We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Moonstone Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Moonstone Villas
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moonstone Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 183: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2015

I cannot think of a single thing to fault this place. The pool was crystal clear and clean (a wonderful relief after a few other places had dodgy pools), the grounds and gardens are pretty and quiet, and the restaurant on site is really excellent. The coffee is served French-press style, another highlight after a few weeks of subpar coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GlobalAsparagus
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Thank you Global Asparagus for your comments on the best way to enjoy a stay in Tangalle - from a lovely quiet base like Moonstone Villas from which you can easily access all there is to see and do. This time of year is not the best for swimming as the sea is often rough - but still lost of...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2015

My wife and I stayed at Moonstone Villas on 4th and 5th August, after finishing a tour and needing a couple of days to relay and refresh. What a beautiful place we found. Great accommodation, nice gardens along with the lovely Golden Lab and a couple of cute kittens. The staff were very accommodating, as well as the owner Raylene...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan B
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Alan, thank you for your review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us as much as we enjoyed having you. We like to help our guests arrange to see the interesting things here around Tangalle - we believe vacation is more than just a stay. It will be hard to top the turtle laying eggs...

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 August 2015

We loved our 3 days stay at Moonstone! Lovely, spacious villa's, well designed in every respect: not just pretty, but with eye for detail. You notice the lovely Canadian owner has traveled herself by the attention for things like good lighting, extra sockets for all your electronics and lots of towels and racks to dry them. Great garden, good pool,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marijke
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Hello Anne-Marijka - thank you so much for your thoughtful review of Moonstone Villas. We have tried to include all the small things that travellers need in our rooms and appreciate that you have noticed.

Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

When arriving at Moonstone you instantly relax. Gone are the oppressive heat and the noise of the streets. The Moonstone grounds aren't particularly large, but they are very intimately set up, with a nice pool in the middle, surrounded by trees, flowers and just nine rooms divided over a few little two story buildings. Rooms are very big, nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jurrien P
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Hello Jurrien P - thank you for staying with us last week - we all enjoyed having your family and really appreciate your comments. I will share your comments with staff - it is so supportive for them to know their efforts are appreciated. When you come again we hope you will also enjoy our new restaurant style - Moonstone...

Sheffield UK
Reviewed 22 July 2015

This hotel is small but each room is spacious, ours was on the first floor and had a huge balcony with comfy seats and a day bed. Inside were two more comfy seats, two double beds with mosquito nets and a reasonably sized bathroom. To our surprise complementary water bottles were only supplied on day1, I have never stayed anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bramwells
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Bramwell, Thank you for your review and helpful suggestions. You are correct that with solar hot water, cloudy days are not welcome, but we do have electrical back up for our hot water so it should not be a problem. You were in rm 2 and your water panel was on another building - so water...

Reviewed 19 July 2015

I have stayed at Moonstone every year for the past few years. I return time after time because great service is guaranteed- from the warm, welcoming, courteous stewards to the management who will go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable, as well as help with any tours beyond, and local knowledge. The rooms are well equipped- A/C, Wifi,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Warren F
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

We have a poster in our reception that says,"May all who enter as guests, leave as friends". Our primary goal is to have our guests return year after year because they enjoy their time with us. Warren, thank you for being one of our "extended family", and returning every year.

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Caveat Emptor! Truly I made a mistake. A very quaint restaurant with rooms to back it up - Moonstone Villas does boast a sort of rainforest charm, in the way it is laid out. They are aptly labelled as a guest house/travellers inn. We are staying here presently, as I write this review, having chosen the place based on TripAdvisor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MJDubai2014
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

While we always appreciate hearing from our guests, I am disappointed to see that we are being criticized by people who clearly never read our website information before booking with us, nor did they actually read other Trip Advisor reviews. We do not provide 5 star amenities because we are a 3 star hotel which was fully understood by your...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 May 2015

We were lucky enough to choose Moonstone for our stay in Tangalle. It was a beautiful spot. The rooms had spacious beds and lovely baths that were kept immaculately clean. The pool was very well maintained, as were the rest of the grounds. The restaurant was amazing, offering both delicious western and local cuisine. Raelene and Anil were wonderful hosts,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Margaret, thank you so much for your kind comments which I will pass on to our staff. It is so encouraging for them to read reviews like yours, as they take special care in making your room and our grounds the best they can for our guests.

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Raylene, the owner at Moonstone and her staff are very helpful and committed to ensuring your visit is magical. The food was delicious, rooms beautiful and the pool welcoming and always clean and inviting. Don't look anywhere else to stay in Tangalle. You have just found it!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim055_11
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Hello Kim and thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your time here with us. Great that you have highlighted our two adjoining rooms which are very popular for families and groups of friends. I hope that you and your friends will visit us here again soon.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Photos don't do it justice. There's a sense of relaxation and charm that you enjoy from the minute you walk up the steps. As you continue past the restaurant area, the buildings look clean and bright and the pool so inviting. Moonstone exceeded our expectations. Not only is the facility great but the staff are wonderful, topped off by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eloise L
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Thank you Eloise, for your comments which tell us you appreciated our staff efforts to make your stay an excellent one. It is great to know that we are achieving our goal and giving our guests the quality we promise.

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.5 km away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 14 in Tangalle
296 reviews
1.3 km away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.7 km away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tangalle
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#3 of 14 in Tangalle
598 reviews
3.4 km away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#2 of 90 in Tangalle
129 reviews
1.6 km away
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax your mind, body, and soul, this beautiful property under Canadian ownership is overlooking the Indian Ocean and offers all home comforts. This Boutique Villa concept offers spacious accommodation set in landscaped gardens with swimming pool. The restaurant offers a selection of European, fresh seafood, and Sri Lankan cuisine. The ocean offers beautiful beach walks, safe swimming and snorkeling is available. For the nature lover, the following safaris are available: elephant, turtle, birds and wildlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moonstone Villas

Address: 336 Matara Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Price Range: $109 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moonstone Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moonstone Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view ,upstairs with ac”
 of 5 bubbles 815lyndak, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I liked the balcony room for the view but ground floor was also quiet and had self contained patios.”
 of 5 bubbles hskagen, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“get the ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles carolynf869, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“choose rooms with private balcony - the rooms downstairs have private terrace, but people living upstairs walk by to get to their rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles NyaJensen, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are more private but all are great.”
 of 5 bubbles 527jenniferf, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay