We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maya

Agoda.comUSD 195*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 240*
USD 195*
Great Deal
USD 238*
USD 238*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Maya
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Start your review of Maya
 Click to rate
Arco, Italy
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Villa Maya is a surpise from the very first moment, every single detail in the suites, in living areas, and in the outside spaces is just perfect. Silva and his staff are always there to give you advice and ready to help. Unforgettable the last dinner at the amazing yoga shala that looks out on to rice paddy fields thanks,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edoardo L
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Don't know where to begin. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff was incredible, the the food was delicious. The stay was great and very relaxing, can't say enough good things. Can't wait to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

I have just left Maya at which I stayed with my boyfriend for a week and we were blown away. We had been looking for a place to completely unwind and re-energise and Maya gave us just that. The location is superb-their gardens look out onto a lush rice paddy. It was serenely peaceful and felt a world away from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Silva, Nuwan & team have thought of every last detail to create the perfect, relaxing holiday experience at Maya. Rooms, pool, yoga pavilion and rice paddy views are all superb and Wasana's cooking is a real highlight. There are plenty of local excursions - the team organised a fantastic picnic breakfast trip to Uda Walawe - and 6 nights at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Where to start on how much I love Maya?! I booked out the whole villa twice this year (in May and September) and brought a group of people over from Australia for a yoga and meditation retreat. My guests had nothing but glowing reviews to give about Maya and I couldn't agree more with those thoughts. Dealing with the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachSydney2010
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The pictures don't do this place justice!! It's a beautiful peaceful paradise with fantastic food, a great team that look after every need you might have, an amazing yoga shala that looks out on to rice paddy fields, just 5 double rooms tastefully decorated to a high standard, access to yoga teachers, tai chi and massage. This is the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siva R
Colombo
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This is a gorgeous peaceful property with fantastic staff. The food is divine! We loved such a peaceful property. The management and staff are very nice. Stay here if you love peace, luxury and serenity among lovely people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dat-gal-88
Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place. We had it for our own. 5 rooms and us 5 were alone! A treat! I understand the low attendance since it is remote, 10 min away from the nearest village, so, far from alternative restaurants. We stayed for 3 nights. Prices were like in Europe. A rip off. We have been one week in Sri Lanka and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcos R
Nicola F, Owner at Maya, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although I am sad that you felt unhappy at Maya despite us offering your family a complimentary room for your entire stay. We always offer a 3 course menu for lunch and dinner in our meal rate with generous portions and a creative menu prepared daily by our chef to ensure the freshest ingredients. The...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 30 May 2016

It's very nice, beautiful landscaping and decent facilities. Food was good enough that we recommended it by people at Aman group (better than Aman?). Service is genuine. Expectations for this place were not too high so there were few disappointments - if I could change one thing it would be to lower the decibels at the local mosque.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IIJAYESS
Nicola F, Owner at Maya, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed the beautiful landscaping, food and service. The mosque you were referring to is actually the local village Buddhist Temple. As it is not a mosque there are no calls to prayer, but every Sunday morning there is some music for the Sunday School...

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We stopped at Maya for lunch.. its a beautiful old villa converted to a boutique hotel. Gorgeous property facing the paddy fields.Dinesh welcomed us very warmly and the staff were very friendly and nice. The food was amazing too ! It's definitely a piece of heaven.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilini B

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalle
7.3 km away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
7.2 km away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 21 in Tangalle
323 reviews
7.2 km away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#11 of 21 in Tangalle
88 reviews
39.2 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
366 reviews
14.3 km away
UTMT Underneath the Mango Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Maya is a fully staffed luxury boutique villa in a 2 acre garden, with a 20 meter pool, surrounded by lush paddy fields yet only 15 minutes from the beaches near Tangalle. The 5 suites can be booked individually or guests can book the whole villa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maya

Address: Temple Road | Aranwella, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Price Range: $273 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maya staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Guadalajara, Mexico
8 months ago
Guadalajara, Mexico
11 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Maya staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the suites in the old house...”
Edward66, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All beautiful rooms. Prefer the new wing but all have access to a pool right outside your door.”
875sivar, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Villas are amazing!”
699dominiquel, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the new wing seem more private, we stayed in both Ehala and Kohomba - stunning!”
  • Garden view in Kohomba room
  • Ehela room
S1744CHjessicam, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Difficult as all five are fab in their own ways”
bettystaffs, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 195* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 238
Orbitz.comUSD 238
Booking.comUSD 240
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates