over the 3 last years, service has deteriorated. Unfortunately, the bulding is not maintained as well as it should be. Management struggles to keep the service one may expect from such a place. The khotel is understaffed and the employees run and try their best to compensate the poor management....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xavier C
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Clarion Hotel President, Chennai! We on behalf of the management thanking you, for taking your valuable time out and posting review about your recent experience during your stay with us at Clarion Hotel President. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet up with your expectations during your stay with us, we have taken...

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Good hotel near city centre mall,room was given in tenth floor with good view of city,towel Nd pillow cover very old,housekeeping should be improved,Nd breakfast is very bad you can't expect anything only 3 South Indian dish no variety of dosa Nd egg to order.if u ask they charge for that.tariff is high standard is low.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Basheer A
ClarionChennai, HOTEL MANAGER at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Clarion Hotel President, Chennai! We on behalf of the management thanking you, for taking your valuable time out and posting review about your recent experience during your stay with us at Clarion Hotel President. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet up with your expectations during your stay with us, we have taken...

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
1.1 km away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#40 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
956 reviews
3.8 km away
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#51 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
169 reviews
0.9 km away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#54 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Residency
The Residency
#32 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
532 reviews
2.3 km away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#18 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
294 reviews
24.0 km away
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
#6 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clarion hotel is recently refurbished and upgraded is an ideal boutique hotel, be it for business or for fun. You can check-in to experience the world of hospitality comfort and the ambiance of the modern Indian cultural heritage.Retreat from the action of business and relax in our completely renovated guest rooms, Club rooms & suites with sweeping views of the beach, Dive into the comfort of our pillow-top beds and rest up for a big day ahead or enjoy the night in with a film from the channels available. All the rooms have been aesthetically designed and furnished with ultra-modern facilities like mini bar, 52" LED TV's, electronic safe, and tea/coffee making facility. The en-suite bathrooms come equipped with 24 hour hot/cold water, bathrobes, and luxury bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Chennai

Address: #25 Dr Radha Krishnan Salai | Near U.S Consulate & City Centre, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India (Formerly The President Hotel and Towers)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $78 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#23 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#38 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Chennai staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Chennai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the room and bathrom before setlling in.”
, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“6th floor ...”
brunofZ2809FK, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“a place you want to avoid”
alejandroz163, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Please call hotel first before check in so that you can get room on time.”
agcoindia, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent rooms”
DilipS239, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5