We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 272: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

the hotel is badly maintained. I have seen many old hotel but this was far the worst hotel. The rooms the paints are chipped and there is bad smell in the room, AC not working, taps and faucets come out, there is too much noise from the AC. There were other customers also complaining about the same, I don't blame...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
Thrissur
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good from outside, a waste of money inside, with poor in room facilities and service. Even the reception desk is unaware of the details of the inmates or rather they prefer to and is not bothered to verify

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rajag791
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel and rooms are very tired and in need of updating. The bathrooms also need updating. The location was good. The website isn't representative of what the hotel is actually like. The revolving restaurant was closed which was a big shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JACKI2611
EAMNimish, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jack, Greetings of the day !!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We agree that the usual high standards of our Products/ services were not met in the instance and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are...

Pune, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

My mother and I have been regular guests at the Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai, since 2013. We have also frequently reserved rooms here for our guests from outside the country. This November, we had a most disappointing stay. Having stayed so frequently, the hotel staff is well aware we prefer a quiet room. On reservation, we always request for room number...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VinaySujan
EAMNimish, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Vinay, Greetings of the day!!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We agree that the usual high standards of our Products/ services were not met in the instance and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there with my wife last week for 5 nights. Had requested for a room as per our requirements, though we had to wait for a couple of hours since we arrived early, we were given a room absolutely as per our requirements. The staff was very polite and obliging, the breakfast good with a mixed Indian & Western spread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nageshs
EAMNimish, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Nagesh, Greetings of the day!!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We are glad to note your positive comments on our hotel facilities and the culinary experience you had at the Hotel. Your kind words in appreciation of the personalized service...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we first walked into the reception we could smell the damp. The 1st room we were shown had a wet bed from dampness. the Mattress was soaking wet. SO we refused to stay in the room. we then got upgraded for free to an executive room which had the same issue of the dampness and wet mattress. We walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrhappy85
EAMNimish, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Happy, Greetings of the day!!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We agree that the usual high standards of our Products/ services were not met in the instance and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the most horrifying experience at the hotel. Hotel Management does not know how to behave with guests. I had the hotel booked for three nights, however, I checked out after two nights due to behaviour of staff. I had a visitor, with whom the hotel behaved in a very rude manner and denied her entry stating that guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ranjeev d
EAMNimish, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ranjeev, Greetings of the day!!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences faced by you with regards to not allowing your 03 lady guest at 23:00hrs in the room. Mr Ranjeev, for security reasons hotels...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i cant describe what is good its an outdated property rooms are ok nothing great lobby is small but can do the job the interior is early 80 when the ambassador was known probably for the revolving restaurant which i think does not revolve anymore location is superb and staff is good so for me try this property for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irfanind
EAMNimish, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Irfanind, Greetings of the day!!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We agree that the usual high standards of our Products/ services were not met in the instance and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great location of the hotel..easy access to town and its history... staff was very friendly and helpful...room needs lot of work..has an old world charm to it, but has damp smell....rooms are not sound proof..can hear toilet flush and shower from the next and room above :) ..had 2 very noisy families staying next door with kids who kept screaming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajeyb2016
EAMNimish, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ajey, Greetings of the day!!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We agree that the usual high standards of our Products/ services were not met in the instance and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not...

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was here only for a night and was out of the hotel most of the time. old world charm remains of the hotel. though a bit of refurbishment would help. Good food and great location. My work place was 3 minutes walk away so it suited me fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PPPN
EAMNimish, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PPPN, Greetings of the day!!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We are glad to note your positive comments on our hotel facilities, Location and the culinary experience you had at the Hotel. Your kind words in appreciation are most gratifying and...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#67 of 429 in Mumbai (Bombay)
445 reviews
Astoria Hotel
#110 of 429 in Mumbai (Bombay)
193 reviews
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#38 of 429 in Mumbai (Bombay)
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Marine Drive
#36 of 429 in Mumbai (Bombay)
582 reviews
West End Hotel
#99 of 429 in Mumbai (Bombay)
205 reviews
Gateway of India
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#111 of 429 in Mumbai (Bombay)
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 2-minute walk from Churchgate Railway Station and 1.5 km from Nariman Point, The Ambassador Mumbai offers rooms with shower facilities and bathtub. You can choose from Deluxe, Executive or Suite Rooms at Ambassador Mumbai, comes with air conditioning, cable TV and a writing desk. A tea/coffee maker, minibar facilities are provided. 24 hours Room service is available. Ambassador Mumbai’s Flavors coffee shop is open 24 hours and serves buffet breakfast. The Society offers fine dining of local and continental delights. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre and a tour desk. Currency exchange services are also available. The hotel also provides free parking. Located on Veer Nariman Road, The Ambassador is 26 km away from Chathrapati Sivaji International Airport. Churchgate is a great choice for travelers interested in architecture, history and sightseeing. We speak your language! Ambassador Group Of Hotels - The Boutique Art Hotels in India Mumbai - Chennai - Aurangabad ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Veer Nariman Road | Churchgate, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $126 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to be updated”
 of 5 bubbles JACKI2611, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Please ask for a quiet room which has been refurbished recently. The front rooms have no double glazing, be ready for traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Nageshs, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“road facing rooms are better”
 of 5 bubbles irfanind, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“best views, revolving restaurent”
  • Room at Ambassador
 of 5 bubbles resfeberindia, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for updates rooms away from noisy area facing street. Every night there seems to be a lot of banging on the streets close to the hotel like garbage bins being emptied. Most rooms smell like cigarette smoke even non smoking rooms and musty smell even on pillows and blankets.”
 of 5 bubbles 537anitap, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay